We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A week at the Michelangelo Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #57 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Chalford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A week at the Michelangelo Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel claims to be a 4 star - it isn't its clearly 3 star at best. Rooms small but traditionally furnished. Biggest problem was the food. Breakfast was cheese and ham, butter was off. Evening meals grim resulting in us eating out most evenings. Need to up their game and compete with real 4 star hotels.

Room Tip: best rooms overlook the pool or front - avoid rooms which back onto rail line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank martinatdreyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    303
    99
    44
    25
See reviews for
154
330
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

It was a very pleasant stay. 4 days. Great location, close to all. Great staff, nice garden to relAx at the end of the day.
Breakfast is ok, basic to begin the day. Good service.
Rooms generally clean and nicely put.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanmtl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently stayed at the Michelangelo in May for 3 nights, and it was very nice. Great location for walking down to the Piazza Tasso and all the restaurants and shops. Even in the morning it was a nice walk to the port for our boat ride to Capri. Didn't check out the pool or bar, but the breakfast was OK. Nothing special, but enough to start off the morning. The staff was alright, but it seemed like there were alot of bus tours, so the lobby was very hectic at times.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank TWENTY564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel. Its well situated, 5 mins from the main square and about 10 from the sea. Our room was clean and comfortable, with clean towels each day. The reception staff were very nice and helpful. The breakfast though was only adequate and always the same. I have had better in 2 and 3 star hotels. The dining room staff were a bit snooty and one was quite sarcastic to other diners.

We did not try the pool or the bar , but they looked nice. We would stay again but on room only basis, there are cafes within 2 mins walk.

TIP book trips such as Capri in tyhe town not through hotel. We saved 33 euro each on trip to Capri, by booking with local agent near the square.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back look out on railwayline, BUT we were not disturbed by noise. Very peaceful room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mowjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent a week in this hotel, and were very impressed. The public areas are clean and pleasant. There is a lovely little swimming pool with a terrace on the first floor, and a sun trap rooftop terrace with stunning views.
The rooms are a good size, clean and very comfortable and well equipped.
All of the staff are friendly and helpful, and speak very good English.
We stayed on a half board basis and the food was very good - continental breakfast with plenty of choice, and a menu for evening meals that was varied and always tasty. Also there was a fair and reasonably priced wine list.
The hotel is in a perfect location - easy walking distance to shops, cafes and amenities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

As first time visitiors to Sorrento, the central location of The Michelangelo made it much easier to get around. It is less than a 5 minute walk to the train station and bus services. And about a 15 minute walk to the port if you are looking into any boat trips such as to Capri. You can walk straight to many shops and restaurants from the hotel and save a lot of money not having to get taxis anywhere.

The hotel was very tidy and clean. Most rooms seem to have balconies, although if you perhaps don't get one with a perfect view or on the ground floor, there is a good spaced terrace, facing towards the sea. If wanting to enjoy the pool, then it is better for people looking to spend a day close by. By the time we got back to the hotel after days out, it is much colder after 4ish because the trees shade it.

We stayed under a half board option. Breakfast is a buffet of cold meat, cheese, bread, yogurts and cereals. We looked forward to seeing the dinner menu every evening. With three courses, there was about four or five options for each. Even for slightly fussy eaters like myself, there's always at least one thing of each course for someone. The limited choice meant we tried some delicious food which we may not have ordered if on a larger menu. You're not always given a lot of time to recover from one course before the next plate is infront of you, so prepare for a full belly by the end of it. I slept very well every night from what I believe to be a food coma.

I can't talk about the meals without mentioning the marvellous staff they have working in the restaurant. All the waiters were very courteous and fun. It is quick service and they were attentive and polite.

I would definitely recommend and return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was the last hotel we stayed at during our 9 day tour of Italy with Globus Tours. This was not only my favorite town, but my favorite hotel. The location was perfect - walking distance to some of the nicest sites along with the shopping area. The bed was the most comfortable bed we stayed in the whole trip also. We had a room on the third floor that overlooked the pool area. There was a balcony, huge bathroom & the area where the bed was also is very large.

We had a breakfast buffet included with our stay & it was the best eggs we had on our trip. The selection was nice - very typical european continental breakfast. Our flight out was at 6:30am & they packed us a "to go" breakfast which consisted of some rolls, hard bisquits, jelly & a boxed juice drink.

We hung out in the lobby with the other 30 guests we were touring with the last night there & they started cleaning up and stopped serving drinks at about 11pm. I was a little shocked that they did not keep the bar open - the money they lost out on since most of us had a 3:30am shuttle to the airport & did not plan on sleeping.

We did not have the opportunity to try out the pool here since we were with a tour & our days consisted of seeing the Amalfi coast.

This is a lovely hotel & I would recommend anyone to stay at it.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool - most of them have a balcony.
See more room tips
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Cesare Augusto
Cesare Augusto
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,810 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#75 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton International Hotel
Carlton International Hotel
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Property: Michelangelo Hotel
Address: Corso Italia 275, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#40 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Michelangelo Sorrento
Michelangelo Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing