We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Location, location location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sorrento City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento City
Ranked #45 of 98 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, location location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed for three nights during July 2013. I found the best part of the hotel being the location as it was walking distance to all day tour departures - that was arranged by the staff! The staff was very helpful even arranging for earlier breakfast due to a early tour departure. The room was clean and I also think that the hotel was value for money even at a shocking exchange rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LynettePretoriusSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    287
    72
    20
    8
See reviews for
145
322
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The location, rates and value of this establishment is unsurpassed. I stayed here in May 2013 with my partner for 3 nights and will most definitely stay here again when next I visit Sorrento. Coveniently located just around the corner from the train station and right next to the supermarket and movie theatre, you couldn't find better located accommodation. Surrounded by restaurants, walking distance from the pier to Capri, Amalfi or Naples and hundreds of souvenir, leather shops and gelateria's, you really can't go wrong!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank journeywithjezriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of our tour group and were very pleased with our stay. The hotel is in a great location in Sorrento and makes it an ideal spot for day trips to Capri / Amalfi, etc.

PROS:
- Location: The hotel is located on the 'main' street in Sorrento, making it very easy to walk to the train station, restaurants, shops and the marina.
- Staff: All of the staff were very hospitable, friendly and spoke English fluently.
- Free continental breakfast
- Free wi-fi

CONS:
- The only thing that prevents me from giving 5 stars is the paper thin walls at the hotel. We could hear every little noise from adjacent rooms/people walking on the stairs which made from some sleepless nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RC999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My 3 sisters & I spent 3 nights here. Had 2 double rooms and were very happy with the accommodations. The room and bathroom were typically small, but there was plenty of room to set out our suitcases and hang things up. The breakfast was very nice and the staff was very helpful, gracious and professional. The location was great, the rooms and common areas were clean, and the roof-top terrace was delightful . We had a wonderful time and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nivelles, Belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The location is great, very central. The staff is nice and the breakfast is ample, though continental. Empty fridge in the room a nice touch.

Unfortunately, it was just too uncomfortable to sleep. The air-conditioning was super weak. The beds were rock hard and the pillows almost as hard. In the morning you could hear every little noise from the maid cleaning adjacent rooms. Also, an 11 am check-out is stingy, though because we had barely slept we were more than ready to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dcm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sorrentocity, Manager at Hotel Sorrento City, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Sir, many thanks for your review ! I really feel obliged to give you a reply .....the hotel is very flexible for the check out policy, and in case of a specific needs we are able to manage a customer request to postpone the check out time....even if we have other customers waiting to occupy the room.
For all the other issue we are able to handle them on the request.
What gives me a deep comfort is that we never received similar complain in the past ! All our room equippements are our pride!
Best regards
Roberta
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

As a single person I found the rooms to be a great size. I faced the main road and found the view to be amazing. Very central to everything as it's right by the train station and just right of the main square. The room had a weak wifi signal though but are you really there for that??!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMac82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was a great hotel....at a great price.....in a great location. We only stayed one night but they were so accomodating, keeping our luggage for us and letting us keep the car parked while we did a boat trip over to Capri for the day.....after we had checked out. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The location was very close to everything! Sorrento is a beautiful city to visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#38 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#43 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nice
Hotel Nice
#70 of 98 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorrento City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento City

Property: Hotel Sorrento City
Address: Corso Italia 221, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorrento City 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Sorrento, Sorrento City Hotel is a boutique hotel a short walk to Piazza Tasso: a living room to live the harmony of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality; a hotel, completely refurbished, which was the first Maison Meublè built in 50’s, where you can spend days of pure wonder. Style and elegance, prime quality of service and discretion make this hotel a symbol of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sorrento City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing