We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Residenza
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
$617
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel del Mare(Sorrento)
$189
$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$475
$449
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$198
$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$407
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$437
$409
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$234
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
$100
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$354
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Aminta(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
$301
$281
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
31
78
37
27
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
78
37
27
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelbig compoundroom service isflat walkworked perfectlyprivate beachamazing viewsgood sizethe hotel is cleansea viewbay of naplesparcotaxieurosglobusbalconytown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 195 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Do not be put off by other reviews! returned yesterday from weeks stay at this hotel and had amazing holiday. lovely room,spacious and clean with big bathroom. Balconey overlooking beautiful gardens was peaceful. Only one minute stroll through grounds to gorgeous pool with helpful staff always ready to find us sunbeds and hand out clean towels.The view from terrace one of best in sorrento and we used beach area for free. The walk into sorrento takes ten mins and we enjoyed finding new places to visit on the way. If you can take bus trip to Positano for the day (only 7,20 euros from bus station) the coastline takes your breath away and it is totally gorgeous place with best beach in area. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Make sure you request a park view room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Taleb1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

How this hotel received a 4* rating is beyond belief.
First impressions really do count.
The hotel is reminicent of tenement block from the ukraine and painted in a cold pale green/grey.
There is no sign above or outside the hotel (you enter through the very palatial gates of the 5* hotel next door)
A single halogen light aove the entrance greets you in the evening dusk - receptionist confirmed yes this is the hotel La Residenza.
Reception area does not contain any paraphanalia, leaflets, tourist information it is totally devoid of any indication you are in a 3* hotel - let alone 4*.(Although the receptionist will answer any questions you may have)
No bar or lounge facilities.
Breakfast very basic eaten in a atmosphere of "condemmed guests/prisoners".

The rooms are very clean and more than adequate (balcony furniture plastic garden table was absolutely filthy (put cover over it)

The grounds of the hotel ..are beautiful and maintained constantly by a multitude of staff (maybe this and the adjoining 5* hotel contributed to the current 4* rating).

In summary: The Hotel gives the impression it is the accomodation quarters for the staff/workers from the adjacent 5* hotel.

Room Tip: In summary; If you are simply looking for a comfortable clean room, this is for you. Front rooms.balcony overlooks carpark/road
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review, guest comments are very important for us in order to improve our services, but we are very sorry that the stay was not up to your expectation. We are sorry that you didn’t like the hotel. We want to emphasize that La Residenza has many facilities: swimming pool, private beach, restaurant, bar and parking. Moreover we want to inform you that during the stay a Duty Manager is available to solve any problem and make your stay more comfortable. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to show you that all the negative aspects that you noticed don’t correspond to our standard.
Kind Regards

Customer Care
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We found the hotel more than adequate and the nice little terrace for breakfast (only) among the trees was very peaceful. The surrounding gardens with parco di prncipi were very nice and the pool area relaxing and enjoyable (it is connected). The rooms were fine and clean.

The only negative was it is a little way from the town centre but there is a bus stop nearby that runs into town. Just be careful coming back at night you get the right bus that goes the same route as we found the buses changed routes in the evening. Hotel staff did assist us so after 1 mistake we ken the system.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hammercounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last week and the above photographs are a complete and utter misrepresentation of the facilities. This hotel has no cooking, no bar, no restaurant and no swimming pool other than the use of such facilities at an adjacent hotel owned by the same chain. It was the most soleless, boring and miserable hotel we have ever stayed in. The flies ate more of the breakfast each morning than the guests and much was wasted and not even fit for animal feed.

There are definitely no sea views, unless you are able to scale the side of the skeletal building, which is reminiscent of an multi-storey car park, then clamber onto the roof, and stand on a box on tip toe!!

We would rate this hotel comparable with a 2 star B+B with less atmosphere, no personalised service and apart from the reception staff, most were lacking any personality or enthusiasm; probably because they were fed up with being in the second class annex of the neighboring hotel, with all the amenities.

We would not advise anyone seeking more than a clean bed for one night only, to frequent this poor example, attempting to present itself as a Hotel.

To summarise this so called Hotel is more like the Marie Celeste

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you have to and then, no more than one night and avoid the breakfast which you are much better off seeking elsewhere.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Public Relations Manager at Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review, guest comments are very important for us in order to improve our services, but we are very sorry that the stay was not up to your expectation.
We want to underline the hotel is set in a wonderful botanical park and we want to remind that for the guest of La Residenza, many services are available in the adjoining five stars hotel designed by Gio Ponti “Parco dei Principi” (for example the swimming pool).
Moreover we want to inform you that during the stay a Duty Manager is available to solve any problem and make your stay more comfortable.
We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to show you that all the negative aspects that you noticed don’t correspond to our standard.

Kind Regards

Customer Care
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We were 3 Pensioners travelling Italy by Rail,Bus and Taxi and we chose this hotel for it's price although we had read some unsavoury reviews before hand.

Maybe the reviews were old but we couldn't fault the accomodation or staff at all, they were excellent.

The rooms were fine, clean and comfortable and the only time we had a problem with breakfast was when we follwed closely behind a coach party that had just left, but the food was quickly replaced with no problems. I think sometimes, as with most people it depends how you treat them.

This hotel doesn't have it's own restaurant but it is only a stroll through the beautiful gardens to the sister hotel overlooking the bay. The menu can be a bit pricey but the food is good.

If you want to eat out we found a really good restaurant within walking distance.
La Terrazza, again overlooking the bay with really good food.

Turn left out of the gate and walk until you have to turn left or right.... Turn left and walk down the hill until you have to turn right and the restaurant is just there on your left.

Approx 15 mins walk, and we were 'oldies' in our 60's and 70's

Oh! if you are like us and arrive by train it is best to get a taxi to the hotel... 15 euros but well worth it.

Really Good Place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews