We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 7 has bed bugs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casale Antonietta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casale Antonietta
Ranked #41 of 124 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Thornton, Colorado
1 review
“Room 7 has bed bugs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Neat bed and breakfast, pretty area. Our car got stuck on the dirt switchback getting out of the hotel grounds. Took 4 people pushing our car up the hill to get it onto the main road. Our room was infested with bed bugs....crawling all over the bed and up the walls. Dinner was good, but didn't make up for the rest of the stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guyzer820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    99
    47
    25
    25
See reviews for
57
162
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Staying at this property reminded me that you really need to think about what YOU'RE looking for in accommodation before reading too many reviews. To be honest, a lot of the reviews are strictly accurate, but for us, this was a truly wonderful place to stay.

Yes, the walk up is a little steep, but i really have to question those who claimed to use the gym regularly yet find this difficult. I am by no means fit, yet it was very manageable. Would be a bit of a pain with suitcases/packs, but that's only when you're arriving. (downhill when you're leaving!) Plus the taxi driver who took us from the Sorrento train station (can stay here without a car) took us to another entrance that allowed us to walk across a flat driveway to the accommodation, rather than dropping us at the bottom of the hill.

All of the staff probably don't behave like the staff at a chain motel, but the friendly, natural approach suited us down to the ground. The food was lovely, the staff were attentive, and in the best way (without them being intrusive or overly familiar) you felt like you were staying in a real place, a real home.

We did a day trip to Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii organised by the hotel, with the bus collecting us from the main road - so it was no problem not having a car here. The hotel is well serviced by local buses and other tourist options.

The views were gorgeous, and just down the hill and a 5 or so minute walk turning left at the main road took you to a gorgeous little village with only a couple of cafes and shops. Somewhere away from the tourist traps that let you experience a little bit of the real Italy.

The room's weren't super modern, but well equipped, clean, spacious and inviting. We loved lazing around the grounds, playing with the dogs. Dogs who were friendly and well behaved yet only approached you if you approached them. If you're looking for a break for a few days, somewhere in the country, and are prepared to sacrifice the odd thing that comes with impersonal, clinical chain type hotels, then this place can not be beaten. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massa, Italy
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have stayed only 2 nights, but we enjoyed it. Nice modern rooms. Good choice of breakfast. Nice staff ready to help. There is only one problem - if you want to come in a big car - it is impossible - the road is very narrow! We didn't know that and we have had big problems arriving. Otherwise everything ok :) Amazing lookout - you can see Napoli and Vesuvio.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank venerdi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a lovely stay here in late September, Alex and Anna were very friendly and helpful, the food and home made wine were excellent, and our accommodation was a delightful self contained room overlooking the bay of Naples and Vesuvious.
Yes, the road outside can be challenging, but you can also go up and over the hillside on a charming walk into Sorrento which is simply beautiful. We had a lovely holiday here, and would like to thank the staff for making it really memorable.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I totally agree with most of the previous reviews re location of the casale but this isn't really the owners fault, as it is in a pretty, rural/rustic setting - mostly quiet, except for lots of local dogs barking through the night!

However I feel that accessibility to/from the accommodation is poor and not supported by local buses and taxis. Again this is not the owners fault, but maybe they (and travel agents?) should take part responsibility for improving conditions and warning people about the steep, dark access paths (even the taxis and airport transfer cars will not go there). The walk to Sorrento from the casale isn't too bad in itself but the lack of footpaths on both sides of the only (fast and busy) road, especially after dark, is treacherours to say the least! In such a remote location, the buses will only go from a point reached after a 10 min brisk walk amidst the traffic, which isn't very helpful.

My other criticism is about the room we stayed in - the bed was uncomfortable (2 saggy singles pushed together) and full of bed bugs! My husband and I got bitten several times but thought they were mosquito bites - until the end of our holiday when we woke up in the middle of the night to find them crawling on us and visible in the bedding! Apart from that, the room appeared clean and well equipped/maintained. It was basic, but in keeping with the whole setting of the accommodation.

The best part about the stay was Alex, who runs the place, and couldn't do enough for his guests. We've never seen anyone work so hard and he was very helpful throughout the stay. I'm sure if we'd found out about the bed bugs sooner he would have done something about it.

Room Tip: Try to look at other rooms if possible and check the bedding at night after the lights are off for b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have read the other reviews, and I understand some of the comments: yes, it is a set away from Sorrento center and the walk is a little daunting, yes it is at the end of a very steep path and/or road ( we had 1/2 inch spare on each side of the car WITH the wing mirrors pulled in!) That all being said, we had a a fabulous stay. We wanted a quiet, quaint, typically Italian bed and breakfast, and we didn't want to stay in a busy town center. Casale Antonietta was perfect for us.

It is set next to its own lemon grove, on the side of a hill overlooking the Bay of Naples with Vesuvius in the distance; the views are beautiful. We had the guest house which was beautifully clean and comfortable. It was lovely to sit on the patio eating locally bought bread, ham, and cheese, and drinking locally wine - 2 euros and delicious!!! We walked down the steep hills to the beach and into Sorrento each day, and yes it took 15/ 20 minutes, and the lack of pathways took some getting used to, but just embrace the Italian experience. I loved the exercise because it justified the excesses of food and vino!

What made the trip for us was Anna. Nothing was too much trouble for her. She is friendly and helpful, and her English is great. Ask her about Restaurant Maremeo beneath the cliffs in Sorrento: I guarantee that you won't be disappointed. The restaurant sent us a taxi to pick us up and return us - free of charge! Sitting on their pier, eating the most exquisite seafood in the moonlight is a memory that I will always treasure. Thank you Anna for your recommendation!

I phoned to book our stay. I spoke to Anna who then confirmed the details through emails. I think that would avoid double booking problems.

I do think that this might be a difficult place to stay if you're not very mobile, but it was exactly want we were looking for, and I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Having read the reviews on here I'm prompted to add my own.

We visited some time ago and after dragging our cases up the hill were promptly told that there was no booking for us and that the manager wasn't available. The receptionist (Alex I think) "didn't speak english" - (I put in quotes, because we later found out he did). We were bundled down to a (very cheap feeling, run down, bleach scented) hotel down the hill who were clearly expecting us.

12 hours later we were picked up (an hour late) to be taken back to Casale Antoinetta. We were shown around. Couple of points;

The "gym" was a rusty old weider weights bench in the garden. It's falling to bits.
The "pool" was an oversized paddling pool, a temporary structure you might find at a festival.

We met our neighbours who told us that the owners had tried to pull the same trick on them and bundle them off to another hotel.

Things did get better after that. Room was nice enough, breakfast ok, I quite liked the location, however it is VERY inconvenient to get to from sorrento and taxis were a fortune.

However I think it is clear that the management are allowing double bookings to occur and have an arrangement with a hotel down the road for overflow. They're obviously not pulling this on everyone, but if you're unfortunate to be the one double booked, you won't have any fun the first night. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mister_Ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#79 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Sabrina Relais
Villa Sabrina Relais
#71 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Igea
Hotel Villa Igea
#87 of 100 in Sorrento
3.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#73 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sorrento Town Suites
Sorrento Town Suites
#60 of 124 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sorrento Relais
Sorrento Relais
#26 of 124 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casale Antonietta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casale Antonietta

Property: Casale Antonietta
Address: Via Traversa Pantano 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casale Antonietta 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1700 completely immersed in the nature, far from the city noises but at the same time only 1 km from the centre of Sorrento. Overlooking the lively Gulf of Naples, 1 km away from the ruins of the ancient Roman Villa Pollio and from well equipped beaches. Thanks to its favorable position it will be very easy to reach the most famous touristic places by hydrofoil (Capri, Naples, Ischia, Procida, Positano) or by train (Naples, Pompeii and Herculaneum). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casale Antonietta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casale Antonietta Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing