We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but beware of the train” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #57 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Canby, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location but beware of the train”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and liked the location. It is right in town and an easy walk to shopping and dining. The only thing disappointing was our view of the train tracks. Everyone else in our tour group had a pool, garden or sea view but we got stuck in a bad room 418. We tried to switch rooms but were told the hotel was full. The front desk staff was not overly friendly or helpful. They have WiFi but only in lobby. The rooms are good size and clean. Lucky for us we were very busy and didn't spend much time in the room. The breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: Avoid train track view rooms. The train doesn't travel late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKH-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    303
    99
    44
    25
See reviews for
154
330
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Some reviews of this hotel have been rather negative... and if you get a room overlooking the railway line I can understand why! Having been warned about this we checked that our room had a balcony overlooking the (hardly ever used except by me) pool and all was fine. The room was spacious and clean, the plumbing excellent, the shower room good, although the shower itself was annoyingly cramped. Breakfast was the usual Italian hotel miss-mash of processed meats and cheeses, ridiculously sweet pastries and slightly dodgy coffees because they don't think Brits want real coffee, but dinner was well prepared, often delicious and always good value. What really made our stay, however, was the charm of the staff. Every request was greeted with a smile and nothing was too much trouble, even when they were obviously very busy. Great location, nit just because it's only a few minutes walk into the old town but also close by the dreaded railway station to get a train to Pompeii, Herculaneum, and on to Naples.

Room Tip: Just make sure your room isn't at the back, overlooking the railway station!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Nice hotel just a few hundred yards from downtown Sorrento. Within EASY walking distance down to the Marina too. Stayed here with a Globus tour and I also saw a Trafalgar tour group here but don't let that scare you! Granite counters in bath along with tile floor and showers and very clean. Our room was quiet and we slept like a couple of rocks!

Buffet breakfast was VERY good and plentiful, not sure if they do that just for tour groups or for everyone so you might want to ask. The acid test is always "Would you stay there again?" and the answer would be "Absolutely, without hesistating." Hope you enjoy your stay there too..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedSoxRule27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was our second hotel in Italy with Treyn, after our first few days in Rome, and it was a lovely hotel. The bathroom was large and very well appointed and the room was also a very good size and, again, well appointed. I think I may have requested a lower floor which may have accounted for the room, which was a little dark and had no real view, but it was very convenient for the dining room and reception! Other travellers with us were very pleased with their rooms, some having balconies.

The food was excellent and the staff were smashing and made sure we had everything we needed. The hotel is on the flat and, for most people, a short easy walk to Piazza Tasso. We'd certainly be very pleased to stay there again if we went back to Sorrento - but the town has changed in the 12 years since our last visit and we didn't think it had the same "feel" and has changed in character so we may not bother returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newforestpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just back from a week with Riviera Travel staying at the Michelangelo. We were in room 108 - excellent position for the dining room and swimming pool. Small but with a bathroom that had bath with shower over and a bidet. Towels changed everyday.Nicely decorated though a bit tired. Dark as the only light came from the glass doors facing a wall, but which led onto a huge terrace overlooking the front of the hotel. There was a bistro set so we could sit out and catch the ladt rays of sun. Beds were extremely comfortable, with crisp linen which seemed to be changed every other day. The hotel is just a flat stroll from the town centre, and just round the corner from the station, so very convenient for everything. As others have mentioned the food could be better. Breakfast is fairly basic. Dinner varied, but there were always plenty of choices on the menu. It tasted better than it looked! All staff were friendly and helpful. We chose this hotel for its position and were glad we did. Would return.

Room Tip: 108 was a twin and although small & rather gloomy, it was in a great position especially as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monilovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed 1 week with two relatives in early September. Great location minutes from station for trips out and easy 5 minute walk to centre of Sorrento and a further steep walk to harbour. Hotel spotlessly clean with good bed linen and towels.

Booked double room with double bed got triple room with single beds. It was a good sized room traditionally furnished with excellent air con but a little dark. The 'balcony' was one person wide and overlooked an internal courtyard bounded on 3 sides by either other rooms, an apartment block or looking into the restaurant so nothing to see - could hear other people's conversations on the opposite side so not private or attractive. Bathroom had shower in bath which wasn't very powerful. Great hairdryer. Basic toiletries consisted of 5 tiny wrapped soaps and 4 shampoos. Glad we had the triple room as our relatives twin was very small and their 'balcony' overlooked the railway line where first train in the morning was 6 am. Our room was very quiet and we slept extremely well.

Staff were friendly but everything seemed rushed especially at dinner in the restaurant where we felt it was a case of feed them as quickly as possible and get them out.

Breakfast was continental with reasonable meats, cheese, boiled eggs, breads etc. The fruit salad was tinned and the 'fresh fruit' - usually apples and peaches was either under-ripe or bruised and inedible. Dinner was ok - lovely soups and salads but main courses boring and over-sauced; puddings terrible - all tasted the gooey same with not brilliant ice cream. We ate out on several nights to get some real Italian food. There's a dress code of no shorts in the evening but the men in a party of Americans wore shorts so its obviously not enforced.

Didn't use the pool or surround as mostly in shade but the roof terrace was great with lots of sunbeds, deck chairs and patio furniture and very clean. Great to relax there after sight-seeing.

All in all a great location, comfortable and extremely clean but don't bother to eat dinner there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judys299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Agree with so much of what previous reviewers have said. Spotlessly clean, lovely bed linen, good sized bathroom in our room, superb location.......but oh dear, the food! Breakfasts ok but tinned fruit salad in a country where you can reach out and pick the fruit off the trees in a 4 star hotel is just not on. Evening meals variations on a theme. Anything that was local was better - soups and pasta starters were fine but the desserts all tasted the same - of nothing - and the meat escalopes, variously described as veal, pork, turkey etc,, were all tasteless and accompanied by gloopy sauces. Happily there were lovely restaurants just a short walk away where a crisp and delicious pizza could be bought for as little as 5 euros. The restaurant staff were very charming and helpful but their clientele in the evening diminished in number as the week wore on. The bar was a bit lacklustre as well. Otherwise, a good hotel.

Room Tip: Specify a good sized bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Cesare Augusto
Cesare Augusto
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#75 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton International Hotel
Carlton International Hotel
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Property: Michelangelo Hotel
Address: Corso Italia 275, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#40 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Michelangelo Sorrento
Michelangelo Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing