We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Tirrenia
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
$620
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel del Mare(Sorrento)
$178
$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
$444
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$299
$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$438
$410
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$356
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
$115
$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Grand Hotel Aminta(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
$293
$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$220
$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveler rating
92
193
84
17
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
193
84
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfourth floorthe main streetrooftop jacuzzismall jacuzzigood sizemarina grandebar terracefresh towels every daythe air conditioningrooms are basicevening mealrestaurant staffbars and restaurantspleasant hoteltrain stationan ideal locationshower cubicle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 396 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a family broom-it was huge with comfortable beds. Our grandson had a chair bed which was properly sprung and comfy.We were at the back with a huge balcony with loungers and chairs and table- great view of bay and Vesuvius. terrace futher slong had even better view of the volcano.
Huge bathroom with bath and showe over. We had huckaback towels which were very odd. Sometimes we had a waffle towel which dried better-still seem od after British fluffy egyptian cotton!

Service excellent. Alarm call every morning-we made early starts on our Travelsphere holiday.

Tere is only one small lift and 4 floors. If you have walking difficulties be aware that Italian visitors ( and there are many) will push you out of the way to get into the lift even if you are trying to get out!

The bad thing is the food-it is terrible! It is all frozen and microwaved or heated in the oven-esp omelettes! For those with a
large appetite the 2 tiny pieces of potato given at evening meal will not be sufficient.Breakfast average- nothing hot. Good selection of teas.Rolls fine.

Overall this would be 4 star if it had decent food.

Room Tip: 402! had excellent views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girlbabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nice quiet location at the end of the main blvd. easy close access to everything. The hotel staff was very nice rooms were spotless. Towels a little on the cardboard side,but they got you dry.
The hotel has a nice refreshing jacuzzi on the fifth floor and a nice terrace bar facing the sea on the fourth floor.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the sea if possible and higher floors have the best views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuePiazza62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This friendly small hotel is well situated for a short stroll to the busy centre of Sorrento.For us the
best feature of the Tirrenia was the wonderful staff who went out of their way to be helpful and at all times extremely polite.Knowing that it was situated on a busy main road we had requested a quiet room which turned out to be exactly as requested.The bedroom was plainly furnished but spotlessly clean with fresh towels every day.Perhaps the air-conditioning could have been more effective but as we were both quite tired had no bother getting to sleep on the very comfortable beds.The only slightly disappointing thing was the frozen fish as we had both anticipated having lovely fresh fish caught straight from the Mediterranean.These slightly niggly complaints however did in no way detract from a great holiday.

Room Tip: Do not hold back when asking for any special requests as they will do their level best to accomodate your every wish.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I've just returned from my summer holiday staying at the Hotel Tirrenia. I chose this hotel because it was a little cheaper than some of the other hotels in Sorrento in peak season and seemed to offer a good location. The rooms are fairly basic, typical Italian - dark wood, tiled floors but the bedroom we had was spacious and with plenty of windows and a little balcony. The air conditioning worked perfectly and the bathroom was a good size with a lovely walk in shower. The hotel is on the main road but with the windows closed on an evening and the air conditioning, it didn't in any way hinder our sleep - the beds were lovely and comfortable and . the location is great - a short walk to all the quaint streets and harbours (and you can catch a regular bus back from marina grande if the walk back is a little too steep for you). The public areas are clean and comfortable and the food is good, drinks are a good price for a hotel bar. What really made the hotel stand out was the staff - they couldn't of been any more helpful and by the end of our holiday it felt like we were saying goodbye to old friends. I loved Sorrento and the surrounding areas and would have no hesitation in staying here again if I returned - which I probably will.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a good hotel for basing yourself in Sorrento at the Southern end of the Corsa Italia. It is next to the hospital but we were not disturbed by that at all. Its clean and tidy and the staff are excellent, particularly Nando who runs the bar and Gabriel and his staff in the restaurant who couldn't be more helpful. There are some downsides to this hotel. The rooms are a little dated and ours was a bit cramped with a wardrobe door and shower cubicle door not closing properly.....but the rooms are clean and again the cleaning staff friendly and helpful. I agree with the comments about breakfast made by others, eggs and bacon/sausages wouldn't go amiss, and the evening menus had some interesting combinations but for what I paid for the holiday I wasn't expecting much more. Overall a very pleasant hotel that's in reality a decently average hotel (But let's face it Italy IS expensive) but rated good because of the helpful staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is at the back of the hotel or take ear plugs!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaultheVicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews