We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ISSA REELY GREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Ranked #42 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

top location.. great room & view... brilliant food & service that will henceforth set the standard. Here you are really in the heart of Sorrento. Not away on the clifftops. SDtay here .. you will LOVE it!

Room Tip: Get a 'Harbourside' room...(*01-*04) great view but more privacy that the 'Full Sea View...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

555 - 561 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed for 10 days recently and highly recommend this hotel. The room was spotlessly clean with fresh towels and linen most days. We had a room overlooking the pool at the front but requested a room with a large balcony, we were moved on change over day to 305.This room was much bigger and the view incredible - nothing was too much trouble.

We see many comments about the mashed potato and cherry tomato as vegetables with the main course. Didn't people realise this was the garnish and there was an array of vegetables and salad for selection at the side to help yourself too.

The staff were all very friendly and always ready to help.

Should we go back to Sorrento we will definitely stay at The Admiral. It is away from the busy centre of Sorrento in Marina Grande, which is more like a village with a few bars and places to eat. Maybe the walk into the centre is a little steep but the local bus runs every 30 mins, so no problem.

If you want 5 star this is not the hotel for you but as a 3 star it is excellent value with 5 star views across to Naples and Versuvios.

Room Tip: The larger front rooms with a large balcony are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

There is a one and half transfer time from the airport to the hotel - including a swap over to a mini bus once you're in Sorrento for the final 10 minutes of the journey. If you can, sit on the right hand side of the transfer coach from the airport for some truly stunning coastal scenery.

On arrival check-in was quick, receptionists were friendly, but our room wasn't ready. We really didn't mind because we were able to sit outside on the terrace with a couple of beers and take in the amazing views across the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, which was a lovely start to our holiday. There is a small pool on site, but we didn't use it. Also looks like it would be shaded from the sun so quite cold.

We were very lucky to have room 105 - possibly one of the best in the hotel with a very large balcony. It's worth mentioning that the hotel has had a bit of an update since some of the pictures on this and other sites and is now whitewashed exterior with a mostly white decor. The room and large bathroom was spotlessly clean, as were all the main public areas. The bed was comfy, plenty of space in the room for us - the only thing we struggled with for the first couple of nights was the sound of the bells chiming from the nearby church (on the hour, quarter past, half past and quarter to!) Charming during the day, annoying at 4am ;)

The hotel is located away from the hustle and bustle of the center which is reached by a fairly steep walk up some steps (about 10-15 minutes) or there is a bus stop. It's also about a 20 minute walk to Marina Piccolo where you can catch the ferry across to Capri etc. and about the same to the train station if you wanted to brave public transport to get to Pompeii or Herculaneum. There is no entertainment to speak of apart from Gala night and an occasional turn from a Phoenix Nights style singer/keyboard player. Might not be the place for you if you like a bit more to do, or more of a atmosphere, but I guess you could always wander up into town (but take a torch for the walk back!) or even just stay in the Marina - more about that later.

As we were half board, we ate in the hotel on our first night - we've never done half board before, we usually self cater but this wasn't an option here. Unfortunately it's the food lets this place down, served lukewarm, and always accompanied by a splodge of piped mash with a raw carrot on top. Breakfast is also a below-par experience: standard continental buffet, including the now infamous cold fried eggs (as mentioned in other reviews), and coffee even a motorway service station would be ashamed to serve! Also, I didn't think the waiting staff ever looked happy to be there - maybe they were embarrassed by the quality of food they were serving! Despite this, we did attend the buffet and Gala nights with friends and they were a bit better. Watch out for the barman offering you a limoncello at the end of your meal - we assumed it was free and was then charged 4 Euros each for what was essentially weak alcoholic lemon squash!

On the plus side, the poor standard of food gave us the perfect excuse to get out of the hotel and eat at some of the amazing restaurants right outside the hotel along the Marina Grande, but I appreciate not everyone would want to do this if they had paid half board. Avoid the place closest to the hotel, looked a bit 'touristy' - our favorite was the fish restaurant owned by a co-op of fishermen near the steps - perfectly cooked fresh food and they are never in a rush for you to leave. We went with friends and drank them out of beer one night - oops! - also do great espresso and you get a proper (free) limoncello with your bill. Just keep your head down when you pass the Five Sisters place, she'll hassle you to go in but the place (and the owner) looks like it could do with a good wash... Good espresso and cheapest beer on the Marina can be found at Nonna Emilia's bar (past Emilia's Tratorria) just by the entrance to steps on the left hand side of the Marina. I would recommend eating on the Marina rather than walking up into Sorrento - it's much more authentic, and it's where you'll find all the locals eating so it must be good!

So, in summary... Location is excellent (especially if you request a seaview room) but best to treat it like a self catering holiday then you won't be disappointed by the food! We would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barneybear75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Hotel Admiral , this is not the first time we have visited Sorrento and I must say that this hotel must have one of the best views in sorrento as it looks out directly over the sea across to Versuvius and Naples and it is wonderful to sit and take in the views either from your balcony(if you have booked a sea view) or the terrace whilst having drinks of an evening.Most of the other hotels are either on a cliff face overlooking the sea or in the town.
The room we had was room 302 which was classed as a partial sea view but had a lovely view of the sea and the Marina and it was great watching the sun come up of a morning directly ourside our window, unfortunately it was spoilt a few days later when sunbathing on the balcony we noticed a chap from a building opposite looking into our room with binnoculars. We did report this to Liz the Thompson rep who took it very seriously and acted promptly by ensuring our room was changed the following morning from the side of the hotel to the front.(Apparently we weren't the first staying in this room to report a similar incident).This did not stop us having a pleasant stay. The hotel itself I would rate somewhere between 3 and 4 star, there are one or two things lacking such as a fridge and kettle in the rooms and although quite a good breakfast the evening meal is fine but a little bland and the entertainment provided of an evening a little dated. Also wireless internet in reception not great and would be better if a connection in rooms was available.This said still a good hotel, spotlessly clean with very pleasant and helpful staff in a lovely location and a lot quieter than in some of the busier areas.There is a decent sized terrace and swimming pool and the lounge area is light and airy with a bar that is open all day to serve either alcoholic drinks or beverages

The Admiral is situated in Marina Grande which despite its name is smaller and older than Marina Piccolo and other than the hotel and a couple of restaurants and cafes it is mainly occupied by fishermen and a few well fed cats, all of which add to its charm . I would happily recommend this hotel (unfortunately just not room 302 ,shame !)

Room Tip: Make sure when booking you ask for sea view, I would not recommend room 302.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poochette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

First off, this hotel has a really nice atmosphere. The staff are friendly and helpful and the restaurant and bar staff are characterful. Second, the location, facing the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius, is hard to beat, and Marina Grande, where the hotel is located, is a lovely, quiet place full of charm, which you might feel is preferable to being in busy Sorrento, though it is a fairly strenuous 15-minute uphill walk to the town (there are buses...)

But...

We had a pretty basic room which had little space to store your stuff (and no balcony, safe or mini-bar). That's OK - we got a cheap deal, after all. But the shower room was a bit of a disaster, with a silly, very high-up fixed shower-head over a shallow shower-tray surrounded on two sides by an almost useless, flimsy shower curtain. Not flooding the shower room whilst having a shower was an art unto itself. OK, that's just wacky, but not wacky was the state of the curtain (torn), the shower head (severely scaled-up), and the dirty grouting. We complained at the first opportunity to the Thomson rep but this resulted in no action. Thomson will be hearing from us.

You could get a decent breakfast if you were discriminating - they had the knack of scrambled eggs, but if you wanted fried eggs you had to like 'em stone cold. The rolls at both breakfast and evening meal could have been used to kill a man at 50 paces, they were so hard. However, it was easy enough to make do. Outrageous was the fact that if you wanted a cappuccino or espresso at breakfast, as opposed to the rocket-fuel coffee, you had to pay extra!! And this is Italy!!! Evening meals were generally acceptable though uninspiring, not bad enough to drive you out to local eateries. The main exception for us was the buffet night. We waited an hour for our table to be called to the spread, by which time everything was stone cold, including stuff that was meant to be hot, such as arrabbiata penne and fish in batter. Yuk! The restaurant wine is grossly overpriced for a three-star hotel, so a spot of preloading (and post-loading) might be in order! And don't let them foist what you might think is free limoncello on you. It is far from free! Shame about the lack of minibar...

However, in spite of the gripes that have taken up too much of this review, we did have a great holiday here. It's a really friendly old place, and, if you're on a budget and don't mind somewhat basic facilities, this is a great place to stay.

Bear in mind that the hotel is in the shade from early afternoon onward.

Room Tip: "French balcony" does not mean "balcony". If possible, get a room at the front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kernowsteve51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We are just back from 7 nights at this hotel, its clean, tidy, its a 3 star hotel, and it came up to the standards, the staff are friendly and helpful. We were on half board and the breakfasts were adequate, alright not outstanding but always something that you could choose. The evening meals were good, plenty of choices, fish, meat, pasta, I think people expect too much you know what your getting when you book. The gala night was excellent, under the circumstances of terrible weather it was performed in the Dining room so the entertainers had little room, but everyone thoroughly enjoyed the music and the food. The excellent position of this hotel makes it such a pleasant experience and for the price you pay, you can have an evening meal out at one of the many restaurants around the bay. THe views across the bays are to die for and make up for any down fall. Go for it, we had a lovely time. We did the trip to Pompei and the Amalfi drive Select with|Thomsons which were very good. We also went to Capri on our own, and also used the very cheap public transport to other resorts. All in all a good holiday, just a shame about the weather but you make the most of it. We would return to this hotel again. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are on the front excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katy161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just got back from a 1 week holiday at the Admiral which we booked through Thomson.

LOCATION: Was about an hour and a half transfer time from Airport . Along the way we got to see the other hotels that passengers were being dropped off at and I have to say in my opinion the Admiral was definitely in the best location - it was an absolutely stunning. There were a few hotels that the big coaches couldn't get to. Not a problem as we were met by a mini bus in a car park nearby which took us to the bottom of the marina. A small van picked our luggage up and took it direct to the hotel and we had about a minute walk to get to the hotel. I have read reviews with people moaning about this which I'm confused by as it is such a short walk and how can people complain when the location is so beautiful! In the Marina there were a few lovely restaurants owned by the fisherman and at the end of the Marina there are steps which lead up to Sorrento (about a 10min walk).

HOTEL: Hotel was spotlessly clean. We paid extra for full sea view room which we were glad about as the views from our balcony was amazing. The rooms were a nice size. There was a safe in the room which was free to use. The bathroom was a little outdated but clean nevertheless. Staff at the hotel were professional. There's a small pool and sun loungers on the terrace although we didn't use this as the hotel didn't get a great deal of sun - there were sun loungers at the restaurant next to the hotel which are apparently free to use for Admiral guests. The tourist tax charge for this hotel was 1.50euro per person per night (21euros for the both of us for the week). This gets added to your bar tab which you pay at the end of your stay by cash or card.

FOOD/DRINK: We were on a half board basis. The food was ok. Breakfast was a buffet consisting of cereals, yoghurts, croissants, breads, eggs, meat etc. We only ate an evening meal here twice as the food in the local restaurants was so gorgeous. One of the evening meals we had at the hotel was on gala night which was great fun. The other was a sit down meal which had a good choice of food on the menu. Although we were half board you still have to pay for the drinks you have with your evening meal. The prices of drinks were pretty much what you would pay anywhere in Sorrento (approx. 2.50 euro for soft drinks and approx. 4-6 euro for alcoholic drinks).

OUT AND ABOUT: We only did one excursion through Thomson - Vesuvius 4 x 4 where we went to Mount Vesuvius then taken to a vineyard where we had a gorgeous meal and lovely wine tasting. It was 85euros each but a very good excursion. The rest of the days out we did we organised ourselves. The train/bus station was a 20 min walk from the hotel and very cheap/easy to use. For example we went to Pompeii on the train and tickets were about 4euro each return. We visited Positano by bus an all day ticket to use any of the buses was just over 7 euros. The Thomson rep did a walkabout Sorrento tour which was free of charge, Would recommend you go on this as she points out some nice restaurants and shops and you get some free tasters along the way.

All in all a really nice holiday. The location of the hotel is absolutely amazing - If I was coming back here I would definitely stay at the admiral again and I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mevagissymissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
1,589 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#51 of 100 in Sorrento
475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Sorrento

Address: Via Marina Grande 218, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $106 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Admiral Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing