We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but ....”
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #64 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Southam, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location but ....”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed 1 week with two relatives in early September. Great location minutes from station for trips out and easy 5 minute walk to centre of Sorrento and a further steep walk to harbour. Hotel spotlessly clean with good bed linen and towels.

Booked double room with double bed got triple room with single beds. It was a good sized room traditionally furnished with excellent air con but a little dark. The 'balcony' was one person wide and overlooked an internal courtyard bounded on 3 sides by either other rooms, an apartment block or looking into the restaurant so nothing to see - could hear other people's conversations on the opposite side so not private or attractive. Bathroom had shower in bath which wasn't very powerful. Great hairdryer. Basic toiletries consisted of 5 tiny wrapped soaps and 4 shampoos. Glad we had the triple room as our relatives twin was very small and their 'balcony' overlooked the railway line where first train in the morning was 6 am. Our room was very quiet and we slept extremely well.

Staff were friendly but everything seemed rushed especially at dinner in the restaurant where we felt it was a case of feed them as quickly as possible and get them out.

Breakfast was continental with reasonable meats, cheese, boiled eggs, breads etc. The fruit salad was tinned and the 'fresh fruit' - usually apples and peaches was either under-ripe or bruised and inedible. Dinner was ok - lovely soups and salads but main courses boring and over-sauced; puddings terrible - all tasted the gooey same with not brilliant ice cream. We ate out on several nights to get some real Italian food. There's a dress code of no shorts in the evening but the men in a party of Americans wore shorts so its obviously not enforced.

Didn't use the pool or surround as mostly in shade but the roof terrace was great with lots of sunbeds, deck chairs and patio furniture and very clean. Great to relax there after sight-seeing.

All in all a great location, comfortable and extremely clean but don't bother to eat dinner there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judys299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    314
    107
    45
    30
See reviews for
162
345
33
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Agree with so much of what previous reviewers have said. Spotlessly clean, lovely bed linen, good sized bathroom in our room, superb location.......but oh dear, the food! Breakfasts ok but tinned fruit salad in a country where you can reach out and pick the fruit off the trees in a 4 star hotel is just not on. Evening meals variations on a theme. Anything that was local was better - soups and pasta starters were fine but the desserts all tasted the same - of nothing - and the meat escalopes, variously described as veal, pork, turkey etc,, were all tasteless and accompanied by gloopy sauces. Happily there were lovely restaurants just a short walk away where a crisp and delicious pizza could be bought for as little as 5 euros. The restaurant staff were very charming and helpful but their clientele in the evening diminished in number as the week wore on. The bar was a bit lacklustre as well. Otherwise, a good hotel.

Room Tip: Specify a good sized bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

my husband and I have always loved coming back to the bar at the Michelangelo, after staying there a few years ago. we still go back there, to their bar, of an evening, for one reason - to have a laugh and a half with their main barman Giuseppe. he has been there for years and we thought he was an institution in sorrento! we have met so many people who stayed at the hotel because of him. we certainly continued to frequent the bar just to see him!! but we went there last week and were told he's left!! where's he gone? never going back again now he has left. wished we knew where he was now!!!! he was the best thing about the hotel so I wouldn't recommend staying there now he has gone. there are better located hotels that are better value for money

Room Tip: I wouldn't suggest staying here as the best thing about it is gone! there are loads of hotels i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a_and_d239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have just come back from an 8 day holiday in Sorrento, staying at the Hotel Michelangelo. The hotel is a short walk from the main square of Sorrento, so everything in the city is a short level walk from the hotel. Our room was spacious and very clean. The cleaning staff did an excellent job and are to be applauded. A king size bed with good quality linen made sleeping very easy. Our bathroom was spacious well laid out, with a bath and powerful shower. The AC was very good and quiet too. Beware though, only certain rooms have a bath, the others have a shower cubicle that is tiny, maybe only 500mm or 600mm square. Several guests complained about this and tried to get their room changed.

There was a good sized pool, however it was only open from 09:00-18:00 which was very limiting. The sun lounge area was fine, however due to the presence of some trees, there was little sun present after 16:30.

The restaurant really let the hotel down. We were on a half board basis, i.e. breakfast and evening meals. The breakfast consisted of heavily sweetened croissants, or other types of sweetened bread, boiled ham or rubbery salami, fruit salad (tinned) and a synthetic goo locally called yogurt. The evening meal was a soup (reasonable) followed by a non descript main course drenched in a gluppy gravy type substance with a slab of mozzarella cheese, and an inedible dessert, the ice cream was ok though.

There was no fresh fruit or fruit juice, pizza or pasta dishes. The hotel also "forgot" that we were entitled to bacon and eggs for breakfast for the first three days, until one of the guests raised it with the hotel management!!

I had read other poor reviews about the catering at this hotel before we arrived, but I out this down to "over picky" guests, in reality however they all got it right. The hotel is great , the catering is very poor. We ended up eating out most nights, which added extra cost to our holiday.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a bath. Take extra funds with you as you will end up eating out a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikeyt955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

If you like to be in the town centre this hotel is in a prime location. The staff are lovely (especially in their enjoyment at my attempts at Italian!). The rooms are of a high standard, good bathrooms and really well maintained. Small complaint, twin beds rather than a double....in the city of romance..?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattBIGGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have just returned from 8 days in Sorrento and we stayed at the Michelangelo. It's location is great - such an easy walk into the centre of Sorrento. Our room was very clean and impressively serviced every day. The bed was very comfortable and the bed linen was of a good quality. The air conditioning in our room was effective, reliable and appreciated. All but one or two of the hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. The downside was that we had, unfortunately, a half-board arrangement through Riviera Travel, and the food was of a consistently poor quality at breakfast and dinner. We ate out most evenings instead. It's hard to excuse this - in a place where other nearby places served us fresh, chilled orange juice, fresh fruits, simply prepared 'traditional' Italian food, this hotel offered an ever present fruit salad at breakfast (and for an evening dessert if you didn't like the shaving foam cakes that were on offer each evening). The fruit salad was clearly of the tinned variety except on some days it was added to by the occasional addition of fresh peach. The fresh fruit on offer was usually peaches - often bruised and therefore consigned eventually to the fruit salad. The fruit juice on offer was watered-down, sweetened and unpleasant. The evening meals were best described as adult versions of the school dinner from many years ago (well before the notorious turkey twizzler even). In our party many other guests commented negatively about the poor standard of the food and others chose to eat out instead of experiencing such a processed approach to Italian cuisine. We were told by our tour leader on day 3 that we should have been offered scrambled egg and bacon each day, for breakfast, and he had taken this up with the management. By this time, respect for the management and their approach to catering and customer service had evaporated. I have to say that I had noted adverse comments about the food at this hotel, before departure, but was determined not to be overly fussy. On return to the UK I can only endorse the criticisms made of the food, whilst recognizing and applauding those staff members involved in servicing the rooms. Also, many of the shower cubicles are of a size best suited to someone who has the dimensions of a broomstick - ours was an incarcerating experience. The room next to us fared better, but other guests were lamenting the difficulty they were experiencing in accommodating their unexceptional physical dimensions within the shower cubicle space.

Room Tip: Room 211 had a shower in a bath so shower space was good. Room 211 didn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning_Diner_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Michelangelo as part of a Riveria Holidays package. Initially we were checked into room 107....avoid. Although it was a relatively large room with good sized bathroom & shower, the balcony was in fact a terrace which was long and narrow and was directly above the hotels facade which meant you could see nothing. We asked to be moved the next evening we were advised o pack our case and we would be transferred to a room with a balcony whilst we were away for the day on an organised trip. The new room was much smaller as was the bathroom which had the smallest shower I have ever been in. However it did have a nice balcony overlooking the pool and getting the evening sun. The room was spotlessly clean, as was all of the hotel, and the air conditioning worked well. Fresh, deep piled towels were provided every day.
We were on a half board basis. For the first two mornings there was no sign of anything other than a fairly basic, but good quality, cold cuts, cheese, yoghurt and fruit selection. Then on day three, we had a very early departure for Capri, we were suddenly offered scrambled eggs and bacon, which we had every morning thereafter. I think Riveria may have had something to do with this. The evening meals were average, backed up by the fact that we ate out three nights.
The bar is really lacking in atmosphere and service so slow that we only had one drink in it all week!
Having spoken , eavesdropped on other Riveria clients, I think the Michelangelo was no better or no worse than the other hotels on offer. However what it did have that the others didn't was location, location, location!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyclops52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cesare Augusto
Cesare Augusto
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#57 of 100 in Sorrento
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#73 of 100 in Sorrento
636 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Property: Michelangelo Hotel
Address: Corso Italia 275, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#40 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#45 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Michelangelo Sorrento
Michelangelo Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing