We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrazza Marziale

Terrazza Marziale
Ranked #14 of 264 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
West Mids
Level Contributor
156 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We visited for an anniversary and we were absolutely delighted with our choice. The staff had just the right blend of attentiveness and discretion. We were made a fuss of as we arrived and given the table I'd expressly requested. Lovely food and wine in beautiful surroundings. I'd happily visit this place time and time again. Go there if you can. If I visit Sorrento again, I'll certainly revisit and also look into staying here. If the accommodation is as nice as the restaurant, then you'd be onto a winner. We spoke to the owner as we left and she was charming, very pleased we'd enjoyed ourselves and rightfully proud of what she's created.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Schnapped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    74
    26
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Marvellous Marziale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The entrance to the restaurant is quite unique through huge double doors into a sort of family home, but on ascending the stairs to the terrace the full charm of the place hits you. The weather at the end of October obviously helped, but to sit outside on the terrace in romantic Sorrento was absolutely delightful. The tables were well spaced and you got a feeling of private dining but in a lovely atmosphere of togetherness; the service from the restaurant staff, which was first class, also played its part in creating a dining experience to savour.
The food however, was the main thing to savour; portions not huge but the taste was superb, which is one of the main reasons for frequenting such establishments. An appetiser was followed by two delicious starters, more of the same for the main meal and topped off with desserts to revel in (my wife made her dessert one of the best of all time - great praise indeed); add to this wine by the glass that was not expensive and of very good quality, and you have the makings of a fabulous evening.
The end of October is the end of the main tourist season, but Terrazza Marziale had obviously maintained its high standards right to the end of the season, without doubt a dining experience to remember; if you are in Sorrento book a table and enjoy a night that will live on for a long time to come.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ojalavoix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nouvelle cuisine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This restaurant specialises in nouvelle cuisine, i.e. very small portions of delicious food. We found it not good value relative to other restaurants in Sorrento. The location however is delightful and very romantic. The service was unfriendly, starting from point of arrival, in which failure to say good evening before requesting a table was met with a sneer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reatigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stumbled in here by chance and it would be easy to miss the entrance. As others have mentioned you do feel as if you are walking into someones house.
Dinner on the terrace was was very nice. Again the food was excellent and the service was good but more measured than other restaurants that we ate in. Certainly my preference.
Frequented by a number of locals which always seems to be a good recommendation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mauimanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious fine dining in an elegant setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at the Palazzo Marziale of which this restaurant is actually a part. We decided to eat there on our arrival night as we were tired and it was convenient. It was so good we ate there again during our 6 night stay. The food is delicious and elegantly prepared. The staff were efficient but friendly. Altogether an excellent choice in Sorrento, just a few minutes walk from the town center.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scotusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrazza Marziale also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Terrazza Marziale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing