We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveler rating
360
20
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
360
20
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar superb hosts amalfi coast lemon and olive groves courtesy shuttle own garden cakes split level italian hospitality home from home the bus gelato short drive incredible views gelateria peaceful location junior suite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We echo the positive glowing reviews! We had an amazing stay at this beautiful villa with wonderful, genuinely welcoming Emanuela and partner Carlo. She replied promptly to our pre-visit inquiries and gave excellent information prior to our arrival! We loved our super clean, spacious garden terrace rooms.Comfortable bed, modern bathroom, terrific shower, fridge in room, all amenities! Beautiful touches everywhere you looked. Outdoor terrace with spectacular sunsets, and view to the sea. Delicious breakfasts with warm cooked egg options by Carlo! Delicious dinners at Villa Carolina when we prearranged, plus great local recommendation at nearby restaurant who picked us up and dropped us back, on our late first evening. But it was Emanuela who really made our stay memorable, with her warmth, insights and kindness, giving us great advice, including for our day trip to Amalfi coast. She mapped the steep but fun walk down into Sorrento. Took us about 15 to 20 minutes downhill. We did that walk uphill a few times so we could justify all the tasty Sorrento gelato and pasta LOL! Emanuela arranged driver to accurately pick us up from Naples Train station and also to drop us off at the airport on our (sad) departure. Thanks so much for a memorable stay, Emanuela, Carlo, Pepe. Your hospitality stays in our hearts!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank StephinVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in May and we would recommend this place over and over again to anyone visiting the coast. The grounds are charming with the most scenic views, and the room was extremely comfortable, spacious and well-equipped. The property has its own garden where the owners grow their own food and serve for meals - amazing! Location wise it is higher up from town but that's the beauty of it, and there are free shuttles going up and and down from 8.50am to just after 11pm so you're never stuck. If the weather is good, there's a scenic walk down that takes about 15 minutes (just wear comfortable shoes).

We were thinking about whether we should base ourselves here or the Amalfi Coast before our trip and we don't regret our choice. While the coast is beautiful, this is a great home base to move up and down daily with a homely charm.

Besides the beautiful place, food and atmosphere, our hosts were something else. Emanuela and Carlo are delightful and go above and beyond for their guests, making us feel like family instantly.

Don't even hesitate about staying here!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Naina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dont waste your time and money staying anywhere else. This is one of the best places we have ever stayed. The whole staff was great and food was exceptional. We ended up eating dinner there two nights out of four. Great views from their location on the hillside. The villa was exceptionally well kept up. Even though its not close to the central area of Sorrento we enjoyed walking down to the central area in the mornings and taking the shuttle bus back at night. There is a shuttle bus that runs about every two hours to and from the central center close to the villa at no extra charge so you dont have to worry about walking if not inclined to do so. On a score of 1 to 100 with 100 being exceptional this place scores a 100. Thanks to all the previous reviews with Trip Advisor that brought us to this great location. I wish we could go back there every year to spend an week or two.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mikefloyd61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I plus another couple stayed a couple of days in a gorgeous villa (Villa Carolina). Although the road leading up to it is hair raising narrow, once you arrive, the place, the view is all worthwhile. Emanuela and Carlo are very gracious hosts and will prepare a delicious breakfast every morning. Emanuela bakes delicious breads and pastries and Carlo with an ever present smile will entice you with freshly squeezed orange juice and smoked cheese omelette. The room was very comfortable and the hosts were eager to accommodate in every way possible.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Myrna929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019 via mobile

Having departed Amalfi and looking for some place close to Naples, we stumbled upon a review for Villa Carolina and even reading the reviews did not prepare us for the next few days. If you are looking for neon signs and big chain hotels, then this is not the place for you. But, if you are looking for an amazingly charming location with the most incredible hosts imaginable, then you must put Villa Carolina on your map. From the moment you arrive you are treated like a member of the family coming home, yet the hosts are neither intrusive nor crowding, Emanuela and Carlo have figured it out. They want you to feel welcome and comfortable while providing the most incredible get away experience. Overlooking the Bay of Naples, nestled in olive groves and lemon trees, you will find yourself wishing your holiday did not have to end.
Our Breakfasts were just incredible...handmade pastries, perfectly cooked eggs (upon request), fresh squeezed orange juice (from the garden) - the breakfast buffet has something for everyone.
The Villa is short walking into town, but for those who do not wish to take the meandering steps down the hillside through the lemon and olive trees, there is a free shuttle that drops you extremely close to the main square of Sorrento.
On our last evening at the villa (we tried to extend for one night but they were already booked) we opted to have dinner prepared by Carlo and Emanuela - and you simply could not have asked for anything more. The daily changing menu was just delicious and considering the three courses were expertly prepared, we would have paid so much more than €25 anywhere else.
Upon entrance you are greeted with the sign, “Enter as Strangers - Leave as Friends” - and truer words could not be spoken. If you are looking for the perfect balance of a “hotel with a B&B” mentality then this small boutique villa is just for you. We understand why so many return time and again - we can’t wait!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank JohnRL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews