We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Ranked #41 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was in a lovely position right on the sea. It's worth paying extra for a full sea view. Breakfast was the same throughout our stay though and the drinks were expensive. I would go earlier than October though if I go again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    320
    139
    38
    19
See reviews for
104
661
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Overall, we had a fantastic holiday at the admiral. The hotel was situated on the smaller marina slightly out if the town - some reveiwers have posted this as a negative, however, I prefered this as the area was more authentic with a selection of lovely restaurants by the sea. There is also a short walk uphill into the town, which again, I quite liked as there is some lovely views along the way.
The rooms are lovely with stunning views across the sea, and probably the best in sorrento for the price you pay. One night we stayed for the gala dinner which was probably my favourite night watching the sun set over mount versuvious.
The staff too are fantastic, and on a number of occasions went out of their way to help us or make our stay more comfortable.
The only negative I have is that the pool hardly gets any sun and is very cold. I did not use it because of this reason.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Laurajayne1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEMBROKESHIRE WALES
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

After a long journey from the airport after dropping people of at different hotels we didnt arrive until very late in the evening. I would reccomend a private transfer it took us nearly 2hrs to get to the Hotel Admiral.
We were welcomed at reception and checked in promptly. The reception area was small it also contained the bar area for the hotel. There was a cold snack left in the dinning room for us to eat we could take it to our room if we wanted. A bottle of wine and a card with a message welcomed us.
We chose to go halfboard and requested a room on the top floor with a side sea view we didnt want extra noise from people above us. We got the side seaview but not on the top floor. The rooms were clean but very cramped just enough room to get around the bed to the balcony which had a fabulous view. Unfortunately we did get the noise, after a tiring journey all we wanted was a good nights sleep to start our holiday refreshed the following day. Just about to fall asleep and all we could hear was ooh John, ooh John, I must say we did have a giggle spending the rest of the holiday guessing who John was, there was many to choose from. We also had an early awakeing every morning at 6am by the bottle bank being emptied. So if you choose a side sea view do not choose the rightside of the hotel when you are looking at it from out at sea.
The food wasnt brilliant and we were not sure what halfboard included it took us a couple of days to work it out as the head waiter made you feel stupid when asking. There was two evenings when the hotel provided a buffet outside on the decking and this was lovely and the food on both these evenings was fantastic.
We did meet some lovely people at the hotel and still keep in touch with some of them. The people we met on holiday had a top floor room with a very large balcony with sea view I would recomend paying extra for this.
It would have been nice if the pool was heated as by the afternoon it was in the shade and even though the weather was very hot when we visited the pool was icecold all of the time there was only ever a couple of people in it at one time it hardly ever got used. There was free towels for the pool which was good, deckchairs were also provided but sun beds would have been better for sunbathing.
Like other reviews we did get the same Faulty Towers feel about the place. The location of the hotel is what makes it worth a visit the sun decking over hangs the bay and the views from here are amazing.
Italy itself is a favourite holiday destination for us so we would always return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Relax1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levi, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in May 2012.

Location: This hotel is in the Marina Grande area in Sorrento, not in the centre but a short walk away. The location is just amazing, literally on the water. Straight view to the bay and marina area. This area is really cozy and looks a bit more "authentic italian" vs. the busy tourist central of Sorrento. Cats running around, small corner shops, old italian grandma's waiting for the bus. It was like the time had stopped there.

Room: We had a top floor room with a huge terrace. The view from it was just AMAZING! All of the rooms have good views, but I have to say we had the best. ;) Most of the rooms have a small balcony. The room was good, twin beds, TV, bathroom. A bit basic but we didn't really spend much time in the room anyway.

Restaurant: We ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel restaurant every night. The breakfast and dinner was good.

Pool area: Looked quite nice but we didn't spend any time there as we were busy sightseeing every day. :)

If I go back to Sorrento I would probably stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SummerSun83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castledawson, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here several years ago.
The staff and service was like faulty towers.
The food wasnt great and very little choice.
But the view from the hotel room was amazing. Watching cruise ship pass by at night.
Would i go back. If i could book room only, yes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shannady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

quiant fishing village, but hilly. catch the loical bus into sorrento at the harbour, hotel basic but friendly stafff and good food, do take a trip to capri beautifuland also a drive along the amalfi coast;

Room Tip: ask for a room with view of harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Yes - this hotel is in a simply perfect location.

Situated in the heart of Sorrento but away from the busy main streets.
The hotel is at the far end of Marina Grande which gives it a little privacy.
Marina Grande is far from huge. It's a small and quaint port filled with fishing boats, a little church and 3/4 good restaurants - with freshly caught fish and wine as cheap as water! It's full of locals and has a wonderful family atmosphere.

It's about a 10/15 minute stroll up hill to the town (not too steep) - be prepared for some STUNNING views. (Or there is also a little bus that will take you there if you are unable to walk). Sorrento itself is full of little shops, restaurants and designer shops - TIP: explore for the first time in the evening :)

Whats great about Sorrento is that you have lots to do locally - BUT - if you like to explore it is brilliantly connected. A 20 minute walk from the Hotel will take you to the bus depot. Here you can explore Positano and the Almalfi Coast. (Which no photograph on google images can do justice to). Be prepared again for some stunning scenery. TIP: Sit on the left side of the bus if you are afraid of heights - the roads are narrow and it's a long way down...). Hop off and be prepared for some lovely beaches.

Next to the bus station is the train station! Hurrah! Go to Naples for the day, Pompeii or even ROME if you wish!

All tickets are extremely cheap and easy to use.

If you want to venture to an island walk from the Hotel to it's next door Marina - Marina Piccola. Here you can catch a boat to the stunning Capri, Ischia or Procida. Go the Blue Lagoon in Capri!

What I will also stress is that you don't have to be an experienced traveller or innate explorer to do any of these things. My boyfriend and I went here on our first holiday away together and managed everything with a little italian phrase book.

- THE HOTEL -

Brilliant value for money. The food is incredible. We stayed half board and it was marvellous to come back after a day of exploring to a three course meal and wonderful friendly service.
The rooms were basic and it's certainly not the hotel to stay in if all you enjoy staying in and swimming in the pool - although it does have a small one on the terrace.
A few nights a week you eat out on the terrace over the gorgeous calm sea, with candle light watching a local fishermen in a tiny boat lay out his nets for the morning.

It's magic. Go and stay here. You wont be disappointed.

I'm organising my second visit.....

Room Tip: If you are at the back of the building you will hear them emptying the bottle bins at about 7:30am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Simona0800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Sorrento

Property: Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Address: Via Marina Grande 218, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Admiral Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing