We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money hotel with great views”
Review of Hotel Dania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dania
Ranked #87 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Clean, friendly hotel in a wonderful town. Excellant views over the bay of Sorrento.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonv07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 239 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2010

Great hotel, local bus service, excellent. Breakfast buffet good, compared with most hotels in Italy. The evening meals were excellent, (professional chef )and the most reasonably priced compared with local restaurants. The rooms with sea view and balcony are a must, the rooms are very clean and serviced well. Give the restaurant St Raphael in Puolo a miss. Was found to be over priced and not up to standard, very disappointed.
I have worked in the catering trade for 35 years and I pick up on lots of irregularities as one can imagine.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marioBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I have just returned from a trip to the Amalfi Coast. I was with my girlfriend and we darted from sorrento to capri and from capri to amalfi. We chose hotel dania as our lodging in the sorrento region because it offered us everything we needed at a reasonable rate (amalfi can be expensive!!). I had read the reviews for this hotel and book with some trepidation but I have to say that it beat all our expectations. Anna maria and Lelo treated us like one of the family and provided us with all the info we needed. They even organised our dinner at a nearby restaurant and the owner of the restaurant came and collected us!!! The rooms are not ultramodern but they have everything we needed, were spotlessly clean and provided us with some of the most spectacular views of the sunset. All in all i found hotel dania to be an excellent hotel and great value. It blends in extremely well with the romance of the sorrento coast.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markymark79Freedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We have just come back from Sorrento Italy, having just got married at The Cloisters in September 2009.

We stayed at the Hotel Dania which is just outside Sorrento, with our 26 wedding guests.

We have stayed at the Hotel several times now and it is becoming like a second home. There are superb sea views from most of the rooms and although this hotel is basic it is very clean and the staff can’t do enough for you. If there is anything you want, or want to know they do their best to accommodate you. Annamaria the owner’s daughter and Lello on Reception are brilliant.
The hotel has a courtesy bus which runs most days into Sorrento and the hotel can also be reached easily by a regular local bus service.

The fishing village of Marina di Publo is about 15 minutes walk away, which is a lovely walk through lemon and olive groves, although walking back up the steep hill takes a bit longer especially in the heat.

We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray_and_Rosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed a week as part of a tour group. One side of the hotel has a lift but the other side doesn't - guess which side we were on! Carrying our cases up even a single flight of stairs was something we could have done without. The room was clean and the chambermaid very efficient, but it was not very large and a strange shape and badly needed modernisation. The bathroom had a bath with shower over but no shower curtain, so taking a shower required some ingenuity. Having said that, however, the view from the balcony was stunning. On the first night, there was loud music from an external source for which the hotel can not be blamed, though the remainder of the week was quiet and we had no further problems sleeping. We can only agree with the comments made by other people about the poor quality of the breakfast, but we must admit that on the couple of occasions that we had an evening dinner at the hotel it was quite acceptable. One word of advice to anyone thinking of going to Sorrento - do not expect to find that credit cards are universally accepted. Apparently, lots of places won't accept them for transactions below a given amount as they then have to pay VAT. When I enquired about this at the Dania, I was told that they would only accept a card for bills over 100 euros.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cymro36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon mainly because of the idyllic location with sea facing rooms and away from the noise and bustle of Sorrento and so close to the charming Bay of Puolo which is a 10 minute walk away but about 30 year away in time. Lovely cafes/restaurants for evening meals and tables on the beach for lunchtime.
However after two perfect nights a party of about 30 American children arrived with 2 teachers who could not care less. They were totally out of control running from room to room until the early hours playing music with the bedroom doors open. The hotel staff did their best to control them but with little success. So if you value peace and quiet ....................................

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenzoFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

we had a lovely viewfrom our bedroom. but some guests wre not so lucky.it was so hot when we arrived we turned the air conditioning on to find out you had to pay 10 euros a day for it ,also the dining room was not air conditioned,so we were uncomfortable. as for our bathroom it was a joke we had what i would describe as a hip bath we were terrified of slipping all the time. the hotel itself was clean but the food wasnt up to much they gave us tinned pineapple one night.we never saw as much as a lettuce leaf let alone a salad.it is quite a walk into sorrento

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lindaStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#86 of 100 in Sorrento
509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rivage Hotel
Rivage Hotel
#67 of 100 in Sorrento
534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#69 of 100 in Sorrento
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villaggio Verde
Villaggio Verde
#71 of 100 in Sorrento
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Igea
Hotel Villa Igea
#88 of 100 in Sorrento
271 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#64 of 100 in Sorrento
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dania

Address: Via Capo 69, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: $108 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dania 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dania Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing