We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best hotel on amalfi coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maison La Minervetta
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“the best hotel on amalfi coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

Charming hotel superbly decorated. The cheapest hotel we stayed in on our trip and by far the best. Friendly staff, amazing views and fabulous breakfast served on the cute terrace overlooking the bay of sorrento with vesuvius behind

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank effra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    40
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
92
700
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We had a corner room with breathtaking views. The room was very large and tastefully decorated.  Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was absolutely delicious. We didn't mind the 350 steps down to the beach or to go out for dinner - they were well spaced and lit brightly at night. We swam and used the sun lounges at Delfinos pier rather than cool off in the small hotel pool (it was freezing and in the shade most of the day). We couldn't work out why we had to exchange our room key for the key to the bottom gate each time we went out - we were told it had something to do with fire safety.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoopersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

We were very excited about La Minervetta from what we read on a blog site from Alexandra D. Foster Destinations Perfected and Trip Advisor. When we arrived it exceeded our expectations! The decor was beyond colorful with beautiful art pieces at every turn and fun music in the background. We paid extra for the view and it was well worth it - our room was #5, gorgeous blues/purples - couldn't stop taking pictures of it. We loved the staff - from the start of our 5 day visit they helped us decide what to do on which day, according to the weather, crowds, etc. They also would be sure we had a dinner reservation for that night either for a place they recommended or a place we chose from Trip Advisor ( love that!). When we got to the restaurant we felt we were treated "special" because of where we were staying. Each time we returned "home" they asked what we did, how we liked it ,etc. They were very involved in making sure our vacation was all that we expected. The day we left, Floriana arranged for us to have a box of souvenirs mailed to our home so our bags were not overstuffed - what a wonderful service. We enjoyed the town of Sorrento and our 15min walks to and from the hotel( a little hill returning). We would like to give special recognition to Floriana - so cheerful, smart, helpful and resourceful, as well as Guia and Elia. Francesca was so sweet and made a wonderful breakfast with the help of servers Margarita, Roberto and Tyre (name may be wrong). We loved the restaurants Da Giginos and the Meating Steakhouse (trip advisor).
We hope to do it again and we will definately stay at La Minervetta's!!

Room Tip: The rooms with a view are worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Trip Advisor made me a hero with this hotel. I made the reservation after reading the reviews here and my wife just loved this hotel. We just returned from a trip celebrating our 25th anniversary. The decor is very fun with lots of funky ceramics and interesting pieces of art. The rooms were great. Views outstanding. The hotel is a 10 minutes walk out of town but I found that a plus especially when town can get too crowded and congested. Breakfast in the morning was top notch. This is a small hotel with limited staff but the staff is very friendly and helpful. They gave us several dining suggestions that turn out to be terrific - Donna Sophia, Cumpa Cosima. I wish we could of spent more time at the Minervetta.

Suggestions - wifi only worked in part of the room, would be nice if they offered meals other than breakfast, movies in the room required a code from the front desk to order this was a pain.

The Minervetta was a definite hit however and would love to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms I think are great. Large, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We had a fantastic room with great views, Room#8... The hotel is a little ways outside of the main town centre (a long walk from the train station, but we did it anyways, probably a good kilometer), and it is easily missed because it is all sub street level, you have to keep your eyes out for the little elevator entry. The breakfast and views were terriffic, but a few comments, it is about 350 stairs from the lobby down to the water and restaurants there. The hotel needs to provide you a key so you can exit and enter at the beach level (why wouldn't just give us a key for the duration, kind of odd). The pool is very small, and can only accommodate a small number of people, seating is limited... We found the management nice, but nothing exceptional, we wouldn't consider it memorable, but a very nice place...

Room Tip: Room #8, corner room, all windows, great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KT_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

La Minervetta was the last stop on our honeymoon and we had really high expectations based on previous tripadvisor reviews. There's no questioning that is a beautiful hotel with a stunning view. However that is really where the pluses end. The service throughout our stay can only be described as lacklustre, ignorant and rude. From the moment we arrived, we were made wait while the receptionist argued loudly with some maintenance men. We were given only the basic and bare minimum of information. We soon realised this when we heard other people being given passes to lay out down at the Del Fino restaurant. There was no information booklet in the room and aside from the small 'pool', there are no amenities in the hotel.

While the breakfasts were absolutely delicious, the rude service and lack of information takes away from it. There is no information telling you what you or can’t have made up, again we only knew about pancakes etc from tripadvisor. The two ladies in the kitchen serve as a barrier to the guests who have to ask for a coffee or tea, because they certainly aren’t offering. The same can be said when you ask for a second cup of coffee, they are positively rude. Their loud arguing made some mornings uncomfortable and encouraged us to eat quickly and return to our rooms as soon as possible.

We had mentioned that we were on our honeymoon to the hotel prior to our arrival and while we didn’t expect any kind of gesture, we certainly didn’t receive one. Customer service is not this hotels forte, because they realise once you’ve paid for your accommodation, they don’t need to do anything else. There is barely anyone at reception during the day. We left our key at reception one evening only to return a few hours later and find it in the exact same place for anyone to take. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone unless I was confident that their service matches the extortionate price. They don’t deserve to be so highly rated on Tripadvisor in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Bumblebetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

I can't praise this place highly enough. We were immediately impressed on arrival with the glass interior of the lift down to the hotel and it just got better and better.

We went for our 30th wedding anniversary and had a marvellous week. The location is magnificent - the view from our room was Mount Vesuvius and we had a front row seat in our room of fireworks on 1st August - the best display I have ever seen. We heard opera singing from the Marina Grande below during the fesival of St Anna and it was just perfect. The family run hotel even invited the guests to their fireworks display party and food and drink was complimentary.

The hotel staff are the most attentive without being obtrusive. They just seem to know what you want to do/see/eat etc etc and are knowledgeable about the whole area. We relied on them for restaurants and they never let us down, even organising the Michelin Star restaurant Il Buco to put Happy Anniversary around our dessert plate in chocoate and we also got a complimentary bottle of dessert wine. They put a lovely bottle of bubbly in our room too with nibbles on our return. They all made a point of saying goodbye and I really felt that I had left some friends behind when we left.

There is a bus and train station in Sorrento and you can get to Pompeii or Herculaneum very easily and cheaply too this way. We stayed a week in La Minervetta and we didn't feel the need for a car. We visited Positano via boat and also Capri all from the harbour. There are so many restaurants within walking distance and La Minervetta is about a 10/15 min walk into Sorrento but the steps down to the Marina Grande are very steep though and you will need to stop a few times on your way back up!

The breakfast is the best buffet I have ever seen and you can order anything you like to be cooked by Fransceca in the kitchen and then eat it out on the terrace.

I noticed in the guest book when we left that most people were there for honeymoons, anniversaries and there were a couple of proposals there too - it is that sort of place.

I know it seems expensive as it is bed and breakfast only but this was the icing on the cake on our trip to Sorrento and we will wont forget the whole experience. Our next holiday will have a lot to live up to.

Room Tip: All rooms are marvellous but if we are lucky enough to go again we would probably choose one with ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Getawaywithyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison La Minervetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison La Minervetta

Property: Maison La Minervetta
Address: Via Capo, 25, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison La Minervetta 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison La Minervetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison La Minervetta Hotel Sorrento
La Minervetta Hotel Sorrento
La Minervetta Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing