We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, large room, lots of steps!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Starace Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palazzo Starace Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 124 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location, large room, lots of steps!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

This is a nice place to stay in Sorrento, it is very much a family run B&B (the family live upstairs). There were three of us travelling together and after day 1 we realised you have to take short showers, as each room has a small hot water heater - not great for 3 girls in hot sorrento! Breakfast is run on a voucher system with a small typical italian cafe across the street - you get a drink and a pastry. Location of this B&B is very central and everything is within walking distance. The rooms themselves are on the 4th floor of an old building and there is no lift - so it's a lot of steps....... but there is a lift for your baggage so at least that's something. All in all it was ok accomodation - there might be better out there but we had no major issue with it and it did the job as we were not in it for much time during our stay here. Good aircon and comfortable clean room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ireland35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    79
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
121
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

I found this hotel in Rick Steves' Italy book. It's a nice little hotel. It took a little while to find the first time. The GPS didn't know the street and the people we spoke to didn't really know the street either. We found it though! It's in a little alleyway right off the main street. It's very close to everything, but oh the stairs you have to climb to get there! It's on the top floor and there's no elevator. She does have a little dumb waiter to get your luggage up, so that makes it better. We had a huge room that faced the alley, so it was very quiet. It had a large shower (for Italy) with great water pressure. The location was great. We were able to walk to everything. The beach is a lot further down though, so you have to climb stairs to get to the ferries and the restaurants along the water. But I think that holds true for most of the hotels in Sorrento. The Owner lives upstairs, but since there's no front desk, she's pretty much MIA the entire time. You call her on the hotel phone to check in and to check out, but we didn't see her at all other than that.

All in all, I'd recommend this hotel to someone. It's a nice litle hotel with everything that you need. Oh, and breakfast is served at one the cafes outside. You get a ticket for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dopee36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

Located right in the middle of the action, this B&B has comfortable rooms, with your own bathroom and the A/C was cold! The staff was friendly. The 4 flights of stairs wasn't too bad, it was really nice that they had a lift for your luggage. The breakfast @ the cafe a block away is a typical Italian breakfast.

It was a little hard to find @ first and the key for the front door of the building would sometimes stick. On Corso Italia (heading away from the train station), pass through the main Piazza (torquato tasso) and go up the first set of stairs on your left. Once you are @ the top of the stairs the building is located on the left.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cromab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

Perfectly located - an easy walk to the train for Pompeii, the boat for Capri, or the bus for Positano. The rooms were bright and clean and a simple Italian style breakfast was included (you get a voucher for a pastry and coffee at the nearby bar). Keep in mind the rooms are located on the 4th floor -- so be prepared to climb steps to get to your room. The good news is the luggage lift which means you do not have to carry your suitcases up and down the steps.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sicaniore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2008

This hotel was recommended by Rick Steves. We used his Italy book to help us chose hotels for our trip.

From the train station, head north a block to Corso Italia and turn left (west), continue past the Piazza Tasso. Look for the Hotel del Corso arch on the right (north) side of the street. Once you found that, directly across the street are steps that lead to the B&B, you'll notice the small sign by then. Go to the main door on the left, ring them, tell them you have a reservation and they'll let you in the building. Go up the stairs about 3 floors. There is a lift for luggage.

The owners live on the top floor and have a phone on the floor with the rooms in case you need them for anything. They were all super-friendly. One of the owners spoke the most English, the other just a little.

The room and bathroom were larger than our last (in Rome) and the bed was also (a king bed). The bed was not comfortable, however, it was very firm. There was a desk, armour, and small TV in our room. The bathroom had a hair dryer, but I blew a fuse when I used it. The fuse box is in the room by the door, so you can turn it back on. I opted not to use it after that. The shower only provided enough hot water for one at a time, so I took a shower in the morning and my husband took his at night and we were fine. We were introduced to the thin, non-terry towels at this hotel and had them at the majority of our hotels after this stay. There was also a bidet in the bathroom here.

The location of the hotel was great, right on the main street of Corso Italia. Because of the location, however, there was some noise. There were a lot of younger kids (tourists) while we were there that would get together and walk up and down the street and holler at each other. We had earplugs and shut the window when we needed to, which muffled the noise. Since we were there in the fall, it stayed pretty cool in the room. Another noisy nuisance was the main door to the building. It always slammed shut very loudly. We usually tried to close it quietly, but not everyone is as considerate.

The hotel gave us coupons for breakfast, which was available at Bar Danielle during our stay. The coupon was for a croissant and a coffee (we always had cappuccino). There was a fruit stand next to the bar, where we bought fruit to supplement our breakfast. We usually spent 2 Euros for 3 or 4 pieces of fruit. The bar had 4 small tables outside to sit at (for free) if you wanted.

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a room in the heart of town at a reasonable price (great price during our stay!) and close to the train station.

Feel free to PM me if you have any questions.

  • Liked — Location, Staff, Large Room
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable Bed, Slamming Front Door
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FreqTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Foothills
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2008

Our room was actually quite large and nice but the fact that we had to listen to people shouting all night (presumably revelers at one of the bars on the street) really detracted from our 2 nights there. Just when we thought they'd shut up the noise would start up again. I noticed at least one reviewer recommended earplugs but his/hers must have been better than ours because we still were kept awake by the noise. Of course, that's one of the prices you pay for a good location, which this B&B does have. The breakfast voucher provided for the skimpiest breakfast--a pastry and cup of coffee--of all the places we stayed at in 3 weeks in Italy/Greece.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jkatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
203 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2008

The hotel is on the 2nd floor of an old palazzo. There is no elevator, but a clever cage with a winch takes your luggage up. Our room was rather small but very nicely decorated. The bathroom was huge. The owners are very nice and speak rather good English. They live upstairs, and there is a house phone to call them if you need anything. It is about 30 feet to the main street of Sorrento, and a 5-10 minute walk to the train/bus station. We were there over a weekend, and there was a lot of hooting and hollering late at night. You might want to pack your earplugs. I never travel without them.

  • Liked — The owner was so helpful.
  • Disliked — The room was a little small.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank boomertraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mignon Meuble
Hotel Mignon Meuble
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Starace Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Starace Bed & Breakfast

Property: Palazzo Starace Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via Santa Maria della Pieta' 9, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Starace Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Starace is located in the heart of Sorrento, only twenty meters away from Piazza Tasso, the main cultural center of the town.It is within short walking distance of the port, from where you can reach the islands of Capri and Ischia, the Circumvesuviana Station, that connects Sorrento to Pompeii and Herculaneum, the fishing village of Marina Grande and the historical center of Via San Cesareo.On the first and third floor of a distinguished historical building, Palazzo Starace Guest House offers the opportunity to stay in Comfort Rooms, private and confidential, and Superior Rooms, overlooking the central Piazza Tasso. They have everything you could need for a stay of comfort and relaxation: TV, safe, free WiFi, air conditioning, fully stocked mini-bar and private bathroom.International breakfast is served in our kitchen on the first floor.Being an historical building, there is no elevator. Therefore, it will always be our care to help you with your luggage and everything you need.Whether it's for an intense weekend or a long stay our goal is to make your holiday in Sorrento exciting and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Starace Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Starace Bed And Breakfast
Palazzo Starace Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing