We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very good location, very good hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sorrento City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento City
Ranked #40 of 99 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
“Very good location, very good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

There is a supermarket next door, and only 5 minutes walking to city center, also close to CITA bus station, could it be better? Just stayed there for 1 night, but quite impressive as it is comfortable and the staff are really willing to help. We are bit late for breakfast, but they still allowed us to enter and enjoy it. We stayed in a 4 beds room, but still feel good and relaxed. We will be back to Sorrento for sure, and we will stay here for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank irwinlee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    303
    79
    22
    8
See reviews for
155
345
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and were delighted with our stay. The hotel is in a good location, very close to the main piazza, station and marina so everything is within walking distance. We found the staff to be very pleasant and attentive, even advising us on our sight seeing! The room was small but suited us fine, we wanted somewhere clean and comfortable and they delivered. We had a room to the side of the hotel so the road noise was of little bother to us. My only criticism would be the coffee, it wasn't the most pleasant drink we had in Sorrento. The breakfast was far from basic, as reported in other reviews. There was plenty to choose from and every evening the lobby was filled with the smell of freshly baked cakes, ready for the next day. They also have a vast selection of drinks for very reasonable prices, from soft drinks, beer (€3!) and to spirits, available at all times. And free wifi was a definite bonus. Visit the roof terrace for an incredible view of the corso italia.

Room Tip: We were in 204, which is situated to the side. Less traffic noise but less view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma5043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Only 2 blocks from train/bus terminal, the Hotel Sorrento City was in an excellent location to enjoy Sorrento. Small rooms, but most with balconies or patios, the hotel was a most comfortable haven during our 4 days on the Amalfi Coast. Breakfast was good and service was friendly. We were only 2 blocks from the edge of the old city - the narrow laned section that had the best restaurants. Proximity to the station made bus trips to Positano and other Amalfi Coast towns simple. A grocery store literally next door for picnic supplies and water was another convenience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kfoley2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently spent a week in Hotel Sorrento City. It was our first time to visit this area of Italy and it was a wonderful place to be. The hotel is very well located, literally a two minute walk to the main square where there are plenty of restaurants and shops to keep you busy. There is a pharmacy and shopping market next door to the hotel which is handy if you need anything. The Hotel is also very close to the train/bus station where you can travel anywhere in the vicinity inexpensively.
We found the staff in reception very friendly and helpful. They spoke English very well , which was good as we did not speak any Italian. They were very willing to give you advice or information about the area and were always pleasant when you came and went for the day.
The rooms are cosy but they do have a nice balcony which was great for enjoying a glass of wine while people watching. Housekeeping do a great job as the entire hotel is spotless. We found the beds comfortable and the room had air conditioning which was nice to cool down after the hot day. The breakfast is contenental but has a good selection, cereal, fruit, breads, cold meats and sweet cakes, croissants etc. It's a great start to the day and we were happy with the selection. We didn't hear other guests from our room as others have said and the main street can be a little noisy but it never bothered us and it is a main street not the country so there is not much can be done about that.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel for location and value and a pleasant stay. If I was returning to Sorrento I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank marilynobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great location close to main square, shops, restaurants and trainstation, but rooms are very small and compact. Definitely not suitable for
a group of 3 in a triple share room. Breakfast was basic. Staff were very helpful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank deano7577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotel was central and although on a main street very little noise. It was central to the bus and train station The staff were very supportive and helpful.
The room although a little small was adequate. As we were staying for a week more storage space would have been useful. There was no noise from other residents even thought the room was next to the lift.
I would recommend liaising with the hotel direct for the best deal. If booking via an online site be aware that breakfast is probably not included.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I rely often on the Tripadvisor reviews when choosing a hotel and that's how I chose Sorrento City. This time, however, it was a huge mistake: tiny rooms where one may barely move, poorly isolated - you often feel as if being in your neighbors’ room (you may as well be tempted to participate in their conversation...), not particularly clean (I saw a recent review mentioning ants - my bathroom had them as well; fortunately I did not find any on my bed), staff very unfriendly, a number of messages pasted here and there starting with ‘it is forbidden to…’ making you feel uncomfortable and unwelcome, poor overpriced breakfast, the breakfast tablecloths (probably in order not to be changed daily...) covered with transparent greasy plastic covers. I could go on but I guess these already give an idea. I travel both for work and for leisure at least 6-7 times a year and this was my worst hotel experience ever. I wonder by what mean Sorrento City got such a high rating(?).
Anyway - I learned that I need to double-check the lowest rating reviews before booking.

Room Tip: Check carefully the lowest rating reviews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelingtheworld01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sorrentocity, Direttore at Hotel Sorrento City, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Sir, when I read your review about the hotel Sorrento City, my reaction was great astonishment! Not for your disappointing , it is your right to appreciate or not the hotel where you are going to stay and you choose it thanks to all the other customers reviews. All of them are now in opposition to your opinion...In any case we write some advices in order to prevent our customers safety, for the example in the breakfast room it is forbidden the use of the oven , as it is dangerous ! You could burn or take high voltage electricity! it is in fact just used by the staff for preparing fresh breakfast every morning… Our breakfast has fresh cakes, muffins, a big variety of season fruit (like Sorrento oranges, peaches, water melon, plums) , four different kinds of bread, croissants, corn flakes, muesli, cheese, ham etc etc etc
Regarding my staff and cleanness I prefer to reply with all the other reviews
Best regards
Roberta Di Leva
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#33 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#44 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#13 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mignon Meuble
Hotel Mignon Meuble
#29 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#22 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorrento City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento City

Property: Hotel Sorrento City
Address: Corso Italia 221, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorrento City 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Sorrento, Sorrento City Hotel is a boutique hotel a short walk to Piazza Tasso: a living room to live the harmony of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality; a hotel, completely refurbished, which was the first Maison Meublè built in 50’s, where you can spend days of pure wonder. Style and elegance, prime quality of service and discretion make this hotel a symbol of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sorrento City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing