We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento City
Ranked #44 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
922 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 937 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel Sorrento is located on a relatively quiet street near the center of town. You can walk everywhere. I enjoy walking a city to see everything. The waterfront an the upscale area where you can eat at one of the hotels there. Good shopping as well as many restaurants near the Sorrento Hotel. The staff is very accommodating. I chose a room in the back with a balcony, a good choice. Reasonable rates, pleasent place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    323
    88
    23
    11
See reviews for
174
373
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Sorrento (April 5th - 12th 2014) and this hotel was absolutely perfect, so central, right in the middle of the town which is so convenient for dinner etc.. we spent our days on various day trips and the hotel is 2 minutes from the train station which was ideal. A supermarket is on one side and a delicious bakery "Bar Rita" on the other- (the suppli is amazing!). The staff were always polite and so helpful. We planned our day trips always just the evening before and reception helped with information each day including printing out boat timetables for our trip to Capri etc..

I was a bit concerned that rooms might be tiny due to previous reviews but they were perfectly fine, the little balcony was lovely to sit out for a quick beer before dinner. The bathroom was perfect, great strong shower which never ran out of hot water and the place is spotless. Daily housekeeping was great and we always came back to a love clean room with crisp sheets. The breakfast was also fine, with lots of biscuits and cakes but also toast, ham, cheese, cereal, yogurt and a nice coffee machine.

Happy to recommend and would definitely stay here again.

Caroline & Paul (Dublin)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We enjoyed our six days during the Easter very much in beautiful Sorrento and in this cosy hotel. On Good Friday we had possibility to see and feel the impressive procession right on our own balcony.
The location is the best possible, everything was near.
The room was small, but well kept. We would gladly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meikku H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The location is very convenient between the train station and the town centre. Being on the main street makes it easy to find. The lift was handy for luggage and because it is a hotel there is always someone at reception. On the downside our room was very small, the mattress was sagging and breakfast was fairly basic.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank craigr932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2014

hotel was very very close to train station. supermarket is in next building and restaurant and cafes are near by. staff is very friendly. it is located in main street of the city.

they need to have more options in breakfast like Egg was not there.

Room Tip: rooms are normal sizes. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nasir s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We enjoyed the location, the employees, their service and demeanor, the breakfast, the room, the small but adequate veranda overlooking the "main" street with a view from the "main" square to the "finish line" of a half-marathon run the morning of our second day. A short walk from the train station, we found the hotel easily, and quickly discovered what a good choice for us this location would be. We walked everywhere easily, enjoying the cliffside views, the neighborhoods, the easy access to the port and beach areas, and the countryside roads. Although the latter might be a little "dangerous" on narrow stretches when traffic comes by, especially during a higher density tourist season than when we visited. The advertised ease of travel via local buses was true for us as we enjoyed a very entertaining day trip to Amalfi, with the stunning coastline visible hundreds of feet directly below us as the skilled driver sounded his horn almost constantly to avoid unwanted contact with oncoming traffic at narrow and winding sections of roadway, which were plentiful. No problems. Hats off to these drivers! Hotel Sorrento City was a good choice for us. It is small, but accommodating, and a good buy for the money.

Room Tip: Request a "front" street view room, unless it does not matter to you. You might save a fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel was simple although clean and updated with helpful and pleasant staff. Our bedroom, on the back side, was quiet and we had an elevator to get to it. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast (usual Italian style of meat, cheese, croissants, cakes, cereal, yogurt, juices and coffee) was good to get you going for the day.

The location was very convenient with a short walk to the Circumvesuviana train (to Naples, Pompei and Herculaneum), also to the bus for the Amalfi Coast and also to many shops and restaurants. We really enjoyed our stay in Sorrento (lovely city and don't forget to try the local Limoncello!) and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liketotravel019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorrento City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento City

Property: Hotel Sorrento City
Address: Corso Italia 221, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorrento City 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Sorrento, Sorrento City Hotel is a boutique hotel a short walk to Piazza Tasso: a living room to live the harmony of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality; a hotel, completely refurbished, which was the first Maison Meublè built in 50’s, where you can spend days of pure wonder. Style and elegance, prime quality of service and discretion make this hotel a symbol of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sorrento City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing