We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Goldentours International - Private Day Tours
Open today: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Goldentours International - Private Day Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Goldentours International - Private Day Tours
from $24.18
More Info
from $135.85
More Info
from $54.11
More Info
from $64.47
More Info
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
78
25
13
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
25
13
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pompeii vesuvius boat trip half day trip amalfi coast knowledgeable guide chair lift fantastic trip would highly recommend this tour two hours dropped off points of interest excellent tour private tour excellent service crater sites tiberias
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 131 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

This tour was very efficiently done. Pick up from hotel was on time and guide did a fluent commentary in English and French. She knew her way around Pompei and so showed us the forum / theatre and good examples of shops, houses, baths etc., whilst trying to avoid the worst queues and crowds. There was an hour just outside the site for lunch (€14 extra or you could sit outside on the terrace to eat your own) and then a drive to Vesuvius where 90 minutes was allowed for anyone to climb the remaining 1000 meters to the rim of the crater and walk the path which goes halfway round the rim before rejoining the coach. We did manage the full walk but it took us the full time, with a few stops for photos, but at a good pace. I would recommend walking shoes/boots or trainers as the path is stony and loose grit.

My main issue was that Goldentours should make it clear that the extras - entrance fees at Pompei and Vesuvius - are both payable in cash on the coach to the tour guide, so that she can purchase a group ticket, so you need to be aware to carry enough cash. €15 Pompei and €10 Vesuvius. I didn’t eat lunch so can’t say whether the restaurant visited (Tiberius, Pompei) took card payment. It would also have been useful to have a guide as to timings at the time of booking.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 378lizh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

The tour was great, the tour bus picked us up on time at our meeting location. Sandra, our tour guide, was outstanding, she called us her extended family and made everyone's day very enjoyable. I would highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank steveo396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

We did the half day trip to Mount Vesuvius by coach.

After a lot of commotion at the bus park we eventually found our coach which left on time.

Not much of an issue but it would be so much easier if they put a sign at the front of the coach with the destination.

Our guide Sophie was nice if a bit over the top.

Mount Vesuvius is well worth visiting as the views are stunning.

On the return to Sorrento the bus stopped at a mineral museum which wasn't advertised.

Frankly judging by the look on most people's faces they could have done without the stop.

It was reasonably interesting but you are tired and hot after climbing Vesuvius in the heat and just want to get back for a shower.

Our other gripe was the lack of air conditioning on the coach.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank garyj696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018

We booked a Semi Private Boat Tour of Amalfi coast from Piano de Sorrento. Advertised as being run by Goldentours (an established tour company that run a lot of coach tours) we booked with Trip Advisor, got a confirmation from Viator and an email saying that Goldentours pick up was 9.50 from hotel.
Pick up was 30 mins late. Goldentours phone number was unobtainable. Got taken to a drop off point at Piano de Sorrento where we joined 80+ people and marched down the road to an escalator and along another road to the You Know! Office. Never heard of this company - where were Goldentours? Total shambles, waited for everyone to ‘check in’ - 8 boats in total. Our group was 18, not 12, but the plus side was we got a bigger and more comfortable boat. Boat left over an hour late. Boat trip was very pleasant with a great crew. 2 swimming stops. The English speaking host was a student who didn’t have a clue. No tannoy system so he just told a few people what we were looking at. Didn’t arrive in Amalfi until 2pm and the 2 hr stop was reduced to 1.5hrs - time for a drink and lunch but not enough time to see the cathedral or any other sights. Had another 1.5hrs in Positano where there wasn’t really enough to do other than look round the shops. We expected to get back around 5.30 but didn’t get back to the port until almost 7pm. We were taken back to the office, the young students working for You Know! didn’t know what to do with us - rang to find out, told us to wait for another boat coming in, then taken up escalator, left standing in street for 20 mins, eventually got taken to the minibuses at 7.45pm. Drivers were annoyed as they had been there waiting for us. Eventually got dropped off at hotel at almost 8pm (and we were first drop off!). In summary, a nice boat trip was ruined by the amaturish and unprofessional You Know! company that seems to only employ young students and is a sub contractor of other larger tour companies.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile



We booked the 8hr €110pp Amalfi & Positano trip through an agent on the west end of Sorrento for a 9:20am pick up. At 9:30 on the day, the transfer had not arrived so we called Golden Tours who had no record of our booking. After 10 minutes on the phone they found our booking and we were told the driver was stuck in traffic and eventually picked us 30 mins late at 9:50.

The transfer then proceeded to pick up the remaining guests and joined up with other busses. We were then marched to an elevator down to the port where we checked in and left at 11am.

The boat skipper was friendly and professional and the day started well, however we did not get the following offered on the tour:
-Snorkelling: We swam but not near enough to anything that required snorkel gear
-Limoncello Tasting: Not offered
-Stop at the Emerald Grotto: Not offered

We were offered 1 hour in Amalfi and Positano, and then the weather took a turn and we proceeded at a slow pace back to port for 5:45pm.

There is another tour offered in town for €50pp including pick up and both towns. I suggest you take this option as the extra €60pp for this trip is not worth it.

Date of experience: June 2018
3  Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews