We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Time"”
Review of Hotel La Residenza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Residenza
Ranked #86 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Merseyside
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“"Great Time"”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

After some of the reviews, we wondered what sort of hotel we were going to! But were very surprised,Very clean,and the rooms were fine,. Breakfast was adequate, all continental, with omelette type eggs and sausages for the 'Brits'.All nicely served,we stayed half-board,and the evening meal was ok.if a bit limited, but we ate on the terrace, which was lovely..The Maitre'd Franchesco was very helpful and attentive.The hotel has another hotel in the grounds, but you can use both facilities,. Drinks very pricey though! Only 15mins walk from centre of Sorrento,which is definately worth going to for a holiday.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back of the hotel,sun and view of the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SuzyqueMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    68
    33
    26
    21
See reviews for
31
77
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Last year's reviews were not great, but I found this hotel to be clean. I know they went through a renovation over the winter.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CloGam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renwick, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on the second part of an Italian holiday with Titan Tours - never again. The reception area appeared lacklustre and had the aura of a Eastern Block hotel - devoid of colour and warmth. Check in took ages and the room keys had to be given to our tour rep who then had to hand them to us - what a waste of time when we just wanted to get to our rooms and freshen up after a long bus journey. There was no room service or any information in the rooms as to facilities available. The first room we were allocated smelt strongly of cigarette smoke as soon as we opened the door - we were then re- allocated another room which, on the surface, appeared ok. However the counterpane on the bed had stains on it and when I the looked at the mattress cover I found 3 stains and human hair - oh dear!!! My husband complained and we were afforded all clean bed linen pretty promptly but this should never have happened in the first place in a 4 star hotel. The bathroom was actually quite clean but very dated and with some mould on the tile grouting. The restaurant was a walk through the very well kept gardens (in all weathers!) and was in the 5 star part of the hotel. At dinner time we were herded, as a group, into a second dining area and had a very unimaginative meal with NO choice - we do not eat meat and the hotel had been informed of our dietary requirements and, eventually, gave us pasta with congealed cheese sauce. The waiters were totally unfriendly and, after some confusion with the price that we were charged for water, the manager arrived - this man was completely objectionable, confrontational and rude to say the least. We eventually ended up eating out for the other 3 nights that we were here which was hugely disappointing and expensive, although we had first class food in downtown Sorrento and with excellent and friendly service.
Our thoughts on this hotel lead us to believe that they are quite happy to take tours but treat them as second class citizens and it is most certainly not value for money in this beautiful city. This holiday was meant to be a special occasion - our joint retirement and 35th wedding anniversay - this hotel made us feel less than welcome on all counts and totally spoilt the ambience for us.
On our return home we did make observations to Titan Tours, as did quite a few other members of the tour. We received a small amount of compensation £75 which certainly did not reflect the disappointment we felt in this hotel and the amount that we paid for the holiday. Titan Tours have apologised but I cannot believe that their representative in Sorrento deemed this hotel 4 star - he/she must have been having a really bad day.
Titan Tours assured us that they would be looking in to the likliehood of using this hotel again but we do feel that such a first class tour company (we have used them before and been very happy with them) have not really compensated us adequately - we would certainly be very selective on our next big holiday this year and will probably use another company. Very sad.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pammy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sorrento hotels

Alcester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2009

This Hotel has no dining room, no bar,no lounge except a few chairs etc. in the reception area. The outside swimming pool was empty and partly full of rubbish. We ate in the 5 star Hotel nearby, part of the Group. The food was very very basic and the staff were not welcoming. They were obviously not prepared for Groups and the so called service etc became worse over the four days we had to stay. We were glad to escape.I have travelled abroad, mainly in Europe, over the past 15 years, and this so called Hotel is the worst one I can recall.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alcesterwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gford
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We booked through the easyjet website - which only showed views from the 5* hotel on the same site. The hotel is situated on a park - the grounds are beautifully manicured. The 5* hotel is located at the cliff/sea end of the site, whilst the Residenza is based near the entrance by the road. I understand that the rooms at the back of the hotel do have views over the grounds. There was no restaurant at the Residenza (although the hotel web site says there is!) just a dining room for breakfast. Any other food on the park grounds was served at the 5* hotel. There was no room service menu (although the hotel website says that room service is offered), no kettle in the room, no information of the hotel, it's site or the facilities. We were only allowed to use the pool by the Residenza - mosiquito repellent a must - very grumpy lifeguard/pool attendant. Access to the hotel beach €35 per head per day at the weekend, €25 per head per day on week days. There is a beach restaurant which generally has reasonable food - but our most disappointing was €24 for 3 small prawns. The food at the 5* hotel was sometimes good, although I wouldn't say exceptional - we did have lobster which was very over cooked. The rooms are clean but functional. We paid more there for 4* (I would rate them 2*) than we have paid elsewhere for 5* and the service just isn't there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

The rudest staff, the filthiest public areas, breakfast in a country with the most wonderful produce was tinned fruit cocktail, plastic ham, plastic cheese and even poor coffee, in italy!!!
Food left overs were left in the lift area for 3 days.
Yuk
This was the most miserable 5 days of holiday we have ever spent. we were supposed to be in the disgusting villa on site that we had booked which was furnished from a junk shop and was even dirtier than this place, so bad we refused to stay there.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone, you can find better. Please try so you don't have your holiday ruined.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnonWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2008

Under no circumstances should you bother staying at this hotel. The 'Lifeguard' has to be one of the rudest people I have ever met on my travels. The lack of facilities is astonishing - restaurant was only open for breakfast - no food available after 10 a.m.
The staff on reception did nothing to promote tourism in Sorrento and were very unhelpful with general information regarding buses etc.
The only friendly face we witnessed was the lady cleaning the rooms and she also did a very good job.
I cannot understand how this establishment manages to hold four stars??? When was it last assessed?
Will definitely visit Sorrento again but would rather sleep rough at the bus station than stay here!!!

  • Liked — Checking out.
  • Disliked — The Lifeguard's attitude.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShinKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Hotel Parco dei Principi
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
959 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#84 of 100 in Sorrento
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#71 of 100 in Sorrento
626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
445 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Di Sorrento
Hotel Villa Di Sorrento
#80 of 100 in Sorrento
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Residenza

Property: Hotel La Residenza
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 44 | On the grounds of Hotel Parco dei Principi, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Residenza 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four stars for La Residenza Sorrento , part of the tourist complex of the Parco dei Principi, which refers to the facade. Immersed in the green of the spectacular botanical park of 27 thousand square meters , is surrounded by oak trees, plants of the Mediterranean tradition and rare trees . Spacious and functional , the 81 rooms have ceramic floors decorated by hand based on the original drawings of the tradition of Vietri with bright patterns in shades of blue sea, yellow and green of the park. For a relaxing stay for guests of the Hotel Lounge Bar , the charming rooftop terrace majolica and the marble of the eighteenth-century Villa Cortchacow , the restaurant Gio Ponti incredible view of the Gulf and the infinite , during the summer season , Syracuse Poggio restaurant , private beach , the cliffs and the extraordinary pool of sea water with sun terrace and pool bar . The Hotel La Residenza has a number of adjustable meeting rooms equipped with free wi-fi and innovative technology conference ; the wide and spacious dining Leonardo with a capacity of 350 seats is surrounded by the garden Bourbon with the opportunity to play coffee break outdoors. Not far from the center of Sorrento , easily reachable on foot or by shuttle , La Residenza is an ideal starting point for exploring the Sorrento coast and the nearby Amalfi Coast, take walks through the typical craft shops and luxury shopping streets of center of Sorrento, visit the island of Capri and the archaeological sites of Pompeii and Herculaneum. Beach and swimming pool are open on summer months. The access is allowed from checkin time until check out time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Residenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Sorrento
La Residenza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing