We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Badia
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
$614
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel del Mare(Sorrento)
$204
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bellevue Syrene(Sorrento)
$962
$803
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
$354
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$438
$394
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$366
$352
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$285
$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveler rating
328
196
28
12
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
196
28
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriviera travelolive grovesconverted monasterybay of naplesfamily rundining terraceshort cutoverlooking the baylovely hotelwalk into townhead waiteramazing viewslovely swimming poolelevated positiongala dinneritalian foodboiled eggs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 567 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here for 8 nights and had the most amazing time in Sorrento and at La Badia. Some reviewers will probably comment negatively about it's distance from the main town/restaurants/shops but honestly after all the great Italian food you will eat you need the exercise from the walk up and down the hill!

Firstly, the cleanliness was exemplary with clean towels every day and clean bedsheets. I didn't request or pay for a sea view but even so I still had a stunning view of the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius from my window! The Hotel staff are very friendly and extremely helpful with providing information on tours that you can do (Pompei, Herculaneum, Vesuvius, Capri etc) and if you have any issues with your room such as the air conditioning it is resolved very quickly.

The breakfast was lovely with croissants, eggs, salamis, cheese, cereal and pastries. The restaurant staff are also very nice and helpful during breakfast and in the evenings if you choose to eat at the hotel. You may have to order your food in the morning but if you are having a busy day sightseeing it is worth having dinner at the Hotel, the food is good and has stunning views of the sunset and the whole of Sorrento.

I will most definitely return to this Hotel - it is so much nicer than the huge, tacky hotels you will find in the main town, and is nicely tucked away in beautiful surroundings with terraces to sit on, a great swimming pool and lounge area and even hammocks amongst the olive groves for you the lay on!

If you want a relaxing hotel away from the busy streets of Sorrento then stay at La Badia! I know I will be going again.

P.S - bring your own kettle as it is not provided in the room!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nayzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This family run Hotel exudes friendliness and could give other establishments a lesson in customer service. Nothing was too much trouble; perfectly mixed Gin and Tonics sitting on the terrace or by the pool, evening meals on the terrace as the sun set, perfect!!!

The walk down to the town was great but I would recommend the bus back in summer temperatures!

We all agreed that we would recommend this Hotel to anyone who wants to visit the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband & I travelled with Riviera Travel and chose the hotel from reviews on Trip Advisor, we were not dissapointed. As we were celebrating a special birthday we requested and paid for a room with a sea view and were given room 1 on the ground floor. We were delighted it had a small balcony with table and chairs and had an amazing view of the Bay of Naples and vesuvius. The staff were very friendly and helped with any queries suggesting for example where we might find the best' Limoncello' a wonderful locally produced lemon alcoholic drink drunk ice cold. (Try one of the shops producing their own). The restaurant staff were very good and although the choice of food was limited to 3 choices for each course which you order at breakfast they accommodated my meal preferences (I'm vegetarian, another lady in our group was gluten intolerant but every day special bread was provided for her). We could not have wished for a better hotel and hope to return again one day.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which a previous reviewer found to be noisy, we found it to be delightful I believe an annexe has been created which means the room is now very quiet.. It has a small balcony with an amazing view of Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. Rooms 2 & 3 are adjacent and I expect would have the same wonderful views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMJDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here after reading TripAdvisor reviews and it was an excellent choice. We had a nice room with a balcony, not enormous but plenty of room for the three of us.

Breakfast was excellent, especially in the last few days when the terrace was made available.

We were on foot, but the 15 minute path down to the town centre was fine for us. One thing the hotel should od is have an explanation on their website of how to find this path, we walked round by the road on arrival which was a little harrowing.

The hotel was very quiet a nice haven away from the bustle of Sorrento, which we found preferable, I suspect some of the hotels in the centre of Sorrento would be noisy at night. We had originally planned to move on to Amalfi, but we were so happy with La Badia that we extended our stay and made it our base for exploring the coast.

It is a family run hotel and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. For example when we left a bag on the local bus they took the trouble to ring the bus company for us.

Excellent value for money given the area and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Lovely three star hotel with plenty of parking. Shortcut walk to town is great but as steep as other reviews mention- sensible shoes a must

One area of improvement is the optional evening meal. Staff are very proud of food but unfortunately in reality it is pretty average. Only when you cannot face the shortcut!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiMark69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews