We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location for Sorrento”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb location for Sorrento”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely holiday in Sorrento. We found the hotel to be spotless, staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel was in an EXCELLENT central location, ideal for us with 2 young children. Many lovely restaurants and shops on the doorstep..
We were on a bed and breakfast basis, and the buffet breakfast was OK. It didn't vary much during the week. They kindly packed us a picnic breakfast for our journey home.
Our children were on a bed setee in our room, very comfortable. Our bed mattress was rock hard!
End of season meant we had the pool to ourselves, great!
Didnt have the aircon switched on as end of season, which meant open windows required..MOZZIES!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank carolineauckland_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    231
    69
    14
    8
See reviews for
183
459
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lorain, Ohio
Level Contributor
193 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We could not have been happier with this hotel. The room was perfect and we had a balcony overlooking the sea. The location (although difficult to find) was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was just OK.

Room Tip: If possible, reserve the room on the 4th floor that is positioned between two suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Continental, Sorrento, the first week in October 2012. The setting is lovely with beautiful views across the bay to Vesuvius. At first, we thought it was great. We had booked a double room with a sea view. What we actually got was a twin room at the other side to the sea view overlooking a building site (an old school which is being renovated). So we woke each morning to drills and banging. The breakfast waiters Luciano and Franco are first class and the selection of breakfast buffet is lovely. However, after the first night the a/c stopped working. As the temperatures were still high and the room stuffy we asked if this could be switched back on. One helpful reception staff member gladly switched it on for us (took him a few seconds to hit a switch on the computer at front desk). This was fine for 2 days then the a/c was switched off again. I asked an older man at reception (dark grey very short hair with glasses) to switch it on again for me. He stood up, SHOUTED at me (!!!) "do you really expect me to switch the a/c on JUST FOR YOU" I said yes, that it can be done as another member of staff had done it 2 days previously. He replied he would not over-ride the ENTIRE hotel's a/c JUST FOR ME. I said he only had to do it for our room as I knew that could be done as they had done it before. He shouted "NO, GO AWAY". I was shocked especially as I later found out THIS IS THE HOTEL OWNER. He is arrogant and rude and spoke down to me and there were also other guests in the reception at that time. They too later confirmed that they had been refused when they asked for the a/c to be turned on. We then came back to our room later that day to find the room crawling with ants. We told reception who sprayed the balcony with something. The following night we came back to our room and the bed was crawling with ants in the sheets and all over the mattress. The ants were all over the floor too. It was late (around 11pm). So we put all the bedding out on the balcony and closed the balcony door. We slept on bare mattresses with a small towel covering us. Other guests also told us they had ants in their rooms too. You dont get bath towels, just one hand towel each in the bathrooms so this is what we used instead of a sheet that night. Every morning thereafter when we came down, the arrogant owner completely blanked us as we walked thru reception when the other staff members always said good morning. I would NOT go back to this hotel again. The beds are hard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank steven r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel and staff. Lobby furniture is of lower quality and so is the breakfast restaurant furniture. Service is excellent and so is our junior suite. Prime location. Some areas must be urgently remodeled and refurbished

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubieDunietz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The location of this hotel is good- its in a quite plaza with a good view from the front of the ocean but just a few minutes walk to the heart of Sorrento. There is also an elevator to the beach which makes walking to the marina easy and quick as well as a path to the quaint fishing village with great restaurants. However the hotel itself needs a facelift, coat of paint, and deep cleaning. Our first room was infested with ants. We requested a move but were told there were no options and that the cleaning people would address in the morning. But by that evening, the ants were worse and in the bathroom, on the desk, near the closest, etc. There was a great young man at the front desk, all alone at 11pm, that came up and sprayed and swept for us but then the room smelled like chemicals and the ants were still roaming. At about 11:30 the toilet stopped working- it just ran and ran for well over 20 minutes before we went back down. We were moved to a smaller but clean and functioning room (having to move everything ourselves at midnight). The next morning when we noted to the manager our problem, he shrugged it off saying the rooms are basically the same so no problem. He also said we probably were using the toilet wrong and if we had pushed the button again, it would have stopped running (which we and the staff tried to no avail). No apology, no nothing. On the plus, the restaurant served a decent breakfast and the wait staff brought old world charm and pride to their service. Ok hotel but I wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Very few rooms have balconies that view the ocean. If you want one, I'd ask early and make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DMSMITH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

My family and I recently stayed in the hotel as my brother was getting married in Sorrento. There was a a group of 20 of us including families with young kids and also young couples. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The location is great and all the facilities you need are there. I have to mention Giovanni. Giovanni is the barman in the hotel and he really made our stay special. He was friendly and fun, and made us feel very welcome. He recommended a restaurant for us, which was the best meal we ate in Sorrento, and he made a special effort for the bride and groom. Thanks Giovanni!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I just spent one week (the last week of Sept 2012) in Sorrento and used Trip Advisor to find our hotel. We chose the Continental after a log search. We were VERY pleased with our accommodations, the staff and the breakfast. Our concierges Salvatore and Luca were extremely helpful each time we mentioned even the slightest thing. They helped with planning places to go and the cost that we might expect to pay. Antonio our maitre d' in the breakfast room was very polite, knowledgeable and spoke English quite well even though being Italian-American, we conversed in Italian all the time. Even though the breakfast was the same each day, there were many choices and if we wanted, could have had something different each morning. The room was kept clean and tighty and we found chocolates and our bed turned down each night. The hotel was a 5 minute walk to the main square, Piazza Tasso and close to everything. I would recommend the establishment highly, as we have traveled extensively in Europe and understand the norms of the Italian culture.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor as the view from there is super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrisAlbanyNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Piazza della Vittoria n. 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#34 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing