We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book online!”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #78 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The online price was €40 less than when i phoned the hotel directly (they gave me the online price when i said this) The staff at this hotel are very friendly, particularly the lady who insisted on carrying my bag! There is secure parking but you have to reserve it. The hotel itself is a bit dated but still nice. The room was very basic but clean. The breakfast was good, lots of fresh fruit as well as the usual croissants etc. We walked in to town which took about 20 minutes, a nice walk but a bit hairy on the parts with no pavement. I think the rooms are a bit overpriced, we stayed in much nicer places for €25 less.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikstar1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 395 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

just returned from a holiday at METROPOLE all was well untill last night when i went to pay our bill for the last 11 days & wanted to do it in sterling only to be told there rate was 1 for 1 ,it was late & we were leaving early so i excepted it so our 371 euro bill was £371 i feel they were ripping you off especially as prices were a bit pricey anyway. otherwise o.k. staff friendly & helpful , food is fair no complaints really (half board) . rooms good clean & comfortable.
Hotel about 20/30 min walk from sorrento & uphill on way back..we thought a curtesy bus would be a good idea, even if they charged a small fee each way....
We would go back to sorrento but not metropole .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Good location, a twenty minute walk into sorrento and just ten minute walk to the beach (a private one at a neighbouring hotel) friendly helpful staff - the staff we met couldn't have been more helpful! Clean spacious rooms. Lovely food, we were half board and had a choice of dishes for dinner, and a wide range of choice for continental breakfast. The food was delicious!!! and big portions! The pool was great, clean and large enough for the small hotel. The only downfall was hit and miss wifi, but this was minor and common in the whole of sorrento.
A fantastic hotel, would highly recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the Metropole on our Riviera holiday and found the staff very helpful and friendly. Our room was basically furnished but was a good size with a large bathroom however the shower cubicle was tiny with two sliding doors making it very difficult to access. The room had an excellent view of the sea and Mount Vesuvius from the balcony. The food at dinner was good and reasonably varied. The swimming pool was a very good feature which we used. The provision of a shuttle bus on a regular basis would be an advantage perhaps shared with other nearby hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanHod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the metropole between the 25th june and the 5th july and after reading reviews of this hotel before we went on holiday we were both a little apprehensive as we read the food was bad and the location was terrible and the staff were rude but we couldn't disagree with those bad reviews more. we found the staff were extremely friendly (and their English is outstanding), the rooms were lovely and very clean and the food was absolutely delicious! If im being very critical the only downsides we found were the shower was quite small and the corridor was echo-ey. But to be honest these weren't really issues that bothered us. As for the location,yes the hotel is at the side of a road and there is no pavement for a short distance into town but as long as you're sensible, walk in single file and don't go wandering into the middle of the road it is only a couple hundred yards at the most and it really isn't a problem. overall we had a wonderful time at the metropole and we would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: we heard that the noisy tile floors mean the top floor is quieter. Rooms at the front have a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I am a tour operator/manager and have just returned from a trip with 40 people booked through Riviera Travel, staying at the Metropole - I loved the hotel and so did my customers - one of the best 3 star hotels I have ever stayed in.

The hotel is decorated in a very comfortable classic Italian style and all areas are well maintained and very clean, including the pool. There are plenty of places to sit and/or sunbathe.

For a 3 star hotel the food was excellent, well presented and served with brio, charm, style and humour by Ferdinando and his team. Great characters! I had nothing I did not enjoy. As I understand it, hotels are regulated by status/stars as to what they can offer for breakfast hence you do get everywhere what appears to be tinned fruit. But with a dollop of yoghurt it tastes perfectly fine. If you want haute cuisine pay for 5 star.

The one thing that was very pleasingly and amazingly surprising was the cost of lunches, drinks and coffee in the hotel were very VERY reasonable. This was also true of the whole area.

The reception staff were always very helpful and two of the family who run the hotel were regularly behind the desk, even though being a bit too good looking for my liking! My female customers were not complaining!

The vast majority of rooms are bigger than expected and the bay view rooms have GREAT views over the bay to Vesuvius. The rear view rooms also either overlook greenery or have a view up to a small village. The rooms are kept immaculately clean.

There are 3/4 rooms on the 3rd floor rear(eg 318) which are smaller with small showers and are adequate but not as good as the rest.

The road noise was nothing like as bad as I expected from previous comments. It hardly interfered in any way.

The only slight issue is it being just out of Sorrento. For anyone able bodied and used to walking you could be in the main square (Tasso) 25 mins, taking care in places. Riviera offer a complimentary return taxi to the hospital at the bottom of the hill thereby avoiding the strain and iffiness of the hill. Because we filled the mainly 8 seater taxis we paid a little more to go to Tasso so it became not a problem. If using the Riviera taxi service you have to notify their rep 24 hours before. Otherwise the taxis are ridiculously expensive for 2 people - the drivers regularly tried to get 25-50 euros for the single journey. We got it down to 20 euros £17, which is not bad if there is 8 of you.

All in all thoroughly enjoyed it, highly recommended, and all the tours you can do outstanding

Gerry Johnson
London Tours of Chesterfield

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lontours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Hotel Metropole, Sorrento in Italy is an old lady with antique furnishings in the public areas, but with a new wardrope in it's modern bedrooms with en-suite showers, king size comfortable beds in spacious rooms. Be aware, air-con is provided after 15th June, but is turned on earlier if enough quests ask and the temperatures start to soar. There is a great but small swimming pool in the garden, accessed from the first floor. Food mediocre but staff brilliantly friendly. There is a wonderful ristorante next door with amazingly good, home-made food cooked to porder.

Room Tip: Keep windows closed at night if room is facing the busy, noisy main road at front otherwise you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#69 of 100 in Sorrento
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#72 of 100 in Sorrento
415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dania
Hotel Dania
#87 of 100 in Sorrento
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Igea
Hotel Villa Igea
#88 of 100 in Sorrento
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: Via Nastro Verde 2, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: $85 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Metropole Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing