We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Relais Regina Giovanna
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
$617
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel del Mare(Sorrento)
$189
$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$475
$449
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$198
$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$408
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$234
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$437
$408
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
$100
$97
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$354
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Aminta(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
$301
$281
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
145
42
18
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
42
18
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslemon and olive grovesprivate beachmain buildingamalfi coastpeace and quiethotel shuttlebeautiful propertyguest houselounge chairshotel guestsbase to explorefree shuttlestaying at this hotelrooms are largeshuttle servicethe hotel offersstunning views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 215 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

From time to time I visit a place and I am torn between wanting to keep the place secret versus doing the right thing and sharing with other trip advisor users. This was one such place ..... The relais is a refurbished farmhouse set in an olive/lemon grove about 20 - 25 mins walk from Sorrento. It has its own small private beach. The rooms are beautiful. Ours was very large, with a separate lounge, stunning views from the windows. Beds very comfortable, great shower etc. Fridge/mini bar, TV (which we did not watch), air conditioning, hair dryer. Free wifi available in the courtyard.
The relais only does breakfast, which is a wonderful spread of rolls, bread, pastries, cheese, ham, tomatoes, fruit, cereal, yoghurt, fruit juice, and wonderful Italian coffee or tea. Breakfast is served in a beautiful high ceilinged room with great views, accompanied by Italian opera.
The beach is pebbled and has safe swimming. There are loungers/cushions/towels available for hotel guests to use.
There are a number of restaurants within walking distance, although the road towards Sorrento has no path for a little way. However there is a steady stream of people walking along the road and we never felt nervous. You can catch a bus into Sorrento very cheaply from a bus stop 5 mins walk from the Relais.
We used the relais as a base from which to visit Herculaneum and Pompeii. We caught the bus to Sorrento then took the Circumversuvius train to Herculaneum from there - a slow train but great for people watching. We had a couple of days just relaxing at the Relais after some fairly intensive sightseeing - it was just wonderful. The little shop about 5 mins walk from the relais does the most wonderful sandwiches made to order - wonderful bread, buffalo mozzarella, prosciutto, tomatoes etc. Seems to sell everything you might need for a picnic on the little beach.
This place is not for you if you are unsteady on your feet - not good for the very young or the very old. But for anyone who is in between, if you want peace and tranquillity and an idyllic place to stay, come here. It is much better value than the hotels in Sorrento and it is away from the hubbub, yet within easy reach of it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank king_alfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I absolutely loved this hotel. It was an extremely relaxing place to stay. Our room (no. 2 in the main building, between the reception and the breakfast) was huge and charming and clean. The breakfast was really great (both sweet things and savory things as well as really good espresso made to order!). The little beach below the hotel was perfect for swimming, snorkeling and reading in the sun (or shade). The people who worked there were extremely friendly and always willing to help with anything we needed. The whole vibe of the place was calm and happy.

The only thing I didn't like was that you have to take a bus to get to "downtown" Sorrento. We were planning to walk since it's actually not far, but after walking from the hotel to the bus stop we decided that was scary enough, and twenty more minutes of death-defying walk along a NARROW road with crazy drivers wasn't going to make this a very relaxing vacation. The bus into town goes twice an hour (at seemingly random times) but only takes three minutes once you're on board. The tickets were kind of expensive but you were basically paying not to die, so I guess it's worth it!

Despite this, I think that was a small price to pay for staying out of town in a charming old place in the middle of olive and lemon groves with a beautiful little uncrowded beach that we could use whenever we wanted. I would certainly stay here again, and recommend it to other people, especially couples wanting to relax together.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fireinthepriory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Booked two "Deluxe Double Room" and got two apartments distant from the main building, furnished to an average to low standard.
Expectation was of higher quality, but we are not fussy people. However, between the two apartments, we found:
- a dirty plate left in the kitchen cupboard, encrusted with oil or tomato sauce
- breadcrumbs and hair on one of the sofas
- musty sponge pan scourers covered in mould
- cobwebs in some corners and dust on some surfaces
- dark water stains on both toilets

Overall the place is in a beautiful spot but the way it is run and kept leaves much to be desired.
Our experience is that its quality is not worth the money they charge for it.

Prenotato due "Deluxe Double Room" e ci hanno assegnato due appartamenti, lontani dall'edificio principale, con arredamento di qualita' medio-bassa.
L'aspettativa era di qualcosa di meglio, ma non siamo persone pignole. Da dire pero' che, tra i due appartamenti, abbiamo trovato:
- un piatto sporco nel mobile della cucina, incrostato di olio o salsa di pomodoro
- briciole di pane e capelli in uno dei divani
- spugne dei piatti completamente ammuffite
- ragnatele negli angoli e polvere
- macchie di acqua, color marrone, in entrambi i water

Il posto e' in una localita' molto bella, ma il modo in cui e' tenuto e gestito lascia molto a desiderare.
In generale, nella nostra esperienza, la qualita' non giustifica affatto il prezzo pagato.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Relais Regina Giovanna is an old farmhouse that has been renovated into an understated luxury property in the middle of lemon and olive groves. It's a few kilometers outside of Sorrento, which was great because Sorrento can be quite busy, crowded and noisy; the location and atmosphere provided us a nice retreat at the end of the day to have a glass of Prosecco and watch the sun go down over the Mediterranean. This is not your typical mass market hotel. If you're looking for quiet beauty in a setting that maintains an old world feel, The Regina Giovanna is the place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon and it was just perfect, set amidst lemon and olive groves with views out to the islands that are simply breathtaking, especially at sunset.
When we arrived we were shown to a small appartment in the block approx 600m away from the main complex in the lemon groves. The appartment was very large, but unfortunatly smelled quite damp and musty. We flung open doors and windows for the first day to try to clear the smell, but it still lingered. So we went to reception to ask to change rooms. Rosa on reception (as people have said before) was very helpful, and instantly showed us some other rooms that had become available that day. One overlooked the sea, with beauitful beams in the ceiling and we went for that instantly! It is a stunning, spacious room with incredible views and large french windows which we opened every night to enjoy a limoncello over looking the garden and coast.
The staff are all very helpful, and suggest local restaurants, contacting them to come and collect you from the hotel if they are out of walking distance.
breakfast is the standard Italian fayre of sweet croissants, meat and cheese, breads and fruit, but all very tasty and plenty of it!
The beach is a lovely (though stony) little cove with rocks to jump off and beds to relax on as you choose. The garden is amazing, strolling though fig, lemon and olive groves, with wild fennel you can make yourself a delicious lunch from a simple stroll!
The walks up/down from the road and beach are not too bad, but the peace and serenity of this hotels location would make a walk twice as hard still worth the effort!
A couple of things to finish, the shuttle service seems to have gone the way of the dodo, as has the evening meal, so don't rely on them being available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main block with a sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottyVipond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews