We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Residenza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Residenza
Ranked #86 of 98 Hotels in Sorrento
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Rooms are just OK. Air conditional offered little comfort and was out of service one night.
The lovely pool closes at 6PM for some unknown reason. The property is lush and the view (where breakfast is served) is stunning. With that said I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimnsyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    54
    27
    23
    20
See reviews for
23
65
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed here from September 4th until September 10th. The breakfast was great- overlooking the water with views of Vesuvius. Stunning way to start your day. Its included in yoir reaervation. Huge buffet. There are two hotels here- La Residenza and Parco Dei Principi with the latter being the more upscale. I stayed at La Residenza which I felt was excellent with all the amenities of staying next door at a much better price.

The staff were like family and I was sad to leave them, Elvira, Maddalena worked during the day and spoke excellent English. The night attendant was Sergio who I became good friends with because of my fusorario (jet lag). He also speaks great English and is very professional as well as being a nice guy.

I cannot say anything bad about this hotel. The only thing I can think of is that it's about a 15 minute walk to the center of town. I enjoyed the walk and used it as my excuse to pig out on pizza, pasta and Fish and Chips at the English Inn. (yes I ate fish and chips in Italy and they were the best I've ever had) that being said, if you dont want to walk it, there are taxis ready to take you to the center of town for between 12 and 15 Euros.

All in all I give it 5 stars. Even the lady who cleaned my room was an absolute sweetheart. I left my gold necklace out one day and it was fine. In addition you could eat off the floors.

I will definitely be back there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aaroncaruso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Ok so this is a very satisfactory hotel however the rating reflects the value and not the facilities. It's quite acceptable so don't get me wrong but the room has basic furnishing no lounge or bar, and you have to walk to the sister hotel for such. I would recommend the Hotel principally as it represents such good value and you need to keep reminding yourself of that.
A sensible 20 minute walk into town which we enjoyed but you need to bear in mind if mobility is a problem and don't expect pavements throughout.
The sister hotel whose facilities you share has excellent has excellent views of the coast, a great sea water pool and an atmospheric verandah to sit and read whilst admiring the panorama.
Enjoy the savings and keep reminding yourself how much you have saved and you will see this Hotel in a positive manner. Would we return here? Not sure if I'd pay for a more luxurious room next time!

Room Tip: Always pay for a view of the gardens as the street rooms must be very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is very good hotel for family vacations. There's very calm atmosphere, beautiful view, tidy rooms and friendly staff. I would strongly recommend it for everyone. We were staying in La Residenza, but was possible to feel like in 5 stars hotel. They have very good restaurant with very tasty breakfast and diner. We liked the swimming pool. Children don't disturb. In the evening they have music on the terrace with a beautiful view on the sea. Sometimes they invite singers. Everything was so perfect!
Another plus for us was that this hotel was not in the centre of Sorrento (10 mins by foot). In the centre it's too noisy. But if you want to go out it's not so far.
I would recommend a restaurant in the hotel 'a la carte'. Another restaurant we liked was Ciao Toto. It's 7 mins from the hotel.
You will never regret about choosing this hotel!

Just some tips: always ask the rooms with a view on the park (not on the street). It's important! They have very expensive beach. Better to pay in advance through your agency. Will be much cheaper. If you didn't do this you can use free beach near the hotel (5 mins by foot). You should go to the left side from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenaMalevich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights to attend a friends wedding which was 100yrds down the road. So for us the location was perfect. Sorrento square was a 20 min walk of 5 min taxi. Prices of the taxi changes depending on time of day. I think before 7 it's around €15 and after it was about €25. Our room was big with large bathroom with bath and shower. It overlooked the road but when the doors were closed you could not hear the traffic. The pool bar is very pricy but we just got supplies from shop. At times there would be about 20 of us around the pool. Breakfast was good, especially the sea view. Had a good few meals in sorrento town. Check out was easy and fast. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonHolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Having been advised that the hotel was 'recently refurbished' we were expecting a lot more than what we got. In no way has this place been refurbished, rooms are old and tired, the shower was moldy with the door seals missing and the shower literally only dripping water, communal area walls were crumbling in places and the lift was so small we had to go up separately.
We were put in a room at the front of the building right on a busy road and the windows do nothing to block out the noise, there is no chance of any sleep staying at the front, it was so bad we asked to be moved at the earliest opportunity. The staff were not very helpful and seemed quite upset at our polite request to try and get some sleep!
Breakfast is served in the hotel next door, which was of very poor quality. The pool is nice and clean but the area closes at 6pm, the drinks from the bar are extortionate prices, 5euros for a can of coke so we got supplies from town and paid 69cents for the same thing.
The hotel is situated on the outskirts of town so its a 30 minute walk into the nice area where all of the bars and restaurants are located. The hotel 'beach' is tiny and mainly rock and costs 20euro a day so didn't seem worth it.
Considering the 4 star hotel we were in, in Naples, this place should be rated as 2 star nothing more. I really would recommend spending your money elsewhere as the rates were not low enough for the standard of this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sorrento hotels

Roma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The garden is beautiful. This is the most impressive thing of the hotel.
It's very clean, the staff is gentle and helpful.
The pool is GREAT.. they have 2: one at La Residenza and one 100mt away, near the Parco building. The second is really impressive, sea view...
The food is normal, not bad, not great. Maybe in south Italy I had better food, but it's fresh, good taste... just a little bit usual.
If you consider the rate, the hotel is very very good!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luigi_Visit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Hotel Parco dei Principi
#42 of 98 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 stars 817 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#74 of 98 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Miramare
Hotel Residence Miramare
#64 of 98 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Igea
Hotel Villa Igea
#84 of 98 in Sorrento
3.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zi Teresa
Hotel Zi Teresa
#59 of 98 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nice
Hotel Nice
#70 of 98 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Residenza

Property: Hotel La Residenza
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 44 | On the grounds of Hotel Parco dei Principi, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Residenza 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four stars for La Residenza Sorrento , part of the tourist complex of the Parco dei Principi, which refers to the facade. Immersed in the green of the spectacular botanical park of 27 thousand square meters , is surrounded by oak trees, plants of the Mediterranean tradition and rare trees . Spacious and functional , the 81 rooms have ceramic floors decorated by hand based on the original drawings of the tradition of Vietri with bright patterns in shades of blue sea, yellow and green of the park. For a relaxing stay for guests of the Hotel Lounge Bar , the charming rooftop terrace majolica and the marble of the eighteenth-century Villa Cortchacow , the restaurant Gio Ponti incredible view of the Gulf and the infinite , during the summer season , Syracuse Poggio restaurant , private beach , the cliffs and the extraordinary pool of sea water with sun terrace and pool bar . The Hotel La Residenza has a number of adjustable meeting rooms equipped with free wi-fi and innovative technology conference ; the wide and spacious dining Leonardo with a capacity of 350 seats is surrounded by the garden Bourbon with the opportunity to play coffee break outdoors. Not far from the center of Sorrento , easily reachable on foot or by shuttle , La Residenza is an ideal starting point for exploring the Sorrento coast and the nearby Amalfi Coast, take walks through the typical craft shops and luxury shopping streets of center of Sorrento, visit the island of Capri and the archaeological sites of Pompeii and Herculaneum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Residenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Sorrento
La Residenza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing