We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service from the heart!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento City
Ranked #46 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, convenient for walk or taxi to many tourist activities and restaurants. They have nice, modern, clean rooms in great condition, with all the amenities we needed for comfort. They have a beautiful roof garden view as well. Finally, the breakfast is pretty good. Blah blah... The main reason i am writing this review is because the staff really impressed us. For example, they gave us a blanket and helped us pick out foods from a nearby cafe for our private boat trip... And oh.. I almost forgot to mention that they also coordinated our boat trip. Unexpected concierge service with a warm smile and proactive attitude. The manager also visited our travel group friend twice in the hospital to make sure she was taken care of properly after she suffered from angina (pre heart attack symptopms). I could go on. What a great hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 809 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

We picked this hotel as it is in a great location for the train station and city center (200m) which are within easy walking distance. The receptionist was so helpful and could not do enough to help us. She even ensured we had a take away breakfast when we left to catch the early flight. The rooms were clean and well maintained although the balcony was a little on the small side. I would certainly recommend the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel look onto a wall so ask for one at the front also room 105 is next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jebriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location. We were traveling from Cinque Terre & arrived in Sorrento by train. We had luggage with us, but the hotel is only a 5 min walk from the Sorrento train station. The hotel is on a main street that leads you right in the central square of the historical part of town. We were steps away from shops, restaurants & importantly the train station where the Sita bus service operates from. So it was easy to catch the bus to Positano or Almafi for example. Breakfast at the hotel was good as well offering ham, cheese, bread, yogurt cereals, etc with great selection of coffees & tea. We had an interior room, it was clean & quiet. The only thing negative I can say about the hotel is the free wifi service was not working in our rooms for the first 2 day/ nights of our stay. Nevertheless, I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to stay in Sorrento :).

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPrego_toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice hotel Perfect location, lousy coffee els very nice! Staff very friendly and helpful! We had balcony to the street. Nice sitting there in the evenings eith a gkass of wine watching the people from above!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zofflock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel is in a great location to enable train travel to Pompeii and also the airport bus comes in next to the station so within easy walking distance to the hotel. The receptionist is just fab. She cheerfully attended to everything from check in to supplying the wine and nibbles for consumption on the lovely roof terrace. She even ensured we had a carry out breakfast on our last morning when we had to catch an early flight. The rooms were clean and functional, if on the small side (I didn't bother with trying out the tiny balcony). Breakfast consisted of ample choice though the breakfast room was a little on the small size for the number of guests. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodiefan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were meeting family here recently. Hotel is centrally located, close to restaurants and shops. As the name suggests, in the centre of Sorrento. The staff were wonderful from the front desk, the breakfast lady and the housekeeping - all very helpful. My family were leaving early in the morning, the night manager packed them some breakfast to go. Our room was quite small, but adequate and clean. There is a rooftop terrace (which was a criteria for choosing this hotel) the hotel bar didn't cater for eight revellers each evening, but we managed ok. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 343TomW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The location of the hotel makes it very convenient, it's not only closeby the station, but only a short walk to the main square and a large selection of restaurants and cafes. We thought our room was pretty spacious, we had a side facing view and a tiny outside area with just a glimpse of the main road. Bearing in mind it was August, very crowded and busy - particularly on the weekend evenings when it was noisy on the street outside late into the evening, we weren't too bothered not to be overlooking it. Staff were friendly, breakfast was fine, lots of cakes to choose from, fresh fruit and breads - the only letdown was the coffee machine which seemed to go wrong alot when we were there! We sat on the roof area a few times which was nice enough although we expected a bar to be up there! You can only consume drinks from the hotel, so had to go to reception each time to purchase a drink from the fridge, then head back up to the top floor each time. Drinks were cheap but it was abit inconvenient. To end on a positive, rooms were kept very clean and the decor was fresh and tidy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Beanface15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorrento City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento City

Address: Corso Italia 221, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $71 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorrento City 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Sorrento, Sorrento City Hotel is a boutique hotel a short walk to Piazza Tasso: a living room to live the harmony of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality; a hotel, completely refurbished, which was the first Maison Meublè built in 50’s, where you can spend days of pure wonder. Style and elegance, prime quality of service and discretion make this hotel a symbol of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sorrento City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing