We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good breakfast & comfortable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento City
Ranked #43 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great location, good breakfast & comfortable stay!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location. We were traveling from Cinque Terre & arrived in Sorrento by train. We had luggage with us, but the hotel is only a 5 min walk from the Sorrento train station. The hotel is on a main street that leads you right in the central square of the historical part of town. We were steps away from shops, restaurants & importantly the train station where the Sita bus service operates from. So it was easy to catch the bus to Positano or Almafi for example. Breakfast at the hotel was good as well offering ham, cheese, bread, yogurt cereals, etc with great selection of coffees & tea. We had an interior room, it was clean & quiet. The only thing negative I can say about the hotel is the free wifi service was not working in our rooms for the first 2 day/ nights of our stay. Nevertheless, I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to stay in Sorrento :).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPrego_toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    323
    88
    23
    11
See reviews for
173
373
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice hotel Perfect location, lousy coffee els very nice! Staff very friendly and helpful! We had balcony to the street. Nice sitting there in the evenings eith a gkass of wine watching the people from above!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zofflock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinbrgh
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel is in a great location to enable train travel to Pompeii and also the airport bus comes in next to the station so within easy walking distance to the hotel. The receptionist is just fab. She cheerfully attended to everything from check in to supplying the wine and nibbles for consumption on the lovely roof terrace. She even ensured we had a carry out breakfast on our last morning when we had to catch an early flight. The rooms were clean and functional, if on the small side (I didn't bother with trying out the tiny balcony). Breakfast consisted of ample choice though the breakfast room was a little on the small size for the number of guests. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodiefan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were meeting family here recently. Hotel is centrally located, close to restaurants and shops. As the name suggests, in the centre of Sorrento. The staff were wonderful from the front desk, the breakfast lady and the housekeeping - all very helpful. My family were leaving early in the morning, the night manager packed them some breakfast to go. Our room was quite small, but adequate and clean. There is a rooftop terrace (which was a criteria for choosing this hotel) the hotel bar didn't cater for eight revellers each evening, but we managed ok. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 343TomW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The location of the hotel makes it very convenient, it's not only closeby the station, but only a short walk to the main square and a large selection of restaurants and cafes. We thought our room was pretty spacious, we had a side facing view and a tiny outside area with just a glimpse of the main road. Bearing in mind it was August, very crowded and busy - particularly on the weekend evenings when it was noisy on the street outside late into the evening, we weren't too bothered not to be overlooking it. Staff were friendly, breakfast was fine, lots of cakes to choose from, fresh fruit and breads - the only letdown was the coffee machine which seemed to go wrong alot when we were there! We sat on the roof area a few times which was nice enough although we expected a bar to be up there! You can only consume drinks from the hotel, so had to go to reception each time to purchase a drink from the fridge, then head back up to the top floor each time. Drinks were cheap but it was abit inconvenient. To end on a positive, rooms were kept very clean and the decor was fresh and tidy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beanface15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

this hotel was great and not expensive the breakfast is continental nothing flash but enough for the price you pay. The staff are friendly and the lady on reception was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean with enough room for two. The hotel itself was on the main street through the centre of Sorrento. The bus terminal and train station are one road up from the hotel which takes you on a small ride to Pompei or Naples. The centre square and the tourist information office are on the same street not more than 100 yards away. It's a five minute walk to a small park which has a lift (for a small charge) which takes you down to the waters edge and then five minutes to the port where you can get a boat to the surrounding islands i.e. Capri & Ana Carpri where that is a small church you must visit with coloured tiled mosaic floor (a must see - 2Euros). It was an all round good experience despite the rain. We would definitely go back to the same hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annick U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We found the room was quite small but that was typical from our experience in Italy and France. That is the only thing you could call a negative. The staff were great and gave us plenty of advice on what to see and where to eat. We took the advice and no regrets at all!! Location could not be better. Our room overlooked the main street and was double glazed so no noise problem. Not that it mattered as we were out enjoying the atmosphere in Sorrento. Great town and hotel is a great place to stay!! Would recommend for sure!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
478 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
1,344 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorrento City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento City

Property: Hotel Sorrento City
Address: Corso Italia 221, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorrento City 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Sorrento, Sorrento City Hotel is a boutique hotel a short walk to Piazza Tasso: a living room to live the harmony of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality; a hotel, completely refurbished, which was the first Maison Meublè built in 50’s, where you can spend days of pure wonder. Style and elegance, prime quality of service and discretion make this hotel a symbol of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sorrento City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing