We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Igea Sorrento Italy”
Review of Hotel Villa Igea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Igea
Ranked #88 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Romania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Villa Igea Sorrento Italy”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stay at Villa Igea in august 2012. One of the good think of this hotel is the position, quiet neighborhood and a good view to the gulf of Naples.

The swimming pool is large and clean.

The breakfast is almost OK…Italian style…with a lot of sweet food…some cereals, cheese and yogurt, tea and American coffee ( not very good ).

The price is fair…and our room, 311 was big and with partial view to the sea…half to the pool, but good thing…very quiet.

Do not stay at the rooms that are to the main road, a lot of motorcycles and busses make a lot off noise.

Sorrento didn’t have too much beaches, but in the neighborhood of Villa Igea, cross the street and get down following the little road, you will find a gorgeous wild beach, on the rocks, with an amazing view. There you can make sunbath, jump into crystal water and relax.


Villa Igea is a little bit far from the center of the city, but in front of the hotel is a buss station and the busses are running every 20 minutes. To the center of the city is about 10 minutes and to the shop you can buy tickets for 1,20 euro / 45 minutes availability or I recommend 3 days tickets – for 20 euro availably for local busses, Amalfi cost Busses and Circumvesuviana Train with you can go to Naples and Pompeii. It is really a business.

From the railway station ( in the center of the city ) you can take the Blue Buss – Unico Costiera - in direction Massa Lubrense that let you in the front of the Villa Igea. The last bus in the night is at 00.35 if I remember right so you can stay in the center of Sorrento late in the night. In the same place you can take the busses for Amalfi cost and to Naples and Pompeii.

Room Tip: Our room, 311 was big and with partial view to the sea…half to the pool, but good thing…very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeacefullTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    82
    66
    35
    34
See reviews for
40
106
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel is nice and clean, however basic. The pool was excellent as it was quite a walk to the beach and a bus ride into Sorrento. However down sides were that you can not control your own air con in the rooms, the food was not worth the price- better to go into Sorrento and get a decent portion, the bar in the hotel was not usually attended- one evening we sat for 3 hours watching the Olympic Closing Ceremony without being spoken to once. The morning before we left, we decided to have a swim, however when we returned to our room, our towels had already been taken. Despite a few problems we did have a lovely break in a great place, just was slightely dissapointed with the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

-Lovely area -Quick bus journey into wonderful Sorrento town (do not attempt to walk when it's that hot! Very hilly!) -Friendly, helpful staff -Decent breakfast (no cooked breakfast but we were in Italy, not England) -Delicious lunch/dinners! Looked forward to them. Not much for fussy eaters but you could always get the room only and eat out -Pool was nice but did get a bit dirty in terms of bugs floating half way through our stay... Didn't stop us going there almost every day though -Rooms were basic to say the least but very clean and we had a lovely view... You get what you pay for -Aircon in rooms! Lovely when you've been out in the heat but gets cold at night and you can't turn it off -Wifi in lounge is free -Trips that you can arrange through the hotel are a definite yes! Would recommend going to Capri using the hotel excursions as it was amazing! -Not a sandy beach holiday!!! However, if you walk down the (quite steep, long) hill opposite the hotel you will find a picturesque place to swim in a kind of rocky cave! It is beautiful, so glad we found it! Not too busy either -Ice cream in Sorrento town centre: got to try it! Delicious!
-Overall, would definitely recommend and we will be going back at some point.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spent 10 days in July 2012. We were a party of 4 adults. Rooms were cleaned and towels were changed daily. Hotel situated just outside Sorrento town but buses every 20 minutes, in evening less frequent coming back, just need to check timetables. Food and staff were both excellent. Sea views stunning. Had a really good holiday. Air conditioning included.Would recommend.

Room Tip: Get one with sea view as its definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MJDK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

lovely views and service
hotel is not in sorrento town but a quick bus ride gets you there in no time at all
pool isnt very clean.
we were not told about the school trips which would be there, during our stay for one week we have 3 groups of school kids and we counted just over 100 of them when we sat for dinner one evening, there is no chance of staying by the pool when they descended far too noisy.
the waitors are a credit to the hotel.
rooms are clean and basic
would go back but only if there was no where else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodieeefoxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

A little way out of town but an easy bus ride in. Lovely friendly hotel with excellent service all round. View is spectacular and rooms are very clean. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newworldensemble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I stayed in this hotel recently with a school tour group. We were booked by a travel agent and over all, I was very happy. The rooms were a good size and it is in a nice location. The hotel has a great view over the sea in the distance and it is nice architecturally. Probably built in the late 1800s I guess.The staff were friendly and it was very clean. The food for tour groups was only ok and nothing more to be honest. One of the rooms had no shower working so the students had to use another room. The pool was also out of bounds and not maintained at the moment.
Over all it was fine and I would be happy to go back there again, especially if the food was improved. It was also a bit out of town but we had the use of a bus so that was ok.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have better views. Others have bigger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulvincent1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#77 of 100 in Sorrento
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dania
Hotel Dania
#87 of 100 in Sorrento
231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#85 of 100 in Sorrento
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#76 of 100 in Sorrento
367 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
471 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#74 of 100 in Sorrento
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Igea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Igea

Property: Hotel Villa Igea
Address: Via Capo 96, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Igea 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Igea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Igea Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing