We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable access to town but built over a railway line”
Review of La Culla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Culla
Reviewed August 6, 2009

The sorrento.cc website stated that the convent "is in a quiet place and far from the traffic". However, the windows from our room opened directly over a railway line, and parallel to that a very busy road. The trains thundered past until around 11.30pm, and traffic continued strongly throughout the night. Given the lack of air conditioning, the windows do need to be left open during the night when it's as hot as it is in july/august. So make sure if you're staying you get a room around the back - although then you lose the astonishing views out over the bay. Note though that unlike the delightful Oasi Madre Della Pace up on the hill, there are no mosquito guards, so only open your windows after lights out, to limit the number of bites!

Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment - the bread seemed to be stale, and on the days we were staying, there was no fruit or yoghurts like at Madre della Pace. There was bread with jam and butter, and cake. And my mother so disliked both the coffee and the tea (I don't drink them) that she stopped having them (which is a big thing for her!).

Be warned that if you don't speak Italian then some things can be a struggle. There was a very polite and helpful gentleman who spoke good english, but he's not always present. It meant that for instance dinner was a total confusion for us. We had no idea what was going on - different tables were given different dinners, although we were never asked what we wanted, and it all pretty much came at once. Much to our amusement, after being served a very tasty rice based dish, we (english) were given meat with mashed potato, whilst the french table nearby got meat with french fries. And the italian table behind us got ham and cheese with salad (no amount of smiling or "scuze"s secured us any salad from the helpers). But with it all coming at once or at random, my mother ended up having her cold rice dish with hot mashed potato, followed by a piece of meat with one slice of cheese (a lone slice given by one nun before that tray of cheese and ham was whisked away by a different nun to the italian table!). I'm sure the dinner would have seemed less confusing and frenetic if you spoke the language, but all was served, eaten and cleared within about 45mins! I personally would recommend heading in to town and getting a more relaxing dinner of your choice for less than the eur18 they charge at la culla.

The room we were in was enormous - we booked an ensuite twin room, and got a twin room, a double room, and a bathroom plus utility room. We had three sinks in all! Although it was very spacious with fantastic views, it was not particularly clean (but the noise was our main concern as above). The bedding was fine, but the floors didn't feel clean when in bare feet. The shower hook had broken so you had to hold the shower head up to have a shower, and there were quite a few ants around.

We also had a confusing time at the end when paying, as the convent seemed to think we should only be charged eur202 for the three nights, whereas the agent had said the total was eur282 as it was eur94 a night for our room. The nuns (translated by the gentleman) first said that if we had paid eur80 already then it would be eur122, but then another nun said nothing had been received from the agent and we had to pay eur202. Then after talking to the agent on the phone they said actually the total is eur282, the agent has eur80, so we must pay eur202 to cover the rest. So it seemed to us that the eur80 difference was an agency fee - we may have misunderstood, but it seemed to us that the agent was absolutely fleecing us.

All in all, we weren't best pleased. We didn't make any form of complaint about anything, as it didn't seem right to do so in a convent, despite being paying guests! But as long as you don't mind a long walk/bus ride in and out of town, I would thoroughly recommend Oasi Madre della Pace up the hill over La Culla.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellieandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 33 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2008

I would certainly agree with the previous reviewers of La Culla. The only negative that I would have would be the breakfast...........so bring your own coffee made in your travel coffee maker and a wonderful fresh Italian pastry on the balcony, heavenly!

The rooms are ordinary but very large. You come here for the view and the relaxing atmosphere of a convent. The website picture does not do the place justice. It is a very charming house with lovely common rooms, The nun in charge didn't crack a smile while we were there but the old nuns from the balcony always had a smile and a wave as we came in.

And can you beat Sorrento? Loved it!! A short trip to Capri, Pompeii, and the for sure, don't miss, Paestum. Lemons falling from trees to the sidewalk, what a place!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Johnniefromelgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2007

La Culla is good value budget accommodation - very spacious room if basic (5 beds for 2 people when we stayed!), large and spotless bathroom and decent, simple breakfast of bread/preserves, tea, coffee included. Views from roof terrace and balcony amazing. But - be prepared for 10-15 minute walk to Piazza Tasso and old town along a busy, noisy road. La Culla is set back from and above the road so it's not too bad but at busy times you can hear the traffic when your windows are open. There are buses every 20 minutes to Piazza Tasso and beyond and I would recommend catching these and saving your energy in the heat for more enjoyable walking.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank EdinburghCitybreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2006

We stayed at La Culla for a week. It was quiet, and we had a spacious room. The nuns didn't speak English and they had no tourist information. The Gardenia Hotel over the road was extremely helpful in this respect, booking tours and restaurants for us. The nearby shop made wonderful gourmet sandwiches for picnic lunches and in the evenings we could sit on the enormous terrace high above Sorrento with wonderful views in all directions over the Bay of Naples. The nuns made wonderful homemade marmalade for breakfast. The agent was very helpful.

Stayed: May 2006
11  Thank Aussiesenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2006

We have just spent a few days at La Culla, Sorrento which is within 10 minutes walking distance from the centre of Sorrento. The convent is a peaceful place to stay and you could spend a lot of time just relaxing on the terrace looking out at the fantastic view over the Bay of Naples.
Good size bedrooms and makes a nice change not to have TV etc.

13  Thank mscche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: os quartos dão para uma varanda incrível com vista para o mar além da localização ser excelente
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marilda729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank _laura_lacorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,317 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,166 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Culla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Culla

Address: Corso Italia 377, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Sorrento
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday house La Culla is 10 minutes from the center of Sorrento, Is managed by the Oblate Sisters of the Child Jesus. The hotel has 16 spacious rooms all with private bathroom, some also have available a corner with kitchen to be put to any apartment. From the last recent renovation all the rooms have air conditioning, a mini fridge, wifi in all rooms, TV, telephone. TThe house is equipped to accommodate disabled people. The rooms are cleaned by the staff each day and is included a change of linen every 3 nights. It is offered free breakfast from 8:00 to 9:30. To promote relaxation, the return at night is expected by midnight. The house has large terraces, and free parking where you can leave the car to enjoy all the wonders that the area offers. Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi, Massa Lubrense, Pompeii are just some of the destinations that you can reach easily from our hotel by public transport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Per Ferie Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing