We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning Views”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Annie

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sorrento, Province of Naples, Campania

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Zoe B
Chard, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Owner stayed up late to let us in and provided us with breakfast, along with wine and fruit - which was a nice touch. The property does indeed afford stunning views, is spacious, has the benefit of a pool and gardens, along with parking. It is located off a very windy road (typical of this part of Italy), there is a private electric gate into the property with other properties surrounding it and the 'Castro' venue. We were told that there would be an event on the Tuesday evening and that we were invited to attend, little did we understand that it would start at 11.00 p.m. and that the pounding music would continue until 4.30 a.m. As mentioned in earlier reviews, we did close the shutters, but this merely made the problem worse as they literally shuddered with the loud base music. A wedding was held on the Thursday evening, again the music started at 11.00 p.m. and didn't stop till 2.30 a.m. We have no problem with people enjoying themselves but it really did put the dampers on our family holiday. Naples, Capri, Amalfi, Pompeii all with an hour or so drive, but as mentioned previously the roads and drivers are a nightmare, it takes approx. 20 minutes to reach 'normal' roads. We drove to Rome (approx. 3 hours) which was well worth the effort and stayed overnight. Loved the scenery and the warmth, a beautiful part of Italy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flossymal...
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chalet, view and hosts perfect but .....”
Reviewed August 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Chalet Annie is in a wonderful position and a lovely place to stay - if you don't mind music most nights. The Chalet is situated next to a restaurant/bar that isn't open to the public but is a wedding venue. 11 out of the 14 nights we were there, there was a disco after each wedding. The first we experienced kept us awake beyond 2 am with very loud booming pop music, exacerbated because the disco end of the wedding venue was immediately in front of the Chalet. A firm chat with staff at the Restaurant and a complaint to the owners did reduce the noise immediately but it was still audible throughout our stay . It would have been helpful to have had information about this prior to booking - we wouldn't have chosen to go to Chalet Annie.
Having said that Tiziana, the owner, (who we also found has some interest in the wedding venue) was more than responsive to our requests and couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Her husband attended almost immediately when a chunk of wood with a couple of 4" nails sticking out, fell from the eaves of part of the building and missed my head by a hairs breadth! The same response was received when, unknown to ourselves, the pump in the pool needed replacing.
Chalet Annie is situated in a perfect rural position but this comes with a price - no shops etc. It would have been helpful to have some information to hand in the Chalet explaining the local area, where the closest shops were, things to see and do, good restaurants etc. There were a number of promotional leaflets in the Chalet about things to do in Sorrento which is 15 kms away..
We also really struggled finding Chalet Annie on arrival as the place name is exceedingly small and not within visual distance from the road. Improvements could be made to directions by using the national road sign that sits immediately outside of the complex.
A final point of constructive criticism would be to remove the small area of 'lawn' which was full of ants and weeds, to create a viewing terrace for the breath-taking panorama.
I am sure many people have stayed at Chalet Annie and enjoyed their break, as we did. There were just some things that got in the way for us.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen C
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little slice of Italian heaven”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 10 days at the start of July. The chalet was very big, clean and well equipped. What really makes the property is the breathtaking panoramic views from the garden and balcony. The pool was the perfect retreat from the heat and it felt like you were in your own infinity pool overlooking the Neapolitan Riviera. We hired a car for the duration of our holiday and I would say a car is a must in terms of the location - your roughly 20-25 mins drive from the centre of sorrento. We absolutely loved our stay here. Tiziana and her father were really hospitable and if you needed any help or advice booking tours etc she was happy to help. I know a few people have mentioned the music from castore which was in front of the chalet. I think it's mainly a wedding/private function venue. The music was loud but not so that it really bothered us. I think if you have young children it may possibly cause a problem but they didn't have functions every night so maybe check the function bookings before you book? All in all a fantastic holiday!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
1 review
“Loved our stay at Chalet Annie!”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Chalet Annie with our family- 3 kids- ages 21, 20, and 11- as well as their Nonna. The house was immaculately cleaned and the views are beautiful. Tiziana was incredibly responsive to questions and helped with any questions. We were greeted in the mornings by Franco with fresh fruits and vegetables and a warm smile!
The only wish would have been to have kitchen staples available - salt, pepper, oil as the kitchen was well equipped except for those pantry basics.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emma67020...
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab chalet with amazing views”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We arrived at the Chalet on Monday 1st May. The chalet was amazing and the views were fabulous. The owner Tiziana was always at the end of the phone to answer any queries we had regarding Sorrento and even visited us to make sure we had everything. Tiziana's father came every morning to clean the pool and her husband was also around if we needed anything. The location is great as its close enough to visit everywhere we wanted to but far enough from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento. We went to the local restaurant and the owner couldn't do enough for us, the locals are so friendly. We had a car to get around but there's a bus stop right outside and Tiziana told us the bus times. I couldn't have asked for more from Chalet Annie it's was everything we'd hoped for. Thanks Tiziana.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare P
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Perfect base for exploring this area of Italy. Villa was clean & spacious & views are just breathtaking. Never got bored of looking out over the bay & seeing the sunset with a cold beer/ wine. Tiziana was always available for any help. The pool was a favourite with the kids & was cleaned daily.
We were quite luckily regarding the bar next door, as there was a party on only 1 of the 10 days we were there, as we didn't actually get back till gone 11, we closed the shutters & the music didn't really affect any one trying to sleep and was still done at midnight.
An absolute must if you visit is to go on the Sant A'gata du Golfi road train & visit Il Fienile restaurant.
We did have a car but found the buses & trains cheap & easy to use especially when visiting Sorrento & Pompeii.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside area, with table top football, pool & the view
Liked least: Only 2 sun loungers for 5 of us to share
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ P
Charmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Enchanting and perfect”
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Chalet Annie is an enchanting place to stay - a fantastic location, well equipped and very well maintained. We loved the design of the chalet and spent most time living and eating outside either in the garden or under the large covered patio which has subtle but effective night lighting. Franco cleaned and serviced the pool every day and a broken door handle was made secure and then replaced within 24 hours - excellent service from lovely friendly people. The walk to nearby Sant'Agata takes around 15 mins going (downhill) and 25 minutes back (uphill) - the road is busy and the driving is often 'enthusiastic' but we never felt in any danger. Some reviewers have mentioned the restaurant/venue next door which we didn't find troublesome - there was a wedding one night but the music was fine and it was all finished by 12:30 - no problem. Sant'Agata is an ideal local town with everything from good value supermarkets (Conad), several good fruit/veg/wine stores and a couple of excellent local butchers. Also, you must try Bar Orlando if only to hear about the legendary smoking cat!! One tip - if you drive here avoid large cars as the entrance to Chalet Annie is quite cosy and, in general, whilst the lovely winding roads are great fun they are often quite narrow and can get pretty congested especially when the buses come past! We will deffo return to Chalet Annie and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it especially to family groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing