We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay at Villa Monica became the Best Part of Our Trip”
Review of Villa Monica B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Monica B&B
Ranked #3 of 138 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our Stay at Villa Monica became the Best Part of Our Trip”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

It's true! The best host in all of Europe is Pasquale. From the excellent recommendations for restaurants and tours, to the attention to detail (help! we need beach towels for our boat trip!). And then when we needed to get an airline ticket to Sicily, he found us one that saved us over $100 each. And, of course, the VIEW!! Just breath taking. He really should charge twice the price for this gem. So hurry and book before he figures that out. (And it doesn't hurt that he looks like George Clooney)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    47
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
114
576
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Villa Monica for two nights. We arrived by train from Rome on a Saturday evening to tour the ruins at Pompeii and Herculaneum in one long Sunday, then moved on to Tuscany on Monday morning. I'd done extensive research on places around the Naples area, and when I found Villa Monica's listing on Trip Advisor, I was compelled to check it out - so much so that when my original requested dates were not available, we reworked our whole 2 week vacation around the dates it was available. Where I stay is a very important part of my vacation. Nothing about Villa Monica or or Pasquale is overstated. There's a reason everyone keeps saying the same things over and over about Pasquale, the rooms, the view, the welcoming public areas, and expansive breakfast that allows everyone from everywhere to find something they will like to eat - it's all true. Our stay was too too short, but even that quickly, Pasquale makes you feel like you're a friend. You can't really put a price on the feeling that someone "has your back" when you're staying in a different country, and Pasquale made our stay in Sorrento a much richer experience than what could have been just another really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary_Beth_and_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed four nights at Villa Monica in mid-September. Pasquale picked us up from the Hertz rental car drop-off within 10 mins of calling. Our ride up the hill convinced us that it was a good idea to just have Pasquale pick us up instead of trying to drive up the hill (narrow roads)- and GPS will direct you to the wrong road. Once we arrived - we felt so comfortable as the Villa Monica is a gorgeous piece of property. Pasquale -seeing that we were exhausted from our long drive to Sorrento offered us juice upon arriving as we were unpacking.

Our room was the Vesuvio which had a splendid view of the Bay of Naples, Mt Vesuvio - breath-taking indeed! The room/bathroom was cleaned everyday, air conditioner controlled in-room, and was comfortable. The bathroom is not directly inside the room but it is still a private bathroom (slippers and bath robes provided). The pictures on the website are accurate.

The rest of the Villa was nice - felt like a house - the common area was quite large - good for playing cards or reading. A piano and guitar available - along with Apertifs and whiskey. A common computer is available for last minute planning - and also a folder with suggestions from Villa Monica's previous travelers. (all previous travelers say - "listen to Pasquale -he won't lead you wrong!"

Breakfast was good - croissants, assorted cakes and pastries, fresh Italian coffee, teas, meats and cheeses, fresh melon and juices, cereals.

The pickup/drop-off times for the Villa Monica to the meeting point in the town center were convenient and we never had an issue with the timing.

We altered our itinerary based on Pasquale's suggestions for Amalfi and Positano - (and I'm glad we followed the suggestion - the bus from Amalfi to Positano in the evening was packed!) Don't do Amalfi same day as Positano Pasquale said...

His restaurant suggestions were good value. The pizza place (il Leone) particularly was good.

On our relaxing day in Sorrento- Pasquale suggested we go to the local market which was every Tuesday - so he dropped us off right there - and we enjoyed our time there.

Sure you could book a hotel in the center of town - but you'd miss out on the fabulous views and the personal nature of Pasquale. You cannot go wrong with this property.

Pasquale takes great care to ensure that his guests are enjoying themselves. He welcomes questions and is happy to provide answers. He's just a great guy really. That is the reason why Villa Monica is booked months in advance - everything is there for a good experience.

If I ever journey to Italy again - I will definitely have to visit Villa Monica again. Ciao!

Room Tip: Book the Villa Monica - you will enjoy your time there! The following rooms have good views - Vesuv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnLTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Located up in the hills overlooking all of Sorrento. The room had double opening doors on to a balcony which enables you to take in the breath taking views.The room is beautifully decorated and supplied with robes and slippers. When we arrived there were small flowers on the bed and throughout our stay. The breakfast included meats, cheese, pastries, yogurt, cereal, fruit, juice and your choice of coffee. Our host Pasqualle was the best; so accomdating. Pasqualle is very knowledgable on where to go and what to see along the Amalfi coast. He offered delivery service to Sorrento, train station and restaurants. His choice of dinner restaurants were excellent. I would not consider staying anywhere else in Sorrento. It was difficult to leave this little slice of heaven.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I could easily write a 5000 word essay explaining why you must stay here but instead i'll keep it simple.

Location... superb. A quiet, beautiful and peaceful location with amazing views of the surrounding area and of Mount Vesuvius. Being away from the centre posed no problem as Pasquale runs a shuttle service so don't let that worry you.

Accommodation....great. Clean, spotless, light and airy, french doors that open onto a balcony, comfy bed, air con, provided robes and slippers. It was faultess.

Breakfast... yummy. Cereal, toast, croissants, pastries, yogurt, meats, cheeses, juice, tea, coffee.

Extras.... In the hallway is a fridge stocked up with bottled water (50 cents), large beers (1:50 euro) wine (3euro) and sandwiches.
The use of sun loungers in the garden, a room downstairs to relax in and if you need beach towels just ask.

Saving the best to last....Pasquale. Well where do I start. He is warm, friendly, welcoming, funny, charming and helpful but don't tell him I said these nice things. He will recommend and book restaurants ( you must eat at vino vero), organise trips, give advice and info etc nothing was too much trouble. He is an excellent host.
Must also mention his wife and those who also work there, they do a fantastic job.

Would I recommend this place? Yes without a doubt.
Do not hestiate to book a stay at Villa Monica, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavenderluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Kyyivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Villa Monica is a cosy & comfortable place with amazing views of Sorrento, with a warm spirit of hospitality & benevolence, Pasquale & Monica are creating that lovely atmosphere, making your stay easy and unforgettable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

BETTER THAN THE BEST!! If you are traveling in Italy you should make this the last place you stay. After you stay with Pasquale, every other place will feel like a hostel. His friendly attitude is more like staying with a best friend than with a b&b owner. We traveled to 8 countries on our trip and he was the BEST BY FAR!!

Room Tip: the 2 rooms overlooking the city are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roohiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.4 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
530 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
1.8 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,087 reviews
1.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,285 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palazzo Montefusco Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Monica B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Monica B&B

Property: Villa Monica B&B
Address: Via Campitiello 14 | Casarlano, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Monica B&B is a charming Bed and Breakfast on the hills of Sorrento. With a beatiful view !! For our guests a convenient free shuttle service all day. Breakfast and wifi free..!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Villa Monica B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Monica Bed And Breakfast
Villa Monica Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing