We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remember to stop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sedile Dominova

Sedile Dominova
Fiumicello - Santa Venere, Italy
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Remember to stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Easy to walk right by, but do take a minute and read the multi language legend that describes what used to be the meeting place of the aristocrats to discuss politics and religion and is now a workers meeting place. Right in the heart of the twisting winding cobblestone streets filled with the tourist shops!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank sben325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    35
    15
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beenleigh
Level Contributor
202 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful Entrance Foyer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We discovered this place whilst walking down the laneway to our accommodation. We were very impressed with the entrance foyer with its colourful frescoes. It was being used that day by choral singers so we could not get a good look inside. Good photo opportunity.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamJBeenleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome Nativity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

It's a unique place, you have to see it, we had the opportunity to admire the Nativity (it was packed) during XMas week... just a dream

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ccavaz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Power to the people!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Another of the sights worth taking in as you wander round Sorrento. The perspective work took me in at first glance before I realised I couldn't be looking at what I thought I was.
The other thing that tickled me was that it used to be a meeting place for the nobles to discuss city affairs, now it's a workers club.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Grommet_Small
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanger, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Cool- Needs Marketing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2008

This is where the men of the area use to sit down and discuss politics and religion back in Sorrento's heyday- 400 years ago. The building is 16th-century, but it appears to be still used by the old men of the area to just sit and talk. The Sedile is not out-of-the-way, so you'll pass by it on your way to eat or drink. The place needs more information on its significance (and some restoration) to make it more than just a place to stop and go, "Oh, cool" before moving on. Fodor's gives this place a "Fodor's Choice"; I wouldn't go that far.

Helpful?
6 Thank chrisincalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sedile Dominova also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Sedile Dominova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing