We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - exceptionally friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento City
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We enjoyed our six days during the Easter very much in beautiful Sorrento and in this cosy hotel. On Good Friday we had possibility to see and feel the impressive procession right on our own balcony.
The location is the best possible, everything was near.
The room was small, but well kept. We would gladly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meikku H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sorrento City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 791 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

The location is very convenient between the train station and the town centre. Being on the main street makes it easy to find. The lift was handy for luggage and because it is a hotel there is always someone at reception. On the downside our room was very small, the mattress was sagging and breakfast was fairly basic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank craigr932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

hotel was very very close to train station. supermarket is in next building and restaurant and cafes are near by. staff is very friendly. it is located in main street of the city.

they need to have more options in breakfast like Egg was not there.

Room Tip: rooms are normal sizes. .
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nasir s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We enjoyed the location, the employees, their service and demeanor, the breakfast, the room, the small but adequate veranda overlooking the "main" street with a view from the "main" square to the "finish line" of a half-marathon run the morning of our second day. A short walk from the train station, we found the hotel easily, and quickly discovered what a good choice for us this location would be. We walked everywhere easily, enjoying the cliffside views, the neighborhoods, the easy access to the port and beach areas, and the countryside roads. Although the latter might be a little "dangerous" on narrow stretches when traffic comes by, especially during a higher density tourist season than when we visited. The advertised ease of travel via local buses was true for us as we enjoyed a very entertaining day trip to Amalfi, with the stunning coastline visible hundreds of feet directly below us as the skilled driver sounded his horn almost constantly to avoid unwanted contact with oncoming traffic at narrow and winding sections of roadway, which were plentiful. No problems. Hats off to these drivers! Hotel Sorrento City was a good choice for us. It is small, but accommodating, and a good buy for the money.

Room Tip: Request a "front" street view room, unless it does not matter to you. You might save a fe...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel was simple although clean and updated with helpful and pleasant staff. Our bedroom, on the back side, was quiet and we had an elevator to get to it. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast (usual Italian style of meat, cheese, croissants, cakes, cereal, yogurt, juices and coffee) was good to get you going for the day.

The location was very convenient with a short walk to the Circumvesuviana train (to Naples, Pompei and Herculaneum), also to the bus for the Amalfi Coast and also to many shops and restaurants. We really enjoyed our stay in Sorrento (lovely city and don't forget to try the local Limoncello!) and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liketotravel019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Clean and simple, excellent value. Everything looks new (or well maintained). Less than 5 minutes walk from station which was great as we were visiting Pompei, Herculaneum, Oplontis and Naples by the Circumvesuviana train. The airport bus also drops off here (6 a day from Naples airport). Also close to the rest of town (in the other direction) for shops and restaurants. Good breakfast (great coffee, pastries and cakes) but no cooked food (they had hams, cheese, yoghurt, muesli etc). Unfortunately the roof terrace was devoid of furniture due to a lot of rain which was a shame as when the weather improved it would have been a lovely place to enjoy the sun. Perils of going out of season I guess! As for the rooms we got front facing ones with balcony as requested. This is a little noisy but didn't affect my sleep and was good for people watching. In warmer weather it would make a nice place to sit out. I also liked the bathroom- the shower was good and the water hot at all times of day. Overall I was very happy with my choice and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle1660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

If you're using Sorrento as a base for the Amalfi Coast and are simply looking for a no-frills room with a good location, then Hotel Sorrento city is perfect.

We stayed in Sorrento as a hub for Positano, Capri, and Pompeii on a budget. Hotel Sorrento city was perfect for our needs. The room was a perfectly adequate size, comfortable bed, spotlessly clean. The bathroom had a wonderful shower, wonderful toiletries, and a big clean sink. Loved the bathroom - great size.

The location is perfect - it is right around the corner from the train station & Sorrento bus stop and a 1-3 minute walk of so many different restaurants and all the main shops. Also adjacent to a grocery store - another plus. Simply unbeatable. You do not have cliffside views of the bay or anything here since you're in the middle of town, but that wasn't of concern to us this visit. Though we were there in a quieter season, we were pleasantly suprised at how quiet it was in our room even though we were on the main street.

We were staying in the off-season and had a room with a balcony view of the street - very charming. Were disappointed that the rooftop was not open for our stay, but it was rainy throughout so didn't really matter.

Only negative comment is that baggage storage is claimed as an amenity here. This is true - the staff very kindly held our luggage before/after our check in/out. However, the luggage is not locked in a closet and is placed in a corner of the lobby, so just be aware of this if you plan to pack valuables in your bag. Perhaps the hotel could store the luggage behind the desk or in a special closet one day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
379 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
764 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorrento City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento City

Address: Corso Italia 221, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $70 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorrento City 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Sorrento, Sorrento City Hotel is a boutique hotel a short walk to Piazza Tasso: a living room to live the harmony of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality; a hotel, completely refurbished, which was the first Maison Meublè built in 50’s, where you can spend days of pure wonder. Style and elegance, prime quality of service and discretion make this hotel a symbol of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sorrento City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing