We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop Looking... You will not find better!”
Review of La Magnolia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Magnolia
Ranked #39 of 139 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stop Looking... You will not find better!”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Magnolia is truly a credit to its owner Carlo... and an absolute steal for the price! Beautiful rooms right in the heart of Sorrento, yet so tranquil and inviting. The rooms were huge and tastefully decorated. Breakfasts on the terrace under umbrellas and fruit trees were a real treat, with the wonderful owner Carlo serving freshly brewed coffee just the way you like it and an assortment of pastries and crossaints still warm from the bakery. Having stayed at many hotels and b&b's across Italy and Europe, we cannot recommend this highly enough for position, presentation, value for money and good old fashioned service. Carlo was so friendly and helpful, and he went out of his way to make us feel at home - even racing out to buy a small gift before we left when he learned it was my mum's birthday. We stayed 3 nights and would have been disappointed if we had stayed outside of town as you cannot walk down to the harbour or enjoy the restaurants, as the road is too narrow and steep. You need to base yourself in Sorrento itself to easily catch the ferries to Capri and the buses along the Amafi Coastline. (Hint: look for the green wrought iron gate next to the fruit stall.) La Magnolia and our host Carlo made our stay in Sorrento truly memorable. Viva La Magnolia!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank europeandelight2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    71
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
42
151
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I only stayed for one night but Carlo was great as I made a mistake in making my reservation but he was very good about it. The room was beautiful. I could not of asked for anything better. I did not try the breakfast as I was in a rush to catch the bus to Amalfi.

Room Tip: If you leave early to catch the bus you might want to find out about leaving early as no one will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomS0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore NSW Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

An excellent recommendation from our daughter to stay at La Magnolia in Sorrento. As we drove to La Magnolia Carlo, the owner-host patiently gave us directions by cell-phone. He was there to greet us, parked the car and two days later returned the car to us in front of La Magnolia. Parking is expensive in Sorrento but Carlo organised safe parking and at a reasonable rate. Rooms are spacious with a feel of the ambience of Sorrento. Breakfast is generous and sitting under the lemon tree with a large fig tree as background there is a sense of magic because outside the green gate of La Magnolia is the bustling Tasso Piazza of Sorrento. Peace and serenity surrounded by joyous holiday makers. Visiting Pompeii from here is so easy as the Train Station is less than ten minutes walk from La Magnolia and Pompeii is only 40 minutes by train. Carlo gives excellent advice on where to eat. We must return and visit Capri but La Magnolia is a delightful place to stay wherever you choose to go in and around Sorrento. We were two couples from Australia. Thank you Carlo from the Aussies and the Kiwis.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed here recently and have to say its a lovely quiet place to say. Carlo the owner is very helpful indeed, and speaks good english. the rooms and bathrooms were to a very high standard, the breakfast is continental but very good. its in a great postion in Sorrento just by the main square. really enjoyed our stay here thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timbournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

My friend n I chose La Magnolia at random after we were given a few names by a staff at the Sorrento's tourist info centre. And, I hv to say that we were very lucky. It was a pretty n quiet little place. Though we only stayed one night, Carlo, was the perfect host. He was friendly n genuinely nice. Upon checking in, he gave us his card n told us to call him anytime if we were ever in any kind of trouble during our stay in Sorrento. The room n toilet was very clean. We had a really pleasant stay n hope to return soon!
SLian
Malaysia

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My daughter and I have just completed a lovely stay at Carlo's La Magnolia.

La Magnolia is very clean and secure, and has a cute terrace for breakfast. It is located very close to the train station, less than a 10 minute walk, just straight out of station entrance, turn left and at the piazza another left turn, then it's just a few doors away, just before the car park. Although it is located just above a busy street, the double glazed windows made the room quite quiet. I certainly had no problems at all with traffic noise.

Carlo is friendly and very helpful - long before we arrived he had emailed me a schedule of the Circumvesuviana train when I asked about train times - it was our first visit to Sorrento. Then, when due to unforeseen circumstances, our arrival was delayed by a day, and we arrived at night, later than our estimated arrival time, he was most accommodating and communicative, and on his cell phone to give us directions to his place.

Upon arrival, Carlo gave us a Sorrento booklet containing information maps and bus schedules, and recommendations for places to go for meals. The next morning he arrived with pastries and made orange juice and hot drinks for us.

He was also very accommodating with allowing us to leave our things until we were ready to depart from Sorrento.

Grazie mille Carlo for a lovely stay. We will definitely stay at your lovely place again the next time we are in Sorrento.

Room Tip: This is a bnb so please do not expect 24 hour reception and hotel facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seniorOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The best thing about La Magnolia is its close location to the square and where all the action is. It is also a walking distance from the port and from the train station.
The room for modern styled and equipped with everything you may need except for an iron. It is spacious considering it is B&B room. The whole place was clean and neat.
Carlo runs the place and was very helpful and cooperative. We arrived late and waited until he made sure we had everything we need. The breakfast was more than expected in terms of portions and variety.
I recommend La Magnolia and see that it is excellent in B&B standards.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mazen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agora Apartments
Agora Apartments
#23 of 71 in Sorrento
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piazza Tasso B&B
Piazza Tasso B&B
#15 of 139 in Sorrento
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Dominova Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Starace Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Sorrento Flats
Sorrento Flats
#6 of 139 in Sorrento
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Magnolia

Property: La Magnolia
Address: Viale Enrico Caruso 14, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — La Magnolia 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Magnolia Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing