We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best view in town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maison La Minervetta
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The very best view in town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

After reading all the amazing reviews I had the biggest expectations and was ready to love the place, but, they can not win us all.

It is actually more of a B&B than a hotel - do not expect over attentive staff or full hotel style facilities.
The room was very nice. We had a corner room with a French balcony and the most fantastic views. We took great pleasure in watching the life in Marina Grande. The bed linen was of exquisite Egyptian quality- really nice. Minus was that the TV had only SKY and CNN.
The bath was OK. The shower you needed to handhold as there was a “rain-shower” on top with “light rain” at the most.
When we arrived the man who accompanied us to our room noticed that the roof-lamp in the room had gone. It was not fixed during our stay, and we did not bother to remind them.

There is also no information book giving you some details on the hotel facilities. We were told we could come to reception and ask anything we wanted. That would be fine except that the staff did not act in the way that you would like to bother them.

The breakfast was good, but a bit like hanging out in someone's residential kitchen.
We have never experienced such lack of hospitality and smile at any breakfast before. No greeting, no smile, no offering of anything. Best if you do not bother the ladies which seems very busy doing very little.
They will make you eggs or pancakes, but you have to go out of your way to ask and we felt we were being a nuisance asking. We noticed other guests were getting eggs with their breakfast. Otherwise, we would never have known they were on offer.
The same goes for tea and coffee, and after getting this from a lady without any smile, we did not feel the urge to ask for anything else. The balcony outside the kitchen was wonderful.

Overall the hotel was nice, but lacked that special personal attention and pampering that is normally found in a higher class hotel. The whole atmosphere of the hotel made us feel a little at unease and not truly comfortable.

We appreciate that not everyone will agree .
Nevertheless, we know that if you are looking for the true Italian feeling (we have experienced for nearly 30 years of travelling in this beautiful country), this is not the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roma90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    40
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
92
700
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey Park, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon in January 2013. It had just re-opened with freshly painted rooms, and since it was off-season there weren't many things open or many tourists in the area. The staff at La Minervetta was unbelievably nice. They helped us with everything from restaurant recommendations to a driver (to see the Amalfi coast). They helped make reservations and were even just nice to chat with during down time. The property is amazing... by far the most beautiful place I have EVER been to. All the rooms have a breathtaking view of the bay of Naples and you can see Mount Vesuvius in the distance. They served us made-to-order breakfast every morning... so we definitely gained a few pounds while staying here. The food was delicious!

The hotel is a short walk uphill from the main area of town. You will want to get a cab from the train station to the hotel if you have luggage (try Aldo's Limo's, as some of the other cabbies charge us almost 2x as much - we learned the hard way). Without luggage, you can easily walk into town, so you will only need a car/cab if you have a suitcase.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed like they had a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We recently returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel in March 2013 and I must say it was an exceptional experience. Maison La Minervetta is an Art Deco boutique style hotel. I believe it only has about 12 rooms with all of them having an ocean view. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts are served on the main level which is warmly and colorfully decorated. There is a quaint bed and breakfast feel to the place. It is conveniently located close to the Main Street leading to the center of town (about 10 to 15 minute walk). There are many small shops lining this street which my wife loved. We'd return to this property in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our room was furnished in a very individual style with art work and bot models, had fantastic views across the bay from huge picture windows, the lounge area was also furnished with art work, had lots of interesting books and hosted a superb breakfast buffet. The staff were very helpful in arranging restaurants, taxis and giving advice, also produced an unending supply of ice when my wife needed to treat a sprained leg muscle, most helpful.

Room Tip: All the rooms had a sea view, ours was on the floor below the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was amazing till the last detail. Very comfort and relax. Breakfast was great. We decently stay again. One of the best hotel we've ever been maybe the best we've ever been and we've seen a lot. Very recomended!
It seems that the owner have notice to every detail. Great view from the room and from the terrace.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taltal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

No kidding, this was without doubt our best ever hotel experience. The place itself is spectacular.
Set high into the hillside, the rooms have dramatic views looking across out across the Bay of Naples. Plenty of space, all modern amenities, and beautifully decorated. In fact, the entire facility shows off the interior design artistry of the owner. It's like living in a magazine showcase. And what made this even more a special place was the great hospitality of everyone there. Wonderful people - we were made to feel welcome like family.

Room Tip: All great - but as long as you're here, spoil yourself and go a larger corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrenShoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Amazing, friendly and beautiful. The staff are wonderful, the rooms are great. The view of the harbour and Mount Vesuvious is breathtaking!!!! Walking distance from town. GREAT LOCATION. Breakfast each morning was wonderful. The lobby was very relaxing and sitting on the terrace each morning eating breakfast was a great day to start the day. We would definitely return...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison La Minervetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison La Minervetta

Property: Maison La Minervetta
Address: Via Capo, 25, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison La Minervetta 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison La Minervetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison La Minervetta Hotel Sorrento
La Minervetta Hotel Sorrento
La Minervetta Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing