We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When in sorrento...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Zi Teresa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Zi Teresa
Ranked #64 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“When in sorrento...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a fantastic time at ZI Teresa from the 28 June to the 12 July 2013 . Breakfast was not what we normally eat but why go to Italy and expect British . Ok the cakes and croissants put on a few a pounds but it was well worth it ! You adapt ! The staff at the reception(night staff included) , the restaurant and the pool were great .The evening meals were beyond critisism.The hotel rooms were very spacious and kept very clean and we asked for a room with a view and got it ! We will be back ! (The lady in red and husband )

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourist186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lady73098, Direttore at Hotel Zi Teresa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like thanking you very much for your appreciations regarding our staff, food and cleanliness. We always do our best to satisfy our guests and so we are very very happy when they understand and appreciate our efforts. This is the best reward to our work.

Thank you very much again and see you soon here in Sorrento, we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    208
    82
    33
    27
See reviews for
92
266
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

we have just returned from this hotel and on the whole we had a very good 10 day stay. the staff were very friendly and helpful from the start. the room we had was over looking the pool and bed area. this was ok as the pool was only open from 10 in the morning till 6 in the evening. we found breakfast to be of the Italian type(meats, cheese, cakes, toast and coffee and tea)on two mornings there was scrambled eggs. This was ok because when I go to another country I don,t want everything English. the service around the pool was very good and a good price for a hotel. the evening meal had a choice of starters mains and a surprise sweet. the standard of food was good and the service excellent. the only fault I had with the room was that I could here the people in the next room talking, this was found to be through a vent in the bathroom. but all in all we had a very good ten days in Sorrento.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lady73098, Direttore at Hotel Zi Teresa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your words. We are very glad you have appreciated our hotel and our services and we are happy we have managed to make your stay in our hotel pleasant.

We hope to have you again as our guest in the future. Grazie e a presto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent one week in this hotel. It was very clean, nce pool but small, reception staff were friendly and helpful, great view from our balcony over peach groves and Naples in the distance, well located near the centre of Sorrento.
The Ugly, expensive drinks (coffee, coke, wine etc). The head waiter in the restaurant was dismissive and sullen, on occasion downright rude. The food at dinner was dreadful. Do not have the cheese snadwich! Disgusting and i sent it back to he kitchen. Omlette and sprouts? Omlette was rock hard. Food combinations terrible. It was easily the worst food i ever been served on any holiday i have ever been on - and i have been on a lot of them! Breakfast was also poor - scrambled eggs two days per week but apart from that poor quality serial and sweet tarts! Incidentally, no tea and coffee served at the evening meal, should you have wanted coffee or tea then a purchase from the bar on the floor above was required.
Zi Teresa - you must improve the food! Several of the guests who arrived with us did not frequent dinner after the first couple of days.
I am surprised Thomson rated the food three star - it isnt. Believe me it isnt!

Room Tip: Arrom with a balcony and do not book half board!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worlebury3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lady73098, Direttore at Hotel Zi Teresa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guests,
first of all we would like thanking you for your appreciations regarding our staff, location and cleanliness. Sorry for the words regarding our head waiter Gianfranco. He is always very beloved by all our guests, willing to help and friendly with everyones, so it is for us incomprehensible how he was downright rude with you. However we have spoken with him and he apologizes for not being been of his usual courtesy with you.

Regarding the quality of the food, we are very sorry for what we read. We can assure you that we are concerned about the quality of the food we serve to our guests. We are very proud when we have people, guests and friends, coming back to our hotel also for the fifth time telling us they love our cooking. We know that it is impossible to be pleasant for everybody, but we are very sorry you have not appreciate all our efforts and our works.

Surely we will take your advice to heart and we will do our best to improve our services, hoping to have in the future the possibility to let you change your mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We booked a last minute week in the sun. We were pleasantly surprised by this traditional friendly small hotel. It is close to the centre of Sorrento but just far enough away so as to be quiet. The staff are brilliant. Reception are really helpful; the head waiter, Guisseppe is a real character - he made breakfast fun, even if the food could have been better; and the pool boy was great. The room was comfortable, overlooking the pool with a side view to the sea. The bathroom was clean with a great shower. We thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with balcony overlooking the pool & side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lady73098, Direttore at Hotel Zi Teresa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guests,
really we don't know how to thank you for your words. Our guests' appreciations is the thing for which we work and when they spend their time after their stay to tell how they have appreciated our hotel, we are very happy.

A lot of thanks by all the staff of Zi' Teresa Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

First impressions are of a good quality hotel with good furnishings and facilities. The rooms were spotless and the daily cleaning excellent. What lets this hotel down though is the food both at breakfast and evening meal. As other reviewers have commented, breakfast is OK if you like cake and cold pizza. Otherwise it is a disappointment. A limited choice of cereals, a few slices of cheese and cold meats and a limited selection of croissants However, there was an abundance of cake and tarts. Coffee at breakfast was dreadful. Evening meals disappointed in their lack of imagination. The selection was limited and the meat (invariably pork) was often dry. Sweets again showed no imagination and were poor to say the least. On the plus side, the staff were very friendly and helpful. I am not the first to moan abouit the food though and you wonder why the hotel does not do something about it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the end of the corridor as those in the middle can suffer from noise from adjoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lady73098, Direttore at Hotel Zi Teresa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guest,
first of all thanks a lot for the appreciations regarding the quality of our hotel and
regarding the cleaning. We are indeed very sorry to read your reviews regarding our breakfast.
It is true that we offer a vast range of breakfast cakes, but this is the habit of us in Italy.
We eat no salty dishes for breakfast but sweet ones! Naturally we realize our guests prefer salty dishes and for this reason we also offer bread to toast, cold meets and cheese, yoghurt, cereals and muesli, fresh fruit and tinned fruit salad, salty tarts. Besides from this year on, to comply with our guests' tastes, 2 times a week, on Thursday and on Sunday, we offer scrambled eggs.
Now, as it seems this is not enough, if you could give us some suggestion regarding what we could do to improve our breakfast, we would be really pleased to put them into action, so that, if we will have one day the possibility to have you again our guest, you can preserve a better memory of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Charming hotel, very clean and surprisingly large room and bath with a great view--could even see the Mediterranean. Staff was extremely helpful, breakfast was wonderful, pool was great. Location was easy to get to and we walked from the bus stop (chose to take the bus from the Naples Airport which I would recommend over taking the Circumvencia). Very convenient to all the shops and restaurants and marina--must like to walk--forget style of shoe; think comfort! Negatives: beds were extremely hard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inga F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My first impression of the hotel was not too bad. The travel company dropped us off 100 yards up the road with 3 suit cases a pushchair obviously a baby and 2 large bags of hand luggage. This was not the hotels fault but it is something you should conssider when booking. Coaches can not get to the hotel as its down a side street so every one gets dumped else where. The hotel has a lot of steps leading up to it and when you walk in it is a pleasant but basic lobby. There is a lift that goes to all 6 floors, the 6th being the roof terrace. There is no drink service on the roof terace like some brochures advertise so take your own. the first night was terrible, The air conditioning did not work and the nois from the main road is possibly the worst i have experianced while staying in any hotel any where. The next morning we went down to breakfast which is when my stomach started wondering what was going on. There is toast (small stale bread slices) cereal and a large selection of tarts and cakes!!! it supposed to be breakfast but its more like a dessert bar. There is some reformed ham and sliced cheese but know fresh bread to go with it. There are a selection of yoghurts and some tinned fruit. I never tried the Tea but the coffee is drinkable but has very little taste. After breakfast i had a word with reception about the air conditioning and they told me that its turned off at reception every morning and you need to ask for it to be turned on every day. Personaly i think thats stupid but its the way they work. Dinner was a lot better, The starters are Italian and very nice. You get a decent portion and its presented in a nice way. The main course is kind of Italian/mediteranian but a smaller portion than the starter. Normaly it was fish with a lemon sauce, potatoes and peas then the next night chicken with a tomatoe sauce potatoe and another veg. The meals do get a bit repetative so we popped out for dinner to save boredem. That night we slept a lot better with the air con on as the rooms are very hot and though the air con is very very loud it does drown out the noise on the main road. My personal thought on the noise is, it does not matter where you stay on the main road you are going to get the noise even in one of the 4/5* hotels. Sorrento is a very busy city day and night so it takes some getting used to. The pool area of the hotel is small but more than enough to cool off or have a lay in the sun. It does face the street and every one walking past can see you but you tend not to notice after a while. There is a small bar area in the hotel but with so many bars and restuarants in the town why stay in? The roof terrace offers views over the bay with fantastic views of Mt Vesuvius. the shower needs a clean, its a little clogged with lime scale so it does not shoot out with much power but it does the job, the hair dryer has no power according to my wife (im bald) and the rooms are cleaned every day with fresh towels but know fresh bedding. My son spilled his drink on the sheets our first night and at the end of the week that mark was still there. The main concerns i had with the hotel was that we where put on the 5th floor when we had a small child, this is not the only hotel that has done this recently but i cant understand why they would do this. I did not complain as we had a nice sea breeze up there and great sea views. In summary, the hotel is a pain to get to with your luggage, Breakfast is the worse i have ever come across (and i have back packed around the Pacific Islands and Asia) the main meals are repetative and do get dull, the bedding does not get changed enough (its hot and you get smelly) the noise is just beyond belief and the air con not been available to use when you want it unless you ask first. The possitive things, great views, huge balconys to sit on, a good location and very friendly/helpfull staff. at the end of the day you get wha you pay for when it comes to food and comfort and this hotel is cheap and cheerfull. Just go B&B, Food in Sorrento is cheap and fantastic. People are going on about £15 for a pizza and £5 for a beer but its all wrong. I was very suprised at how cheap things are. If you eat and drink on the Piazza Tasso then it will cost 2 or 3 times more but thats your call. We had lunch in the town every day and for the 2 of us with drinks it was between 14 and 25 Euro and that was with tips. Its not a peacfull romantic place like i pictured but there is something about Sorrento that is nice.

Room Tip: Take some ear pluggs if your a light sleeper like me remember every morning to ask for the aircon t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AsHlLoYdTaYlOr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lady73098, Direttore at Hotel Zi Teresa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your review.
There sorry you're having all these problems during your stay.
We would like to clarify that the hotel is not to blame if the travel company you have brought down to 100 meters from the hotel and that we have an entrance from the garage with elevator to avoid the stairs.
Cereal, toast, cakes, pastries, fruit, yogurt, ham, cheese, juices, tea and coffee there seem few for breakfast and we regret that nothing was to your liking.
The air conditioning can be turned on in the room we did not understand what was your problem,
do not need to be asked at reception but you are free to operate it in the room when you want.
You were located in a double room at the 5th floor because you made a reservation and you paid for 2 people, not for 3. We knew regarding the baby at your check in!
We regret that your wife hasn't found a powerful hairdryer!
We will take note of the problems encountered.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#59 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cesare Augusto
Cesare Augusto
#50 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zi Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zi Teresa

Property: Hotel Zi Teresa
Address: Vico III Rota 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zi Teresa 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Zi Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zi Teresa Hotel
Zi Teresa Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing