We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olives and Lemons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Regina Giovanna
Ranked #51 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Olives and Lemons”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent six days at this stunning hotel and found it to be a wonderful base for trips around the Bay of Naples, or perfect for a relaxing day by the sea and in the gardens.

I’m surprised to read the poor reviews on Relais Regina Giovanna, as these appear to be based around its location? The location is part of the charm of this hotel, so don't be put off.

This is a secluded peaceful place, set in an olive and lemon grove (we made our own lemonade - gorgeous), and the view out towards the Isle of Capri made for a very scenic sunset. The private cove is small and cobbled; it was never busy or noisy, and was great for a quick dip in the sea.

To us the staff were excellent and always so helpful, they helped us find the right public transport, shuttle buses, and tours. They were very accommodating and good-humoured when we locked ourselves out (at all hours!) or wanted to borrow things!

Food in their restaurant was lovely and the service impeccable, the waiters were both very friendly and also kind enough to chat to us in English as we just couldn't master Italian language. The olive oil in the restaurant is homemade and oh it is good! Sitting outside for dinner with a bottle of wine in the quiet of the countryside is a fantastic start (and end) to any evening. Life was made very easy with the breakfast buffet, with plenty of fresh fruit, great coffee and open until 10am for the lazier mornings!

We had no car, and found no trouble in the short walk uphill to the bus stop where buses run frequently into Sorrento. We had dinner in town on several evenings, and transport back was not a problem.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes their accommodation to be unique and away from the madding crowd. If you are not active, you may want to bring a car to get around the area.

To Rosa and Marigrazia, the lovely girls at reception, Thank you for you help and patience. We a had a fantastic break, plenty of laughs and wonderful memories.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    40
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
44
113
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here early August 2012 and found it to be a wonderful break at the end of 3 weeks constant travel in southern Europe. It's out of the way and a car would be helpful, but then you would have to drive on Italian roads with the Italian drivers. Rather take a bus thanks. There is a steep walk down to the hotel and then another to the beach but we found this to be a fun part of the place. Greeted by smiling young lady who could not do enough for us. This was followed by excellent meals and service. We found a friendly smile and courtesy to the staff was more than repaid to us. Didn't like Sorrento as it was peak season and very crowded so were glad to be a little out of town with the peace and quiet. Good value meals taken in the outdoors. Thankyou to all staff for looking after us.

Room Tip: Take a train out of Naples to Sorrento, the taxi driver ripped us off
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Having red some rewiews of the last year I understood that nothing has changed. For instance, walking up the steep hill to the main road and along it is very narrow and dangerous. So I come to the conclusion that this hotel is not for those who don't have a car and all the more it's not for those who is not ready to carry their luggage in their arms up and down the hill. It could be useful to let the people know beforehand that they will have to apply so many physical efforts before they arrive at the reception desk of this hotel. For some of them this journey can do harm, but who cares ? Well, may be this hotel is sufficient for those who are ready to part with their money without any regret for those things which didn't get on well...

The room tariff includes the use of the hotel's beach, and of itself is rather high (about 150 Euros per room per day). But the level of the services is not in line with the price. I've read one comment of the direction on the hotel's beach that has been made the May, 2011: "The beach will official open at the beginning of June and by that time everything will be ready; if the guest wishes to have a walk down, we always point out that the beach will not be ready before the end of May". We are in July, even in August 2012, and the building work still remains incomplete. Up to now the local workers continue to put it in order. Is it possible to bathe in the sun when they make a fuss and hang about? There is still no shower, toilet, food or drinks available and its a long trip to reach any of these things. In the absence of normal toilet those workers and the others who don't care go to pee to the bushes that are situated nearby. Dreadful stench spreads across the beach territory and bores to death. One morning I saw the rats which were crossing the beach and then I passed the rest of my day seized by fear.

What next? The staff seems indifferent and slightly put off when helping their guests. I wouldn't like to make personal remarks but I have to tell that the reception staff who works during the afternoon is absolutely unprofessional, is unable to solve problems and has approximate idea about the place where it works. They will remain indifferent to your complaints and will never make it possible to compensate for your costs in case you are not satisfied, for example, with their beach service. Unfortunately I had dealings with the hotel where noone keeps the word.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talala T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Regina Giovanna, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for your comment, it's important and constructive for us. We're terribly sorry for the inconveniences encountered during your stay that don't meet our quality standards. We regret that you deems the staff not appropriate because all the staff is hard-working and prepared. Our priority is the wellness of our clients. Hopefully soon you return to the Relais Regina Giovanna, where you can spend a pleasant stay in an unforgettable location. From the stairs, which goes along the rock, from which you access the beach, for example, you can admire a wonderful natural setting. The quiet beach is also adjacent to the Regina Giovanna baths, where you can see the archaeological remains of an ancient Roman villa.
Best Regards

Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

During the week at the end of June we've been in this nice hotel. It is a calm perfect place for relax inside lemon and olive gardens. Once you would like to change the buzz of the crowd on sand beach to silent rocky coastline around Vesuvio you have to take a trip to Sorrento peninsula. Small beach with (almost personal!) swimming area gives you chance to observe Capri jet boats while lying near sea.

You also have to be an early bird in the hotel to catch tasty like home maid panini in the sunny morning and drop your bones on the rocks to take sunny&water baths before you will be fried by sun.

Room air condition is a nice feature there and, as it is occurred later, not necessarily present (or with extra charge) in other hotels of Italy. If you see its not working - just check yourself if you left windows opened even in bath.

Shuttle-bus reservation is a good possibility to get to city center, but 10-30AM is not convenient and too late if you plan any excursion trip further from Sorrento in the morning.

Meanwhile, lazy service-man can lock the beach beds in the evening and sleep until 10-11 AM next day. Needless to say, it is too late, it must be opened not later than 9 AM. Oh, of course in the early morning nice fresh sea water is too cold for Italians :) But not for others.

WiFi stays low as all over points in public places of Sorrento. "Not a big deal, buddy, you've run away from your stupid office laptop, yea?". And we even had chance to catch skype calls over smart-phone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IgMa80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed in the main hotel building in August 2011. Room we had was lovely, large, clean, comfortable and had a wonderful view. Setting of the hotel amid Olive and Lemon groves was spectacular. The place is really relaxing and the small shingle beach is a beautiful spot.

But...we arrived in a taxi only to be told that the hotel didn't do lunch and dinner and had no hotel bar. When we asked how to get into town we were told to 'walk up the hill to the shop and ask for the bus times'. There was no mention or sighting of any shuttle bus either. This meant a 15 minute uphill walk to get the bus or any food during the day, longer if you are going from the beach. At night the walk from the bus stop down to the hotel was pretty scary down a quiet barely lit lane.

There was lots of signs around the hotel of things being not quite finished. In particular to get to the beach you have to walk through a not-even half built beach house. Suffice to say there was no facilities at the beach other than a few chairs, loungers and towels.
The hotel building itself was complete and beautiful though.

Do not stay here if you don't have a car or if you are traveling with young children or if you have any elderly or infirm people in your party!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sc0tt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

For some this could be a great experience, just need to be aware of what you're getting into first. We were in a guest house that was about a 5-10 minute walk from the main house. Our space was huge with two bathrooms, sitting area and kitchen--which we did not need. Also no sea view. Unless you need the space stay at the rooms in the guest house. Walk from reception to our house at night was verging on scary due to adequate lack of lighting along the way (and many bats). There are shuttles running at 9,11,1 and 3 from main house to downtown Sorrento so you must plan accordingly. If you want to take the bus into town you must walk up the steep hill to the main road and down a bit along a stretch of highway with no sidewalk. The bus ride from the store is only about 5 minutes into town. If you want to catch a cab back to the hotel it will run you about 20-30 Euro. Beach is stoney. Apparently there is a sister hotel whose beach you can use, although the staff did not mention this to us, heard from other guests. Breakfast was typical of our stay in Italy. Although this place is cheap I would not recommend unless you have a car of your own or are planning to just stay on the grounds for most of your visit. Taking day trips out of town took much planning and correct timing. Next time we'd stay at some place closer to town to meet more of our needs and vacation style.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MidwestGirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Great location if somebody wants to enjoy the beach. Very quite nice surrounding, bit further from the city center but easy to manage to get in. Buses are relatively punctual and running until midnight. The rooms are spacious and have a nice atmosphere.
Unfortunately the internet connection is very limited like wifi works only 2 meters around there internet station. Breakfast was ok we missed some vegetables.
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Overall I suggest the place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
La Tonnarella
La Tonnarella
#60 of 100 in Sorrento
472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
2.1 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
230 reviews
1.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,125 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Regina Giovanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Regina Giovanna

Property: Relais Regina Giovanna
Address: Via Calata Puolo 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#40 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Regina Giovanna 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 6 minutes walk from the beach. Offering a restaurant and a private beach area, Relais Regina Giovanna is located in Sorrento. Free WiFi access is available. Each room here will provide you with a TV, air conditioning and a minibar. There is also an electric kettle. Featuring a bath or shower, private bathroom also comes with a hairdryer and a bidet. Extras include a desk and a safety deposit box. At Relais Regina Giovanna you will find a 24-hour front desk and a garden. Other facilities offered at the property include luggage storage. The property offers free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Regina Giovanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Regina Giovanna Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing