We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of Hotel Girasole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Girasole
Ranked #50 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We arrived in Sorrento last week after flight delays and diversion to Rome. Our room was small and basic but clean and had fridge and safe. The staff more than made up for what our room lacked in space. My daughter and I had such a lovely time at this hotel. From the enchanted evening the hotel put on with amazing food and music to the staff going out their way to help. Tony at breakfast giving us a pot of coffee and steamed milk when we lost track of time and by the time we went for a cup of coffee, he was cleaning out coffee machine. No bother he said as he went to the kitchen and came back with a little tray for us - that was so appreciated. The reason I chose this hotel was the reviews about the staff and they didnt disappoint. The garden with its lemon, orange and lime trees was a joy to have breakfast in. Loved the Italian passion for food, family and making you feel very looked after. Thanks everyone at the Girasole for making our first stay in Sorrento so great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madsans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Girasole
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 581 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Girasole for 10 nights in August. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was on the ground floor and had a small terrace into a little garden area. The room was clean and fairly spacious and had air conditioning. There was a fridge and a safe in the room which were available for 1 euro a day. The Girasole has a great pool with snack bar. I recommend the toasties and the David special!! Also the homemade lemon juice is lovely and a bargain! There are plenty of free sun loungers but you can hire better ones for 3 euros for the day. We mainly used the free ones but hired the paid ones a couple of days when we knew we were staying by the pool most of the day. The breakfast was nice, it included cakes, doughnuts, croissants, cereal, toast, ham, cheese and fruit. There is an 'enchanted evening' on a Tuesday night where the hotel put on a lovely buffet of local food and there is live music. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk into the main centre of Sorrento and yes it is along a bit of a crazy road with small pavements but once you've done it once you get used to it and it's fine. There is also a back way which is slightly longer but less busy for traffic. I would recommend this hotel to everyone! and we would love to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CANDLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My other half and I love this hotel. This was our second stay at Girasole (the first was cut short last year due to a family bereavement but the staff helped us so much to get home) and this year they exceeded our expectations as always. Rita and her family/staff are so friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble.
What makes this hotel different from say a big hotel chain is the personal touch and now we class Rita and her staff as friends and would stay at this hotel again in the blink of an eye.
I note other reviewers are complaining about the road and the lack of pavement in some areas but please remember this is not the hotels fault (look on it as an adventure)
Finally when it is time to return to Sorrento we will be back to Thomson to book Hotel Girasole
P.S You must try David's speciality of mozzarella cheese wrapped in ham it's delicious.

Room Tip: Book a garden view room as it is quiet and you do not get the noise from the busy Corsa Italia and a...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

A Thomson small and friendly hotel which is a good 25mins walk into sorrento centre, often with no footpaths on a very busy & dangerous road especially with kids. Much closer to sant Angello only 5 mins away. This hotel is a pleasant hotel with friendly staff and a good size pool with plenty sunbeds, rooms are small and basic but clean and continental breafast was good and had lots to offer. The only down side to this hotel is its position that its on a main busy road with lots of traffic noise all day n night especially with the noisey motor bikes......and that its closer to sant Angello than sorrento after a week walking up n down the road every day and night all our legs were aching!

Room Tip: garden view rooms might not be AS NOISEY but will still hear some noise
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed in a small twin room. Balcony overlooked the main road but this didn't matter too much as we were never in to use it! Good double glazing kept the worst of the road noise out at night. Lovely pool and snack bar. Good selection for breakfast including 'proper' tea! 15-20 minute walk into town - the footpaths aren't great and there are busy roads with fast moving mopeds to cross. Bear this in mind if your mobility isn't good or you have children.

Sorrento a great base for sightseeing. We went to Pompeii, Vesuvias, Heraculaneum, Amalfi, Ravello, Capris and Ischia - nearly all by public transport (which is cheap and has regular services).

Sorrento itself is a haven for gluten free eating. Restaurants f note that cater well for coeliacs are: Pizzeria Aurora (Piazzo Tasso), La Fenice (on Via Degli Aranci), Villa Rubinacci (on Via Correale), Fauno Bar (Piazzo Tasso), The Foreigner's Club (on Via l. De Maio). These all usually had pizza, pasta and bread available. La Dolce Sorrento on Piazza A. Laura had delicious GF ice cream cones/gelato - top tip, try the nutella flavour!

Further afield in Ravello, Cumpa Cosimo on Via Roma had GF pasta. R. Buonocore in Capri on Via Vitt. Emanuele had GF ice cream cones.

If in doubt with regards gluten free food, just ask! The Italians seem to have a good understanding of it in general. They don't always mention the availability of GF pasta etc on the menu though.

Room Tip: You have to pay extra to have a room looking over the gardens
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I wanted to have a relaxing 10 days in the sun with the added bonus of having a range of historic sites and places of interest nearby. The Hotel Girasole provided an ideal base to do this. The gardens were beautifully maintained and an ideal breakfasting location. The pool was well supplied with sunbeds and deckchairs and the home made poolside snacks were delicious! Our garden room was spotlessly clean and free from traffic noise. The hotel staff were extremely knowledgeable and helpful and were very encouraging and patient when they realised we really wanted to try our basic Italian! The local station gave easy access to Herculaneum and Pompeii and there were a few local restaurants. Sorrento itself was a beautiful town with plenty to do and enormous variety of restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden and the Bay of Naples
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We recently enjoyed a fantastic stay at Hotel Girasole. It was an experience of all that is good about Italy and its culture and Rita, her family and staff go beyond providing hotel accommodation - they make it a special time.

This is a well-run, clean and efficient hotel, which provides outstanding value for money. Location is very good for Sorrento itself and visiting the major places of interest in the area. If you want the best advice on where to eat and how to travel to other locations - ask Rita and her team.

The pool is fabulous and Dave's lunch-time specials - made from his own-grown produce, are not to be missed. Also, the weekly Italian food and music evening is great fun.

This hotel far exceeds its published star-rating .We will return.

Weightman- Rutland

Room Tip: Garden, family rooms are spacious and provide pleasant views of the grounds and coastline beyond
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenW91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,013 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
1,123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#59 of 100 in Sorrento
700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Girasole

Address: Corso Italia 302, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $119 - $1,008 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Girasole 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Girasole Hotel is a nice family hotel in Sorrento which gives a warm and friendly hospitality to its guests. The private pool, immersed in the green of a wonderful orange–grove typical of Sorrento, is surrounded by flowers and plants. The pool bar offers a good selection of local dishes and sandwiches, cold drinks, ice cream and homemade cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Girasole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Girasole Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing