We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveler rating
370
20
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
370
20
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar superb hosts amalfi coast own garden shuttle service lemon and olive groves split level cakes home from home italian hospitality peaceful location fresh eggs gelato short drive huge bathroom prior to our arrival incredible views
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I visited Sorrento during our honeymoon and had a wonderful time at Villa Carolina. It’s a beautiful spot with great people making sure we had a fantastic time. Breakfast every morning makes the start of each day very easy. They’ve thought of everything with a shuttle for guests to and from the center of town. With suggestions and guidance of what to do on your stay, they go out of their way to help. Villa Carolina is a great spot for your stay in Sorrento.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank dan072719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

As like many of the reviews on here, we too feel like it is a home from home. We had a truly magical stay that will stay with us for many years to come. So many happy memories and times that we shared at the villa.
We usually stay at a hotel but reading the comments on here we opted for the villa and we are so glad that we did. It is hard to put into words how welcome we felt and certainly part of the family. It is a close family run villa and all members of the family we have cherished in getting to know- you have all left an imprint on us. Carlo, your eggs at breakfast are the best we have ever had. Emmanuella, you have been so welcoming and always smiling. Mama Mary your food - wow! We have all learnt so much from your cooking lessons that we will continue creating at home. My husband enjoyed the yoga under the lemon trees and my favourite was the cold jacuzzi and private garden that we often had just to ourselves, bliss! My daughters enjoyed everything but particularly the Saturday children’s club that was on at the village school. They felt very welcomed and enjoyed the water games with the local children and the snacks.
We stayed at the two bedroom apartment which was well equipped and the fridge and freezer was brilliant to hold products purchased at Deco (supermarket near to the drop off shuttle service in the centre).
The locality of the location was spot on for us - not too far from the centre but away from the hustle and bustle of town life when you just want to relax. We enjoyed our trip to Capri and Pompeii as well as a beach day at a local hotel. It was great to be in expert hands as Emmanuella has lots of knowledge and suggestions to suit our preferences.
Also another positive to note is the fact of how small the accommodation is in terms of the amount of guests staying. This made it feel even more like home and it was lovely to get to know other guests coming for a honeymoon, family stay or simply sightseeing. We met guests from London, America, Ireland, New Zealand, Germany and France, all very pleasant and taken away with the beauty of Italy.
We shall return and it isn’t surprising when we heard and saw the photos of past guests and that some have come back year after year.
Thank you for your kindness and hospitality.

Room tip: Apartment was superb for a young family
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MichelleK2192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Villa Caronila is a wonderful place to stay. Emanuela and Carlo are such incredible hosts - so friendly, so helpful, so accommodating. When we first arrived I wondered whether we should have stayed so far out of Sorrento but I quickly realised that the answer was "yes!"...the villa and rooms are beautiful, the views from on top of the hill are stunning and Sorrento can be busy and overcrowded. It was very easy to walk down to the town and the shuttle bus is really helpful as well. We ate there on a couple of occasions and the food was delicious. They have such delicious home-grown, organic produce. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to visit the region.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KetNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place, great food and very friendly personel. Family owned. Carlo, Emanuela and Pepe are very good at what they do. They have manners and will do more than most to accomodate their guests. When in trouble (in our case) they put all their time and effort to help out.

Specific rating:

1. Room: 4,5/5 ( clean, spacious, well kept, comfortable)
2. Wi-Fi: 5/5 (Great connection and bandwith)
3: Cellular: 1/5 (Connection in some places sporadicaly)
4. Breakfast: 5/5 (Just great!)
5. Dinner: 5/5 (Carlo’s creations: antipasti, main dish, dessert)
6. Parking: 4/5 ( narrow street leading to the parking lot, the parking lot is otherwise very good)
7. View: 5/5 (sunset, the mountains and the see are all there to behold from the terrace)

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank saman i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My new wife and I stayed at Villa Carolina for our honeymoon or 'Luna Di Miele' as Emmanuella told us it was called in Italy. It was the perfect setting for a romantic getaway. From the stunning views and sunsets over the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius to the comfy authentically styled bedrooms, Villa Carolina certainly was the perfect home from home for us to stay and made our honeymoon that extra bit special.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by Emanuela and her husband Carlo with a glass of delicious home-made lemonade (the best I've ever had). Emanuela was so friendly and gave us loads of advice about trips we could take and things to see around the area, as we had been so busy planning the wedding, we hadn't really thought of much to do whilst in Italy, so her honest advice and tips of best things to do was really appreciated.

We spent two of our four nights in Sorrento eating the delicious food prepared by Carlo and Emanuela at the hotel, the food was such a bargain at 25 Euros for a 3 course set meal of lovingly prepared home-cooked Italian goodness! We loved being suprised by what Carlo the chef had prepared (you just get what you are given - but it is all AMAZING! - we wish that more restaurants just brought you out something nice - I hate menus!) we would highly reccomend eating at the villa. The other two nights we walked down to Marina Grande, about 30 minutes walk down the hill from the Villa, the walk is stunning - although I wouldnt' reccomend walking back up in the day time, but at night, with a torch, it is fine for the younger traveller. But if walking isn't your thing, then there is a regular shuttle bus service to and from the villa, we made use of this when we felt too lazy to walk, but if you can walk to town at least once it is worth it.

The rooms were beautiful, we stayed in the junior suite, it had a lovely jacuzzi bath upstairs and loads of authentic Italian tiles all over the room (Emanuella told us that the villa used to belong to an antique dealer hence the beautiful original features). The bed was really comfy and when we arrived it was covered in rose petals and we had been left a bottle of Prossecco by Emanuela and Carlo for our honeymoon present. There was loads of space in the room and the airconditioning was a welcome addition to cool the room down (although we shut the blinds daily so the room never got too hot) The balcony was the perfect sun trap to snooze and catch the evening rays after a busy day site seeing, or if you wanted to visit the large jacuzzi you could stroll down to the gardens on the terrace below the house and hop in, it took a while to warm up, but it was so hot outside the cool water was welcome! And I know I've mentioned them already, but the views were stunning!

Breakfast was probably the best breakfast i've ever had at a hotel, from home baked cakes and pastries, to meats, omlettes, cheeses, fruits and juices.Carlo and Emanuela certainley went to town on the breakfast and it was lovely to eat on the terrace with the views down to Sorrento.

On top of all the great features of the hotel, one of the best parts about it was Emanuela and Carlo's hospitality, they made us feel so welcome and a part of the family for the short time we were at the villa, Emanuela's English language is as good as a native English speaker and we had lovely conversations about many topics ranging from our trips around the world to the state of politics and bad Italian drivers! Emanuela made us feel so welcome to be staying at her house and we hope to return at some point in the future to meet her little baby when they are born.

Thank you Emanuela and Carlo for making our honeymoon so memorable, we had a fantastic time and fell in love with the villa and your hospitality! We would recommend staying here without hesitation.

Room tip: Views from the junior suite are amazing
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thanson87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews