We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveler rating
338
20
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
20
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar amalfi coast pick ups courtesy shuttle lovely hosts lemon and olive groves cakes split level own garden private terrace short drive home away from home incredible views italian hospitality beautiful property gelato gelateria
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 359 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2018

We stayed at Villa Carolina for two nights and wished we had stayed there much longer. Let me start by the actual house, its is the most beautiful, romantic and peaceful Villa. It has beautiful views 24 hours a day and it is immaculate clean with tons of beautiful seating areas to take pictures, watch the sunset, relax and enjoy a bottle of wine or just read a book.
The family, Ema is a special person, she greets you with love and warmth from the minute she says hello to the last time you say goodbye. She will go out of her way to make sure you have your daily plans booked and she makes sure you are always happy without getting in your way. Carlos, was amazing as well, so welcoming and so nice. The entire family, Ema's sister, mother, father, just a wonderful atmosphere in a relaxing beautiful environment.
If you decide to stay, plan to stay in one night and have Ema cook for you...her cooking is amazing.... we wanted to take a break one night and just stay in and it was the best decision we made- with a nice bottle of wine and Ema's cooking we couldn't ask for a more romantic and relaxing night.
Even if you haven't planned all your stay at Sorrento, no worries, Ema will help you do that with love and care.
We can't wait to get back and we are already getting family members wanting to go back with us. Can't wait!

Room tip: Any room is nice and private
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yolettecaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018

We had a wonderful stay at this B&B which is like staying with your very own Italian family. Emanuela is an excellent host & does a great job in welcoming you & making you feel right at home. On our first night, we had a home cooked Italian meal on the terrace which was great to watch the sun set over Sorrento. The B&B is on a hill with an approx 30 min walk into Sorrento & you can take the mini bus back up the hill. We loved the honesty bar & the fact you could come/go as you please. The home cooked breakfast with fresh orange juice was also great.

The only downside was the bedding could be improved eg plumper pillows / better mattress. However, the overall experience is 5 star.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Bob666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

What makes this small hotel really special are the wonderful, friendly owners and staff. Emanuela, Carlo, their family and staff offer a great personal touch and friendly service that other larger hotels can't.
On arrival, Emanuela sat down with us to tell us all we needed to know, including giving us a local map with all the essential information and local knowledge.
The room was ideal for our stay, although we didn't spend that much time in it - there is too much to do and see. Our room didn't have a balcony but when we return we would ask for one of the rooms that do. In saying that, the hotel terrace, with its armchairs and comfortable seating more than made up for this and with the honesty bar, was an ideal place to relax and take in the views.
One of the best parts of our holiday was the wonderful meals served on the terrace. The best food we ate during our Sorrento holiday was at Villa Carolina. On request, Emanuela is happy to prepare a lunch or dinner with fresh ingredients grown in the gardens that surround the villa. The continental style buffet breakfast - lots of choice - with the added option of freshly laid eggs and wonderful coffee was one of the highlights of the holiday.
The villa is situated out of town up a fairly steep hill. It is about a 20 minute downhill walk into Sorrento for the fit and able but would be unsuitable for elderly or infirm. We mainly used the local public transport bus which stops about 100 meters from the villa and is cheap and reliable, although it only runs about once every two hours or so. In the evening, when the bus service stops, the hotel then offer a shuttle service into town and a pickup from town. This was much appreciated.
In summary, if you normally stay in big chain hotels and expect their facilities then Villa Carolina this isn't for you. However if you value personal and very friendly service, great food, and don't want to stay in the noise, hustle and bustle of Sorrento then just book this. It's perfect.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

This was our first trip to Sorrentoand my wife found this wonderful B&B up in the hills above the city. Villa Carolina was an excellent place to stay. Tucked down a narrow side street, this lovely hous has with a magnificent view of the bay, shaded by beautiful olive trees which made for a wonderful place to relax after a long day of sightseeing. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with great beds and excellent showers (one of my key qualifications). The owners are very accommodating, having arranged to take us to a local restaurant the evening we got there (my wife’s nerves were shot after my speeding around the narrow Italian roads), and helping us work out how to see what we wanted to see of the Amalfi coast. They also own a restaurant down at the Sorrento port, so you feel a bit like an insider when you tell the maitre’d where you are staying and who sent you. At the Villa, if you drive, there is plenty of parking. There is the main house which are rooms and then two suite buildings if you want more room. Villa Carolina was a find, comfortable, convenient by bus to town or by the Villa’s shuttle. And all very affordable. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

What can I say, this is not just a b&b it’s Home! Emanuela & Carlo have created a haven in the hills overlooking Sorrento and it’s almost impossible to leave. Every small detail has been thought of from day trip recommendations to an amazing personal concierge service that Emanuela provides on a daily basis. You can tell it is their passion and how hard they work to create this beautiful b&b. Make sure you try the cooking class with Emanuela & her mum - so much fun creating beautiful authentic traditional dishes to impress friends & family back home.

I can’t recommend this place enough and will definitely be back to see my beautiful Italian friends :)

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank br0wn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews