We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verify Room In Writing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento City
Ranked #46 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at the Sorrento City in September. The plus it has going for it, it is very clean, in the center of Sorrento and has a good breakfast, plus the staff is good. However the bad is, they show views of the main street of Sorrento as the view you will receive on their web site and when we checked in our view was of a wall of a small court yard. When we spoke to the front desk they told us since we had only booked two nights we could not get the view as it was being used for guests with longer stays and we could not move rooms as the hotel was booked. In addition. after looking again at their web site, it states in very very small print the view is not for all rooms. One last item, there was the smell of cleaning fluids used for the hotel coming up the stairs to our room and it was not good. The price of the Sorrento compared to other hotels in the area was ok but will pass on this place if in Sorrento again because of the view situation and the smell.

Room Tip: Stay away from where the cleaning supplies are stored! Make sure you request in writing the view you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 809 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

This small hotel was meticulous and located in a perfect place. We could walk everywhere, including the train station. The breakfast was quite nice, especially Teresa's home baked cakes! We had a nice balcony on the street and the price was very reasonable. The staff was very helpful and all spoke excellent English. The beds were typically Italian and way too hard for my taste, but the pillows were nice. Connecting to the wi-fi was sometimes frustratiing but it was free and in our room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We also found this hotel through Trip Advisor and like other reviewers were certainly not disappointed. We stayed for 5 nights and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others and look forward to a return stay. Sometimes I wonder what makes a property so memorable. After all, there are many hotels with comaprable amenities. Long after I have forgotten the delicious breakfasts, the friendly and helpful staff, the clean and comfortable room etc. I shall never forget Theresa. Theresa, whose lovely smile and caring ways could serve as a model for all of us who have to work with the public, not an easy task. Theresa is the public "face" of the Hotel Sorrento City. A warm welcome goes a long way, thanks Theresa. Also a thanks to the gentleman at the desk one night who when told by my husband that I had a bad cold, offered to make me hot tea with lemon. By the way, a visit to the local hospital confirmed that I had influenza-fever, chills, wicked cough etc. It rained most of the time that we were in Sorrento. The Circumvesuviana to Naples, Pompeii and Ercolano was hot, stuffy and sardine packed BUT I was still happy at Hotel Sorrento City!

Room Tip: Our room (with tiny balcony) faced the main street but even on a busy Fri and Sat evening it was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fornelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We just came back from a wonderful break in Sorrento, based in this hotel. We are a family with 2 children of less than 10 year old and found the hotel was ideal for all our explorations during the 5 days we stayed there. The room was a quadruple room, of sufficient size (bunk bed for the kids and double bed for us) very clean and the breakfast was good with sufficient variety. The hotel is only a couple of minutes walking from the Circumvenusiana station where you can catch a train to Pompei or Herculanum very easily and also a short walk from the harbor for the ferries to Capri and very central if you are looking to just enjoy a stroll in the old streets of Sorrento. The staff was very friendly and we really enjoyed it there. In summary, a good hotel from where to explore.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SebastienLondon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I found this hotel through tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. We stayed here for 3 nights, from 10/20/12-10/23/12. The staff was friendly, our room was very clean, breakfast was great, the location is perfect, and many restaurants and bars are nearby. It's less than a 5 minute walk to get to/from the train station to the hotel. This made visiting Pompeii easy. You can catch a bus in front of the train station to go down the Amalfi Coast. We took the bus to Amalfi, and a ferry back. The hotel provided us with the ferry schedule before we left. We were in a room facing the front of the hotel. Our room had a small balcony and it overlooked a busy street. The street can be noisy when you are on the balcony, but we had no problem with the noise when we shut the door. We didn't mind that our room overlooked the street. It was nice. They bake at least some of what will be available for breakfast in the afternoon. The lobby smells absolutely wonderful when they are baking! The hotel offers dinner at a nearby restaurant(s) for one or more nights of your stay. We prebooked dinner for the first night of our stay. We enjoyed the restaurant they sent us to (maybe a 10 min. walk), and noticed we received a better price through the hotel than we would of had we went there on our own. If you decide to book a dinner you will need to pay for your dinner with Euros when you check out. It's not automatically put on your credit card. There is a bus you can catch at the train station for 10E pp that will take you directly to Naples airport. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We liked the rooms facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Right around the corner from the Circumvesuvio rail line & easy walking distance to everything. I would stay there again without hesitation. Breakfast was great. The rooms we had, 3 of them all had patios.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alpnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I have to agree with the previous reviews complimenting this hotel for location, service (especially Teresa), and just the hotel in general. It was nice having the fridge in the room and we so much enjoyed sitting on the small balcony and drinking wine while watching the pedestrians below. We liked just about everything about this hotel, so it would be easier to say what we didn't like.

We arrived on a Saturday and I noticed that there was a lot of noise from the street. I asked at the desk what time the shops close and was told about 9:00. I thought things would quiet down after that, but it never did. It stayed noisy until the wee hours of the morning. I had planned on wearing ear plugs the next night, but it was not necessary. It was very quiet on Sunday night. I guess the late nights are just a weekend thing.

The breakfast was very good with a good variety of food, BUT the coffee was terrible. There is a machine and you just press the button for what you want, but no matter what our choice, it was awful. We wound up going to the coffee shop next door for coffee.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. Just be aware of the things I mentioned.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KYWoman1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorrento City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento City

Address: Corso Italia 221, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $71 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorrento City 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Sorrento, Sorrento City Hotel is a boutique hotel a short walk to Piazza Tasso: a living room to live the harmony of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality; a hotel, completely refurbished, which was the first Maison Meublè built in 50’s, where you can spend days of pure wonder. Style and elegance, prime quality of service and discretion make this hotel a symbol of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sorrento City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing