We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming retreat amongst the olive groves”
Review of Hotel La Badia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Badia
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We chose La Badia from the list offered by Riviera and were not disappointed. We wanted a quiet place with character and got exactly that. Everyone seems to find it spotlessly clean and it is, with all towels changed daily. We had a nice room (Rosa) with sea-facing balcony and would have been even better if we had tea/coffee facilities.
The breakfasts were good, fresh fare and lots of choice. Reviewers appear divided over the evening meal but we always enjoyed ours, thanks also, it must be said, to the friendly staff and the terraced dining area with great views.
The secluded pool was beautifully maintained, with flowers growing everywhere. My partner loved the hammocks amongst the olive trees. La Badia is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterJ1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Badia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 550 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

Located (literally) 10 min walk outside of Sorrento, this hotel has a stunning view, nice little swimming pool, good restaurant and nice rooms, albeit slightly tired.
The walk is easily doable, especially on the way down and there are plenty of ice cream shops to keep you going for the way back! Taxis are criminally expensive and should be avoided if you can. There is a bus (not a hotel shuttle bus), but doesn't run that regularly and we walked instead. Personally I would avoid staying in the town centre as it is very busy with vehicle and pedestrian traffic, especially at weekends.
We ate in the restaurant twice, partly because of the outstanding view, partly because of the extremely friendly staff and the partly because of the excellent food. However, we ate off an a la carte menu and I got the impression that when the hotel do half board (which I think they do a lot of the time), the food might not be so good with less variety and less ambitious options.
There were a couple of small glitches in the room, which lost its 5th star (although it was close and nearly recovered by the highly entertaining head waiter), such as only one plug socket, quite dated bathroom, but all very comfortable and not a major issue.
Wi-Fi only works in reception.

Room Tip: Rooms 5, 6 and 7 all have terraces with amazing views over the bay. However, as the hotel don't...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We turned up about 930 after the restaurant had closed but the bar man took pity on us and got the kitchen to make us a sandwich .On the three nights we were there the bar was very quiet and generally people must have walked into town which was a pity.

The swimming pool was lovely and delightful after a day out .

The path in to town was much better than risking the pavementless winding road and took about 15 min though it was a bit hotter on the way back up the hill .

Wifi was only in reception but as the Walls were thick this was understandable.

My boyfriend loved the hammocks under the olive trees .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FREDAUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were with a Riveria tour and on our arrival at La Badia we felt we were
welcomed into a family environment. The views from this hotel are stunning, overlooking Sorrento and the Bay of Naples. There are gorgeous rambling gardens and olive groves, the organic oil from which was used in the hotel for our meals. We enjoyed the walk into town - and were proud of ourselves for achieving the walk back in the heat with only two stops!
We loved the quiet away from the hustle and bustle of the town and we will be back.



Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank BrisbaneUKJayJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a great hotel and would have got 5 stars except that the evening food is very poor. If your idea of a good meal is prawn cocktail, runny mash and fish fried in egg, this place is for you. I would recommend bed and breakfast. There are many better places to eat in Sorrento like Ristorante San Antonio, La Fenice and Pizzaria Micci. We were half board but ate out every night after the first one.
Other than that the hotel is great, spotlessly clean, comfortable, lovely quiet location, helpful and friendly staff (Antonio works his socks off), good pool area, lovely continental breakfast, great views and an amazing dining balcony.
The walk down into town is easy, the walk back is harder, particularly in the heat of the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just a short walk outside Sorrento you will find this lovely family-run hotel.
Nice breakfast and lovely room overlooking Vesuvius. Perfect waking distance from city center after a full Italian dinner. After a day on the Amalfi coast it's perfect to take a swim and relax by the pool. Will for sure be back at La Badia.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ekman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was our third visit to La Badia,as always first class service at this wonderful hotel,run by such a caring family.We dined on the terrace each evening and enjoyed every meal with a good choice of dishes to suit every taste superbly served by Antonio and his team.After a walk into the town with so much to see we love to climb back up the winding path to arrive at the hotel where there are hammocks among the olive trees to relax in and a most attractive pool for a swim.There are plants and flowers everywhere.The bedrooms are spotless and our favourite room has been refurbished(room 5).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrBestest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
1,773 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#74 of 100 in Sorrento
659 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Badia

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 8 | Via Capodimonte, 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $154 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Badia 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a small abbey, La Badia is situated in one of the prettiest parts of Sorrento, with splendid views of the Bay of Naples, and is surrounded by centuries-old olive and orange groves.Rooms: Each of the hotel's 41 rooms is individually furnished and equipped with en suite bathroom, hairdryer, telephone, air-conditioning, safe, and satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel La Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Badia Hotel
La Badia Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing