We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome break”
Review of Hotel Zi Teresa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Zi Teresa
Ranked #64 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A welcome break”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I had heard a lot about the hotel Zi Teresa as my mum had been there a few times before and to be honest it met expectations. First things first, the location.

The hotel itself is no more than 30 metres from the main Corso Italia, despite this I didn't hear that much in the way of road noise. The walk into town to the Piazza Tasso can be accomplished in 5 minutes if walking briskly, but I would suggest taking your time otherwise you may miss something along the way. Also despite the fact that it was mid to late September when we went the temperature was still in the 20's. I would suggest at some stage going to the roof terrace of the hotel as the view from there is very good, you can see round to the Sorrentine peninsula, a bit of Capri and right across the bay of Naples with Vesuvious sitting ever present in the background.

The desk staff. On arrival the desk staff were helpfull and a "well polished unit", this stayed the same for the entire 2 weeks that we stayed. After we had been there for a week the school trips started to arrive and despite the poor behaviour of the children the staff still managed to maintain a gracefull swanlike composure. They also had a level of control over the kids that the teachers didn't appear to have. Very well done Daniel and the team.

When I got to the room it was nice, clean and provided me with everything that I needed. Don't expect large flat screen televisions or mini bars, you won't get them and to be honest you don't need them, it would be rather sad to sit in your room when you have Sorrento itself to explore. On the other hand you will probably still require power sockets, there were three in the main room and a further one in the bathroom, so charging cameras phones and tablets / laptops shouldn't be an issue. The view from the room was actually out across the pool and one of the police stations (the Italians appear to have police for police) across the road, to be honest I didn't come to Sorrento for the view from the room. On the other hand the view from our loo was similar to the one from the roof terrace. The bathroom was good, it has a bath, shower bidet, loo and even a hairdryer.

At this point I would like to thank the cleaning ladies, they seemed to time it so that whenever they were cleaning we were out and they came in every day including sundays, the room was always cleaned with a good level of diligence.

Food and Dining. The dining room was always clean, the tables were kept immaculately. There was normally a marker with your name and room number on the table assigned to you. Breakfast was enjoyable, once again don't expect a full English fry up, you're on the continent and you get a continental style breakfast with cold meats and cheeses, yoghurts and sweet / savoury pastries. When you took your seat you would be asked if you'd like tea or coffee, there was also a choice of fresh juice in the morning.

Also in the morning you were provided with the menu to make a selection for the evening meal, there were three starters and three main courses to choose from with the dessert being a surprise. I was happy enough with the choice and to be honest if you wanted something else there are enough places to eat in Sorrento itself that you would be spoilt for choice. Thanks to Gianfranco and the team who provided the service throughout in the dining room, it was a pleasure to meet you.

In summary, if you want a good family friendly hotel with good food and nice service that is clean and within easy enough walking distance of the main square (Piazza Tasso) then The Hotel Zi Teresa would be a very good choice, likewise if you wish for a quiet getaway and wish to see the sights of Sorrento. I will return in the future as I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LeonA1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    218
    85
    35
    29
See reviews for
101
281
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

When we arrived we were quite shocked as the hotel website and brochure say its in a quiet location in Sorrento. Our room overlooking the pool had horrible views of a large building with scaffolding and tarpoling around it. The road noise, scooters etc sirens kept us awake all night every night and our travel agent recommended this hotel as were really wanted couples only but she said there was less likely to be children there as it wasn't a beach holiday. So were was astounded to find a class of school children in the reception and lounge area for the beginning of the week and they also kept us and some other guests awake at night the teacher did try and keep them quiet. Also we were disappointed that we couldnt use the swimming pool that was emptied half way through our week as the hotel was closing on the friday. We had read reviews that breakfast was not too good with cakes and basically it was just as other reviews said. The head waiter has an abrupt nature which you get used too but for me I prefer happy people on my holiday. When we got there the first point of call was the reception and we felt like she was shouting at us giving us firm instructions to go to the restaurant, it just had no holiday feel to the place. The actual hotel was clean and the beds were made everyday the food was good but not exciting. We were disappointed with our holiday it was not what we had been told by the travel agent and the pictures in the brochure make it look in a quiet area but its not. Its still a fair walk into Sorrento. I wouldn't go again for a holiday. ,

Room Tip: We found out of a guest that rooms at the back overlook the volcano and lemon groves this is a much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

lovely hotel friendly staff. clean and tidy good size swimming pool .very friendly people love the town went for walks in the evening as everyone from children to grand parents go out to enjoy the evening entertainment .

Room Tip: top floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

So the qualifiers first; it's a small hotel, about 60 rooms, feels family owned, no flat screen tv, no iPod Dock, no fitness suite and you can't hold swim meets in the pool, the head waiter is happiest when Napoli win oh and the food is unashamedly italian both in choice and service style. They keep costs down by asking you to choose your dinner starter and main from 3 choices for each at breakfast but are flexible about doing main course sized starters and the fish choices were superb! Breakfast is continental and the dinner quality is superb, we only had one dip and that was when service faltered on the night 100 English school kids came to stay, they became affectionately known as the starlings, they flocked and devoured everything - the head waiter reorganised sittings for subsequent nights and we went back to peace and quiet. The rooms are airy, clean and kept that way as were bathrooms and towels. The pool was small but nice and the rooftop terrace is a welcome place to be (served by the lift). The hotel is sided by Italians in their appartments blocks so no grand gardens but it feels like you are in Italy, and only 10 mins from town centre, train station, bus station and lift down to harbour for ferries to Capri and Napoli.

When we return this will be top of our list to get as close to real Italy as you can on a package holiday!

Room Tip: Get a high floor with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Touristnottraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have just returned from holiday in Sorrento staying at this hotel. All staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was adequate and well cooked. There was a good choice at evening meal. Breakfast was typical Italian (no full English here). My room was spotless and towels were changed every day. It was too cold to use the outside pool but I was able to spend time soaking up the sun beside it and on the roof terrace. The hotel position just off the main road yet only a short walk to Sorrento town centre is exactly what I like. If you want 5* accommodation and English food his hotel is not for you but if you want friendly service and a spotless hotel this is. An excellent 3* hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a small hotel just off the main Corso Italia. It only takes about 10 minutes or so to walk to the main part of the town where there are numerous bars and restaurants. Zi Theresa has friendly helpful staff and the rooms are spacious and clean. Towels were changed every day and there was always lots of hot water. Would suggest that you take your own hairdryer. Considering the hotel is close to the main road it is very quiet at night and I wasn't disturbed by traffic noise. Sound proofing in the hotel itself is minimal - probably due to the age of the hotel - and you can hear noise from the rooms around, but this didn't disturb me either! Beds are firm but comfortable with sheets and blankets rather than duvets. Air conditioning, but didn't need to use it.
Breakfast is quite adequate and although there are lots of cakes etc. there is also cereal, toast, yoghurt etc. and Gianfranco supplies as much coffee and tea as you wish. Evening meal choices are made in the morning and I found the food to be of very good quality. Beware of your first course being larger than the second course! I didn't always manage the sweet (probably no bad thing!)
Altogether an ideal place to stay, conveniently close to the town centre and a good base from which to explore the surrounding area. Only one day of heavy rain and we were told it was unseasonably hot for October.

Room Tip: Room with a large terrace 210. This is above the reception area of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Axford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel for 7 nights. We weren't sure what to expect as we normally book all inclusive. When we arrived we were greeted by the reception staff who all speak very good English. We arrived quite late so we were asked to pick off the menu and we went straight for food. You get a choice of 3 starters and 3 mains. Don't be put off by this, the food is amazing!!! I am quite a fussy eater but I ate all my food every night, I never saw a plate go back into the kitchen with food on it! The breakfast is as dates continental and very Italian, they like their pastries. But there is toast, eggs, cereal and croissants for those not brave enough to have the breakfast pizza! The drinks at the hotel are cheaper than outside bars. A bottle of wine is €8 and water €2. They are very good and will save what you don't drink for the following night so if your like me and don't want to drink a whole bottle of wine then it's perfect!! If you have an early morning flight home then ask for a breakfast bag, they gave us water, juice, croissants, pastries, biscuits, we didn't go hungry!

We went with Thompson but did not book any trips with them, as usual they were too expensive. If you do go with Thompson they do a walk around Sorrento after the welcome meeting which is free and very helpful, plus you get free food and drinks to try all the way round.

We used the train which is situated about 5 mins walk away. Turn left at the bar Kontantino. The train takes you all the way to Naples and stops at Pompeii, Eurcolano. If your going to Pompeii, it takes around 30 mins, it's about €3.50 for a return and then the entrance fee is €11. Eurcolano is where will be find Vesuvius, the train was €4.40 return and when you get to the station you pay €20 to get the bus up, this also includes the entrance fee. Wear sensible shoes as it is very very steep. I wouldn't recommend sandals. We then went down the hill from the station about 5 mins away and went to the ruins at Herculaneum. Also worth a look.

When you are in Sorrento and fancy a meal out there is the most amazing Steak house called The Meating. When you are at the main square turn left past the restaurant and up a side street. The steak is to die for! We payed €38 and we both had steak and 2 sides. You get free champagne, cheese, pizza bread, chocolates and lemonchello. All of this is given without a surcharge.

When eating out be mindful that they will sometimes charge you to sit down, even if you only have a bottle of water. Just ask at each restaurant.

Tea and coffee can be expensive but if you pay Costa prices the. You really cannot moan.

don't expect a beach in Sorrento like one person has reviewed, if you read the brochure it does say. Sorrento is for sight seeing!!! The hotel has a roof terrace, this has limited subbed a but is perfect for catching the rays or even going up at night to see the amazing view.

All in all an amazing holiday and little gem of a hotel!!

Hopefully I have not missed anything out!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank LauraCunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
645 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
1.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zi Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zi Teresa

Property: Hotel Zi Teresa
Address: Vico III Rota 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zi Teresa 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zi Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zi Teresa Hotel
Zi Teresa Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing