We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising hotel”
Review of Hotel Ascot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ascot
Ranked #62 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is in a good position at the end of Corso Italia and opposite The Drains, the main shopping area.It,s a small friendly hotel ,clean and in good order. The evening meals ,with table service, are very good as are the restaurant staff. The surprising thing is that the wine and beer at the hotel is a fair bit cheaper than the English Bar ,which is only a 5 minute walk away along the Corso Italia.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front can be noisy through the day .Quieter later in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank internati0ntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 549 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed for one week in October, ideal for local transport,ferries to Capri and Cicumvesuviana rail link to Naples, Pompeii, Herculaneum etc without having to walk miles. Perfect for gentle stroll to all local restaurants. Comfortable and clean with towels changed every day. Try and avoid half term UK hols as they are popular with this hotel and if you don't want to be disturbed by kids banging doors and speaking at somewhat loud tones. Went half board but never ate in evening as is my norm as I normally go B&B only so cannot comment on food .Breakfast typical with hamm and cheese as only alternatives to sweet things. Rear rooms are best but be warned, one night per week,the hotel opposite have their pool music party untill midnight.

Room Tip: Rear rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mapmad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a week's holiday at the Hotel Ascot in Sorrento. The hotel was very comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful, room clean. Our room was on the front of the hotel on the fourth floor. It does sometimes get noisy with the traffic at night but the shutters at the windows sorted that out. The food was very good. The hotel was well placed for us to get to the town or the station for trains or buses to get to the other places we wanted to visit. Both trains and buses tend to get very full and you sometimes have to stand for the journey but it is much cheaper than booking the reps trips. We used a Unico Costiera 3T ticket for three days travel, which got us round the Sorrentine Peninsula, to Naples and along the Amalfi Coast, (visiting Amalfi, Ravello and Positano). We also went to Herculaeum and Pompeii and Capri. We did the Thomson trip to Rome which was really good. We would definitely recommend this hotel for its location and value for money.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel may be quieter but we had a large balcony at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rules2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stopped at the ascot last week , hotel is ideally situated very friendly staff excellent food and great choice too , food and drinks cheap too , some great sunbathing too on the top of the hotel loads of sunbeds , arrived Tuesday night lovely weather the hotel is perfectly placed to walk right into the middle of everything , went to pompeii and Vesuvius , also a trip to Capri is a must too on the ferry , the staff the people and the weather are great the food is superb at the hotel and all along the front there is people singing the old Italian songs it is a fantastic atmosphere we will be going back soon thanks ascot for making our stay so enjoyable

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Col M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I'm very happy we chose this hotel for our week in Sorrento - perfect location close to the centre of town. We requested a 'quiet room' and were given a room at the back overlooking the internal courtyard which was great, as the hotel is on the main road through town. The room was fine, nice large bathroom with plenty of space for your toiletries etc. A big bonus - lots and lots of hangers in the wardrobe and loads of drawer space for clothes too. The staff were very friendly , helpful and polite - the first day my partner told them about two emergency fire alarm boxes in the corridor not in working order, by the time we returned to the hotel in the afternoon these had been fixed.

The room was serviced daily and clean towels provided. As other reviewers have noted, breakfast was adequate but nothing special - cheaper quality cereals, ham, and cheese, and reconstituted juices but always fruit, yoghurt, cakes and bread for toast - you certainly wouldn't starve. All in all it was a very pleasant stay and in terms of location it was a really good choice of hotel for a stay in Sorrento.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room or room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C_Sutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Sorrento is one of those 'must-see' places and the Hotel Ascot is an ideal base from which to take in the fabulous surroundings. Situated at the southernmost end (the best end) of the Corsa Italia, if you take a short walk up the Via Capo it provides you with one of the most stunning and classic views of Sorrento and its coastline. The hotel is on a very busy road close to a very busy junction and so road noise can be loud to say the least, car horns, coaches and scooters creating most of the sounds, but that mustn't put you off because the location is very convenient to all the places you will want to go to. Our room number was 314 and our balcony overlooked the garden and the road. The hotel is better looking than the impression that the holiday brochures give and the rooms are a reasonable size, although maybe a little old fashioned. The evening meals are waiter service only and although the day's menu may seem to be a little limited the food was excellent (all except for a fried fish dish, which I had on the Friday, that gave the impression it had been boiled in batter rather than fried). The pasta dishes are excellent! Because of delays at Manchester airport we didn't arrive at the hotel until midnight when we should have been there for about 8.30 so we wondered whether anything had been laid on for us to eat. We needn't have worried because we were treated to a huge salad meal that was both welcome and tasty. A pity it was so late at night.
As for things to do, we didn't bother with the vastly inflated prices that the holiday reps charge for trips, we did everything ourselves. The railway station in Sorrento is a terminus and from there we headed first to Pompeii, which is remarkable, then to Herculanium, equally remarkable. The daily runabout trip cost us 6.30 euros each, which is excellent value, although the train left a lot to be desired. Admission to both sites costs 11 euros but if you are a senior citizen, with ID, you can get in for nothing. On another day we took the same train to Herculanium station, which was 4.60 euros (or there abouts) for a return ticket where, for 10 euros each, we boarded a minibus that took us to near the summit of Mount Vesuvius. We had to walk the last 1000m to the crater, which was strenuous but well worth it, and we were provided with a walking pole to help us on our way (small gratuity as we handed it back). The travel firms charge up to 70 euros each for a similar excursion! We also took a trip to the Isle of Capri which cost 27.40 euros each and this too was a fabulous experience. Sorrento is fairly expensive but spotlessly clean, unlike Naples its near neighbour. Everybody we came across agreed that Naples is filthy, run-down and stinks so we didn't contemplate going there (except to and from the airport of course). We travelled with Thompson on half-board basis from Manchester for a week mid-September and the wheather couldn't have been better, 75-80 every day. We did so much and saw so much that what we need now is a relaxing holiday because we are exhausted (but fulfilled).

Room Tip: The higher up your room is the more sunshine you get because of the surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laytonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was within easy walking distance to the centre of Sorrento. From start to finish we had a fantastic holiday, the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Its a traditional hotel and is spotless clean with maid service and fresh towels in our rooms every day.We all loved the atmosphere and how we were made to feel welcome. Christina even lent us beach towels for around the pool because we hadn't any.
On the whole the food was good but maybe more Italian cuisine could be on the menu.
We will definately be returning next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side or the rear of the hotel would be quieter as its situated on a busy main road. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CeliaB29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#63 of 100 in Sorrento
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cesare Augusto
Cesare Augusto
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
606 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#74 of 100 in Sorrento
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rivage Hotel
Rivage Hotel
#65 of 100 in Sorrento
531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,039 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#73 of 100 in Sorrento
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ascot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ascot

Address: Via Capo 6, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $85 - $1,177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ascot 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ascot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ascot Sorrento
Ascot Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing