We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way/family of 5”
Review of La Magnolia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Magnolia
Ranked #34 of 134 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way/family of 5”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We immediately told ourselves 'good job' when we arrived and saw the accommodations. It is quaint, spotless, nicely decorated, friendly and informative innkeeper, beautiful furnishings and bathrooms. The innkeeper provided local maps, information, directions, umbrella on our rainy day, and a wonderful breakfast on the patio. On the rainy morning, he delivered our breakfast on trays to our rooms. We had a car that he whisked away and parked for a reasonable fee. Very convenient to shopping, sights, restaurants and the train/bus station. We easily took train to Pompeii, Naples and the bus to Amalfi. We were a family of 5 and the accommodations suited us perfectly. We are from Michigan, USA.

Room Tip: We had the two rooms behind the front desk; they were private and yet the five of us could easily be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    70
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
42
149
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This B&B is situated right on Sorrento's main square, making it convenient for you to explore almost everything on foot. The rooms are nice, quite spacious and are kept clean every day with fresh towels. The furniture is "traditional", beautiful and decorated with inlaid wood, but need an update, at least in the room where we stayed, where the bed was really creaky. Wifi signal was good and free. Cannot comment on breakfast as we did not have one. Not a hotel's fault but parking in the car-park next to the hotel is very very expensive, even by Sorrento standards. The hotel operators are really friendly and will sincerely try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We would recommend La Manoglia and definitely will come back when in beautiful Sorrento.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripdreamer1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in la magnolia for two nights last September before moving down the coast for our main holiday! Although it is literally off the main square once the gates to the property were closed it was very quiet. The standards rooms are clean and adequate for a short stay but if you wanted to stay longer it's worth upgrading. The breakfast is expensive but if you don't know your way around sorrento probably worth paying for. We know sorrento well so just went to our usual haunts for coffee & croissant! Absolutely recommend this small but perfectly situated guest house as a base for exploring the area!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgieannjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lot-et-Garonne
Level Contributor
400 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The location is superb - a few minutes walk from everything. Our two (quiet) rooms were outstanding, leading on to the terrace, but other reviewers warn that these are the rooms you want, and others are dark. Decor and fit-out excellent. Hospitality great. Security great. We considered ourselves very fortunate to have struck this place. Having said all that, I'd call it a B&B, not a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Had the most magnificent stay at La Magnolia thanks to Jenny and Carlo (the owners). Close to everything (train station, shops, restaurants, main bus stop etc). A beautiful B&B.

Carlo and Jenny couldn't do enough to make my stay any more wonderful. I informed Carlo of what I wanted to do in the 2 days I was there (was on a time limit to get back home for an interview) and he organised everything by contacting a friend who own's 'Aldo Limos'. Spent a wonderful day in the hands of a very experienced local being driven around the whole island and stopping at points along the way to teach me about the local area. Highly recommend this excursion as the car can reach all the places that the buses can't. The driver was wonderful, knowledgeable, very polite and professional.

Will definitely be back for a longer stay at La Magnolia in the near future. The B & B had everything you need and more. The beds were comfy and the rooms lovely. The staff so helpful and the owners bellissimo!

Thank you for everything Carlo and Jenny! See you again very soon!

Room Tip: I didn't have a balcony but there are rooms with them so I would be inclined to ask for one. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrsulaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The accommodation can be reached walking from the train station in Sorrento. On exiting the train station go straight to the main street and turn left walking to Piazza Tasso. Turn left again at Piazza Tasso. La magnolia is 100mts approx after turning.
This secure premise requires a key to open outer gate, another to enter premises and finally a key to open bedroom door. The room was standard, very clean with a/c and mini bar but did have access to a terrace where breakfast was served each morning. Breakfast was basic, juice with tea/coffee and “fresh” croissant and bread. Paulo and Titianna were at hand only in the morning to assist with any request for information that you may have. However they were very happy to provide assistance when asked. Free Wi-Fi made life much easier and signal was very strong.
La Magnolia is in a perfect location next to Piazza Tasso but you will not have a view of the sea if this is a prerequisite. Access to local transport, the town and sights are all within easy walking distance. A few restaurants worth noting:
1) The Foreigners Club for lunch with a spectacular view
2) Da Gigino for dinner
3) Fauno Tasso for a late night drink.
Would return to La Magnolia because of its location but as our visit was in October/November did not have to make the journey to the beach or the return on a hot summer’s day. This is of course true of all accommodation which does not have a swimming pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank olivermccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for a wedding, 2 lovely nights. This is a very central calm oasis of a hotel, we arrived on a hot, busy day. Behind the gate was a quiet shady haven. They were friendly, helpful and very hospitable. The room was lovely, clean and beautifully appointed. Breakfast on the pretty terrace was delicious, fresh and got us ready for the day ahead. I would love to visit sorrento again, and would certainly stay here again, an absoulte find.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arubaant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Abagnale
Palazzo Abagnale
#30 of 134 in Sorrento
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agora Apartments
Agora Apartments
#22 of 68 in Sorrento
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piazza Tasso B&B
Piazza Tasso B&B
#15 of 134 in Sorrento
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Sorrentina
Casa Sorrentina
#17 of 134 in Sorrento
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Relais La Rupe
Relais La Rupe
#5 of 68 in Sorrento
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Giardino Segreto
Il Giardino Segreto
#32 of 134 in Sorrento
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Magnolia

Property: La Magnolia
Address: Viale Enrico Caruso 14, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — La Magnolia 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your La Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Magnolia Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing