We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly pleasant clean excellent for glutten free.”
Review of Hotel Ascot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ascot
Ranked #64 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly pleasant clean excellent for glutten free.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is a family run establishment were everyone does all they can to make your stay comfortable and rewarding.
The restaurant were very accomadating for my wife's glutten free dietary needs. Would return again.
Easy walking to the main part of town plenty of info to follow to make the most of your stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    199
    96
    40
    28
See reviews for
108
223
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Angus
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Having previously had a holiday in Sorrento, we booked the Ascot knowing it was in a good location, convenient to the centre of town. On arrival, in the pouring rain, late pm, we were greeted by a less than friendly older male receptionist. After he grunted he would need our passports, I requested a safety deposit box and he brushed my request aside and muttered something along the lines of 'tomorrow, plenty time tomorrow'. Given that we were tired, we did not challenge this and retired meekly to our room. On reflection, I did wonder if he would have been so dismissive of a male guest checking in and I now wish I had demanded the safety deposit box at the time of check in! Our room on the 3rd floor was initially a shock - the bath was filthy and worse - the bathroom window was lying wide open. After climbing into the bath and locking it, we were unsure of whether individuals could access our window via drainpipes or ledges and so we spent a slightly uncomfortable night. However, in the morning we decided we could forget about the dirty bath and the open window and decided to concentrate on enjoying our holiday. My mum ate in the restaurant for breakfast and said it was acceptable, but we never did eat our evening meal at the hotel. The menu was fairly unappealing so we ate out every night. There are many shops, bars and restaurants within easy walking distance, so this was not a problem. The streets outside were extremely noisy, but the hotel itself was very quiet and pleasant. Unfortunately, there were workmen out in the streets from 3.30am - 4.30am on one occasion and it was impossible to sleep through the noise, but that is hardly the fault of the hotel. Apart from our unwelcoming/cheeky male receptionist at our check in, the rest of the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. On departing very early one week later after a very nice holiday, breakfast bags were kindly made up for us, which included a carton of juice, a ham roll, some biscuits and an apple. A nice touch. Would we stay at the Ascot again? Well, we have just booked for next year and no, we are not going back to the Ascot. In summary, it is a perfectly adequate hotel, the housekeeping can be below par as can the helpfulness of certain front desk staff. The food will not be to everyone's tastes and ear plugs might be a good idea for the street noise. However, the location is ten out of ten and if you are just using it as a bed for the night or want basic, no frills accommodation, then the Hotel Ascot might just be what you are looking for.

Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TGardAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The hotel needs serious attention to structural maintenance. Most of the balconies are rotting from underneath with underlying structure visible. Made me a little nervous like pieces of the hotel from the balcony above were going to fall on my head if I sat on my balcony. Also an eyesore to look at.

But generally the hotel was clean and the rooms were in good condition. The rooms and bathroom were quite large by European standards. The staff speaks great English and it appeared that most of the guests were from the U.K.

The staff was helpful and the breakfast was pretty good (toast, pastries, meats, cheeses, coffee, juice).

The location was excellent. Very close walking to the marina areas and historic shopping streets, as well as the main road, Corso Italia, with the newer shops. (And the walk is lovely!)

I was with a group with 2 rooms and 2 cars. We were a bit upset at checkout when we were charged 34 and 36 Euros (in cash only) for 2 days of parking when the hotel information says there is free parking. None of us had our printed confirmation so we could not contest the charge and the desk clerk could not explain why we were charged different prices. We all were convinced that the money went other than in the til.

Room Tip: Our group had rooms in both the main building and the separate tower. Both were equally noisy. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soujourner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great location if you want to be central. Bus stop around the corner and shop across the road sells bus tickets. Small grocery store around the corner and the busy main road is closed to traffic from 7-12 p.m from the next junction along. 10 mins walk to the station.

Friendly and clean although a small balcony. But a large bathroom with bath and shower which you don't often get in Italy.

Knew all about providing gluten free food. Corn flakes ok for me but muesli not which was fine. Provided GF bread at breakfast and dinner.

All the waiting staff knew what I could have and could not have on the evening menu. Couldn't have the soup - but could have the ice cream. (opposite way round in some hotels in Italy).

Reasonablly priced food and drinks from the hotel bar.

All in all a good basic "budget" hotel with everything we needed from extrememly helpful staff

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gr0mmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is on the main road that links all of the Sorrentine towns. Whilst it is central, the garden area isnt exactly quiet and the road can be noisy well into the night. However, the welcome is very good in the main - I would keep mama away from the main desk... she isnt a warm person and can be a little intimidating but that could be a language issue.

Dinners and lunches in the hotel are very good whilst breakfasts are a little limited... but excellent coffee!

The waiters and housekeepers are friendly once they get to know you and we had excellent service throughout the week long stay. Rooms are cleaned every day, clean towels each day and change of bed more than twice in the week.

The furniture and decor is okay, slight bit dated and nothing to really keep you in the hotel but comfortable. we had twin room which was sizeable and everything was there that was needed. Useless hairdryer wall mounted in the bathroom but had it bothered me enough I could have gone to reception for a normal one.
The bathroom was very dated and had been patched up more than once.. But plenty of hot running water and two showers to choose from.

Sorrento is useless for internet and wifi... this hotel is dreadful for internet access and there is little expertise (well when I needed it) three euros for half an hour and during that time you will be struggling to get through their front page system. Another visitor had paid ten euros for 24 hrs which lasted 12 and she was struggling equally. There are internet points in the town... leave the hotel and go there is my advice.

We went on several trips, it being our first time there.
Herculaneum was a high point for me. Whilst everyone goes to pompeii..... probably about 25000 people there when we were - fewer go to Herculaneum and in there are better frescos, more idea of life in 79AD and altoghether more relaxed.

You can make Pompeii visit yourself using the Circumvesuvius train and next time I would do that.

The Amalfi drive was a disappointment - not least because of torrential weather but because the stops were shopping stops and crowded in tourist sheep markets.... best to take in the coast from a boat trip to Ischia or Capri.

Capri is great if youre into over priced refreshment and celeb hunting... again, I think I would do that trip unaided next time.... but there is not a huge lot to see. Very pretty though

The Sorrento Musical which is on every night is light hearted and enjoyable... with very good soloists and dancers.

The Italians have introduced a tourist tax this year one euro per night per person. The guides anticipated this would increase next year and so this is a bit of a downer... Italy for brits is expensive, it doesnt seem so much if you are already in the euro because the cost of living is already high... (Ireland for instance).

Tipping is expected at least 10% and most restaurants include cover (bread and cutlery) but tipping is extra unless they have included 15% service charge.

A couple of great pizza places...Pizza da Franco on piazza lauro..family run and really friendly - but can be busy... the best pizza I have ever eaten. excellent. Aurora in Piazza tasso is also good but the waiters walk around like they have just swallowed a wasp.... miserable lot.

It was the most expensive holiday Ive ever had but it was good if not tiring with all the excursions we went on.

Room Tip: dont expect internet access or help, expect to pay 21 euros for two at the end of the week. The dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecottrells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We just returned from a stay at this hotel. The staff is very friendly and everyone speaks a good english which is rare in that area.

The location is very good with a grocery store in the next building and many good restaurants a short walk from the hotel.

When we ran into troubles with our rented car the staff was extremely helpful and even went to the rental company to help us with the translation. Our flight home was in the early morning, so we had to leave there at 4am. When the receptionist heard that she arranged for a surprise breakfast to bring along as we left hours before the official breakfast.

The rooms were nice and very clean. The hotels restaurant is a little basic but the food is good although it is obviously recommended to check out the many lovely restaurants located nearby.
The only downside to this stay was the lack of WiFi, which is really strange since everything else was great.

We will definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKtravelcpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

excellent location decent food cheap bar prices clean rooms excellent reception staff and waiters and room staff a good friendly hotel where we found the staff very helpful and if you decided to miss an evening meal aslong as you gave advanced warning a prepacked lunch was available for the next day

Room Tip: good sea view from room 306
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#74 of 100 in Sorrento
250 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#71 of 100 in Sorrento
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#66 of 100 in Sorrento
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cesare Augusto
Cesare Augusto
#51 of 100 in Sorrento
525 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ascot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ascot

Property: Hotel Ascot
Address: Via Capo 6, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#45 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ascot 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ascot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ascot Sorrento
Ascot Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing