We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Girasole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Girasole
Ranked #61 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great value hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

stayed at the girasole in july when our son got married in sorrento. we booked through an agent on the internet but dealt directly with the hotel when we needed to downsize our room as our daughter had to cancel her trip.this was not a problem, they even gave us a choice of room. we opted for a garden room which we thought would be quieter as the hotel is on a busy main road.although i can,t say i found it particularly noisy at night.

the room was nice and clean, linen changed daily. excellent air conditioning and the window shutters keep the light out in the morning! although the brochures say there is a hairdryer in the room, ladies i would reccommend taking your own as the ones in the rooms are a bit like a hoover nozzle!! not very good for styling.

the pool was really nice and it didn,t seem to get too busy, considering the time of year. the snack bar was handy .

the hotel is about a 25 minute walk from the main piazza in sorrento. although we had our car with us, we found it easier to walk as the roads are on a one-way system and parking is a bit limited in the main areas. besides, it helps to burn up afew calories after all that fabulous pasta and pizza!!

all in all, the girasole is a great little family run hotel. the staff are really friendly and helpful. nothing seems to be too much trouble for them. they even provided a room at short notice for our son on the night before his wedding.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff and great views
  • Disliked — there was nothing not to like
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TedBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    187
    53
    25
    11
See reviews for
121
294
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2007

we stayed at the girasole as we were attending a wedding in sorrento. we stayed bed and breakfast and the breakfast was available til 10 it was continental and had a good selction of cold meats cheese and different breads croissants etc you could also have cereal and fruit but there was no hot food.

there was only two of us going originally (my mum and i) and then we needed to add another person (my brother) last minute so we emailed the hotel and asked if this was possible. we were given a family room in the garden which although not ideal for three adults as there were two bunk beds and one double it would be absolutely fine for a family with children. the room was basic but was cleaned and linen changed every day, if i had to find fault the only thing was that the shower didnt drain well so the bathroom floor ended up soaked. room was fully air conditioned and the air conditioning was very efficient so much so it had to be turned off at night as got too cold!

other family members stayed in main part of hotel these rooms were slightly better but still quite basic but lovely and clean again with towels bedding changed daily.

the pool area was lovely and clean with a good range of drinks and good home made food available. all drinks food etc are put on your room you cant pay cash however drinks much cheaper at hotel than anywhere else we found in sorrento. reception also has bottles of water to buy (also put on room) when bars are shut.

hotel is about a 20 minute walk to main piazza in sorrento and its along quite a busy scary road.

all in all good value no frills family run hotel with great staff who were really friendly and helpful would go again.

  • Liked — great friendly helpful staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sallycinamon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2007

Hotel itself:
* Lovely pool surrounded by lemon and orange trees
* Friendly staff
* Good continental breakfast
* Hotel next to busy road but annex is much quiter and has about 5 rooms in it (60-65) one of which we stayed in (no 65) which had a very big patio.
* or rooms facing away from the road at the top do have a view of mt vesuvius..and are meant to be quiter than the ones on the road.


* It is a 15 minute walk from sorrento centre along a very busy road with a lot of traffic - as it is not a nice walk we got a bus in and out of town every day. the bus stop is very near the hotel and the buses into sorrento go every 20 minutes - it has a timetable on it and you can buy tickets from hotel reception.
Most of the buses go to the main square, but one goes in the other direction after sorrento train station so be careful!

* St Agnello station is a 10 minute walk and you can do your own day trips from here to Pompeii, Naples and Mt Vesuviuus (there is a station you can get off at and a bus you can take which goes half way up - its then a 20-30minute walk up the mtain - wear trainers and have water!!)

* best restaurants we went to were Pozzo - great meat selection and pizza and pasta! on the last night we went to Hotel Belvue for dinner which was amazing - esp the view/sunset - and actually not much more expensive than regular places (35-40 euros per head with 3 courses and wine)

  • Liked — friendly staff and quiet pool (in june prob not in July or august!)
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank RomanticBreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2007

A delightful stay. I think it is owner run, so they were very friendly and helpful. Food was fresh and varied. The room was large and linen changed regularly. Near to town centre, but along a treachurous road, but they cannot be blamed for that. But the grounds were lovely, lemon grove above the outdoor eating area and flowers everywhere - quite magical. there is also a lovely swimming pool and we had a villa with it's own garden. Would return.

  • Liked — the hotel
  • Disliked — the treachurous roads
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank southcoasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Shropshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2007

We have just returned from a week at the Hotel Girasole in Sorrento, our second trip to the area, but the first staying in this hotel. The hotel is actually situated in S'Agnello, a suburb of Sorrento and is about a 15-20 minute walk into town along a very busy street. It was somewhat further away from the centre of Sorrento than we had realised, but there is a bus stop just along the road if you are feeling lazy! This wouldn't be a suitable hotel for someone who wasn't prepared or able to walk into town. Although the local buses do run every 20 minutes or so, it took us a couple of days to actually get into the knack of being at the bus stop at the same time as the bus! Tickets costs 1 euro and are available from reception.

We had an extremely pleasant stay in this hotel, made all the more so because of the lovely family that run it. Nothing was too much trouble, their English is very good and they were always happy to chat and impart information.

If you are looking for a posh hotel, then this probably isn't the one for you. It is 3 star and obviously doesn't have some of the finer touches of a 4 star (i.e. to our surprise, no tea/coffee making facilities in the bedrooms), but having said that, it was immaculate and very clean. There are lovely gardens dripping with lemon and orange trees, a very nice, clean pool area with a snack bar and lovely views of the mountains. The hotel is only bed and breakfast and breakfast is continental, with a range of cereals, yogurts, breads and pastries, ham, cheese and preserves etc, so not for anyone who needs their fry up of a morning.

A word of warning though, if you like your room quiet, request one when booking. We did, and ended up in a small separate complex down the garden which comprised around 4 or 5 bedrooms. We were on the ground floor and although we didn't have much of "a view" as such, we did look out onto the lemon groves and it was beautifully quiet, so long as you didn't mind the local cockeral giving you an ealy morning wake up call! Other people we spoke to having rooms actually in the hotel, did complain about the constant noise from the road. We were given the choice of a room on the top floor of the hotel itself (with an amazing view) or the one we kept. The room was of an adequate size, given that we were hardly in it and again very clean with all matching pink furniture! Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Girasole and would go again. The friendliness of the family more than made up for any little failings we experienced (such as the lack of tea/coffee facilities in the bedrooms!) Definitely worth trying out.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the family who run it and the copious amounts of lemon trees everywhere!
  • Disliked — No tea/coffee making facilities in the bedrooms and just a tad too far away from the centre of town.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sorrell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Girasole

Property: Hotel Girasole
Address: Corso Italia 302, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Girasole 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Girasole Hotel is a nice family hotel in Sorrento which gives a warm and friendly hospitality to its guests. The private pool, immersed in the green of a wonderful orange–grove typical of Sorrento, is surrounded by flowers and plants. The pool bar offers a good selection of local dishes and sandwiches, cold drinks, ice cream and home made cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Girasole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Girasole Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing