We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family-run hotel”
Review of Hotel La Badia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Badia
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely week at La Badia in Sorrento. It is a lovely, small, friendly family-run hotel located above Sorrento. It took us 10-15 minutes to walk between the hotel and the main street of Sorrento (we are both reasonably fit) and the way is lit and safe at night. So we were close to the town but it was a quiet location. The room was clean and comfortable and we had great views over the Bay of Naples. The swimming pool was great, and when weather permitted we ate our evening meals on the outside terrace with views of Vesuvius and the sun setting over the bay. Food was certainly plentiful and the quality was good overall. The staff were helpful and friendly and often entertaining as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 565 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a lovely stay at La Badia many years ago. At that time, the hotel was simple, small, charming and full of personality.

The passing years have not done this hotel good. The hotel seems to have been divided into many small, characterless rooms. There are tiny rooms everywhere, and we were given one right behind the reception desk, and although it's supposed to be a room with full sea views, it overlooks a parking lot and a tiny bit of sea. But that was just the beginning. During the late evening and night, the front desk personnel were smoking at the front desk, so the room filled with smoke, leading to a sleepless night. Our other room was quiet and did not suffer the front desk noise, but was equally shabby.

What else? Breakfast was average (eating poorly in Sorrento is sad!) and hospitality below average.

The rates are not high, but the value of this hotel's stay is very low.

Room Tip: Rooms 5, 6, 7 have nice views from the porch (no privacy on the porch, though), but you'll do be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerFr0mPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria g, Proprietario at Hotel La Badia, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

We are delighted that she has returned with your family after 16 years in our hotel . We are disappointed not to have satisfied to give room number 5 with balcony and terrace and not confirmed the good memories she had of us.
Maybe two days are few and August is a particular month:
less quiet, with arrivals and departures daily.
I'm sorry about
a sleepless night due to the smoke of our night porter.
In Italy is forbidden to smoke and also in our hotel the staff and customers smoke outdoors.
With my family we cover the time from 06.30 am to 22.30 pm and no one has ever smoked in this time, in the morning I never fell the smell of smoke that made ​​me suspect a violation of divieto.We are sorry for what happened,
Greeting from sunny Sorrento
Marisa, Maria e Raffaella Gargiulo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We just spent a week here as a private booked, not on a tour. The room, the food, the service and all were really great. Thanks to the family who run this hotel for being so helpful during a time when we needed a little extra due to one of us having an injured ankle. The views and the setting are great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WoodmereApartments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria g, Proprietario at Hotel La Badia, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you for your comment and for your kind words for our staff and for our service. We can’t do anything else to say “ Grazie"
Greetings from all of us.
Marisa , Maria, Raffaella e Luigi Gargiulo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Older style Hotel, lovely people and extremely welcoming and helpful, family run, Lovely Swimming pool. Views over Vesuvius from balcony, Food great! breakfast many cold European options including Ham,cheese, yoghurts, hard boiled eggs, many bakery options - alas no English style available. Only downside we found - no fridge available in room, other than swimming pool not really ideal for kids. (nb. Swimming pool is deep!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uptheseagulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have recently returned from a weeks stay at La Badia and cannot speak more highly of it. Set in a beautiful location amongst olive groves, with amazing views of the sea, hills and mount Vesuvius. We stayed in room 33 and found it immaculately clean for the whole of our stay, as was the whole hotel. The staff were so friendly and could not do more for us (including helping us with our return travel when we found our bus was not running due to bank holiday) the waiting staff were also amazing especially Antonio who made us laugh throughout. The swimming pool also had stunning views and we often had it to ourselves. Big selection of food for breakfast was always nice and evening food with stunning views of the sunset was nice too. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Room 33 had amazing views on a bit balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

La Badia is such a beautiful family hotel, situated in the olive and lemon groves in the hills 7 minutes (timed) to walk into Sorrento town and 10 minutes (timed) to get back. The location is ideal for trips to Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius, the Amalfi Drive and Capri. La Badia hotel is typically Italian from the delightful decor to the delicious Italian food. The rooms are air conditioned, pretty, fresh, clean and comfortable. We had a family room with two Juliet balconies with spectacular views of Sorrento bay and Vesuvius. The swimming pool is a good size, set in a pretty location surrounded by fuschia bourgainvillea flowers and it was never crowded - sometimes we were the only people there. The restaurant overlooks the sea and the food was varied and delicious catering well for vegetarians. The hammocks under the olive trees were an added bonus - and an enjoyable way to spend time out of the sun. All the staff were helpful and friendly and I will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family we had a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We chose La Badia from the list offered by Riviera and were not disappointed. We wanted a quiet place with character and got exactly that. Everyone seems to find it spotlessly clean and it is, with all towels changed daily. We had a nice room (Rosa) with sea-facing balcony and would have been even better if we had tea/coffee facilities.
The breakfasts were good, fresh fare and lots of choice. Reviewers appear divided over the evening meal but we always enjoyed ours, thanks also, it must be said, to the friendly staff and the terraced dining area with great views.
The secluded pool was beautifully maintained, with flowers growing everywhere. My partner loved the hammocks amongst the olive trees. La Badia is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterJ1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
1,387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
1,043 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,787 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Badia

Address: Via Nastro Verde 12 | Via Capodimonte, 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $148 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Badia 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a small abbey, La Badia is situated in one of the prettiest parts of Sorrento, with splendid views of the Bay of Naples, and is surrounded by centuries-old olive and orange groves.Rooms: Each of the hotel's 41 rooms is individually furnished and equipped with en suite bathroom, hairdryer, telephone, air-conditioning, safe, and satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Badia Hotel
La Badia Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing