We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing so bad, but not as great as previous stays in Sorrento.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Residence Miramare
Ranked #70 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Holmdel, NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nothing so bad, but not as great as previous stays in Sorrento.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

This hotel was not directly on the water but did have a view of the water. The hotel had ample space for a family of 4, including a small kitchenette. The room was clean but dated. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. For the price we paid, I expected more. As I said, nothing really bad, but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niro917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    123
    51
    24
    9
See reviews for
105
155
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

Well, we've spent 8 days in the hotel during our stay in Sorrento. as we travelled with a little child we initally were looking for the place with the cooking facilities and preferably more than 1 room. So we've got room 301 - with a separate kitchen, and a HUGE balcony (i think it was equal to the room in size). There were two exits to the balcony: one from the room and one from the kitchen, which helped us very much in evenings when our daughter was asleep and we could dine on the balcony without disturbing her.

Room was very clean and tidy, cleaned daily, and there's plenty of space in wadrobes. plus there was additional wardrobe in kitchen so we had no problems in storing everything we need. The room was very spacious.

Bathroom was new and clean, my only problem with it was that it had only one tiny shelf. We had only shower there (no tube), but it was ok and new, no complaints about that.

The biggest problem was the kitchenette. It equipped very basically, and it was really tiny. There was no surface for actually cooking and/or drying things (plates, pans etc) beside a dining table. This made dinner preparations somewhat challenging. The fridge was very small (and I mean small). As it was old too, we had to keep fresh meat and fish in the freezer in order to keep it properly cold (not frozen). Also, the pans and pots were oldish, and there was no kettle to boil the water. The pot designated for that left residues in the water... Well, you can judge by the pictures I attached. I'd highly recomment to hotel oiwners to renovate their kitchenettes based on the above. On the other hand I must say that I did manage to cook a dinner every evening there with best of local fish, and nothing got spoiled. You just have to do food shopping frequently.

Many people here complained about the pavements. Well, they're right. there's a narrow pavement on the opposite side of the road, and, as hotel stands on the curve, crossing it require attention. But I personally didn't consider it such a tragedy. A road was not that noisy as complained in some reviews (but then again, I can only judge for the May period), and we slept with windows open with no disturbance. Well, no, the only disturbance was from the birds on the trees across the street who happened to wake up really early :) And it was a great way to wake up.

The Hotel staff was really great and helpful, spoke very good English. Parking lot wasn't big but we never had a problem to park there.

And again , a great view to Vesuvius and Naples just from your balcony, and the gulf of Naples steching below does the trick. It's a good place to stay to explore the area. If you're looking for an aparthotel in the area with the view and proximity to Sorrento that's the place. We did enjoy it very much.

The swimming pool is small, but nice. There are great panoramic views from the pool balcony - you can actually swim and look at the gulf at the same time.

And there's a very good restaurant across the road - La Tonnarella, highly recomended for the sea food lovers.

P.S. They give a discount for a long stay, so it's something to consider too.

Our second choices were Rota Suites (we haven't chosen it for the lack of view or parking) and La Terrazze (we have chosen it because it is quite far from the town. We have passed it on one of our drives, and, it is, indeed, far).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuli17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

Miramare is a small hotel ten minutes walk from centre of Sorrento. We found our rooms to be large and very comfortable with plenty of storage space. The kitchenette was small, fine for hot drinks and preparing small meals although we ate out most days (thats what you do in Sorrento!)
The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels ( these are not not thick and fluffy like other hotels - more like very large t towels!). The front desk were VERY helpful, advice on all sorts of queries.
Snack bar fine for breakfast but basic for snacks.
Front facing rooms, sun terrace and pool areas all had fantastic views of Vesuvius and Bay of Naples. Hotel situated on bend in busy road with no pavement so getting out with baby buggy was a bit scary.
Overall really enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labrats7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Girl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2009

This apart-hotel was very clean and staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful. Our room at the front had glorious views from every window, although the road below was reasonably busy and noisy, it didnt bother us too much. The most wonderful point about the Miramare was the cooking facilities - with the whole area so expensive, it was beneficial to our budget to be able to cook and eat in the room. The hotel is only about 10mins walk from the centre of town but is easier going to town as the walk is downhill rather than coming back uphill! All in all a very pleasing, clean, convenient hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaygir62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2008

My boyfriend and I, who are both in our mid 20`s, were both very pleased with this hotel. On arrival, we were greeted in a very friendly manner, by the hotel staff, who all spoke excellent English. The interior was all marble, along with our room, which made it stunning! The room was huge and the bathroom quite spacious. But the view was absolutly breathtaking! Half of our room was surrounded by windows, which gave a panoramic view over the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvious frrom our balcony.

We went self catering,as we wanted to experience the restraunts in Italy, and found the kitchen area quite sufficient.
The bar was only open at breakfast, not in the evening, but we were out most nights, so this was not really an issue. There is a nice terrace to sit and drink, and also a small pool, but the weather was too cold for us to go in when we were there (End of Sept)

The only negative comment is that the hotel is right on the main road, but this seemed to be the case with most of the hotels in Sorrento.

All in all, I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Beautiful hotel and friendly staff. They remembered us anr out room number!!!!
  • Disliked — On the side of the road
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowferretgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2008

We also stayed in room 102. The room was dark and the noise from the road was very load. The self catering facilities were enough to make yourself a cup of tea in the morning and a sandwich for lunch, but I wouldn't attempt anything more. The room was clean and the towels were changed every day. The staff were pleasant and accommodating. The pool is small, but there is a sun terrace on top of the bar/breakfast room which is very nice. The bar only opens for a few hours in the afternoon, so no pre dinner drinks in the hotel, which is a real shame. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone with a young family as the road is on a blind bend and you take your life into your own hands trying to cross it!

All in all, the hotel was ok, if you can get a good deal it’s worth staying as Sorrento is a lovely place, but can be quite expensive.

A trip to Capri is a great day out, but if you’re not especially fit, catch a taxi to the centre as it's a long uphill walk.

We loved Sorrento and would recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Liked — The Sun Terrace
  • Disliked — Room 102
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahHBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries & Galloway
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

Firstly what I disliked-get it over with!! Room 102, I will never forget it. The room was clean but no view. We looked out of barred windows on to a car park! Requested a change but as the hotel was so busy this was not possible. Entrance to the hotel from the car park was next to our room- so lots of banging and loud talking.

If you can get away with not staying in this room you will love it. The staff are really nice, very helpful and courteous. We had our cases carried up to our room. Every member of staff at reception and the lovely man at the breakfast room were soooo nice.

The pool is lovely with great views over the bay BUT the pool is small. However I cant complain about it, it suited us just fine.

Sheets are changed through the week and towels changed every day. Room was spotless, kitchen area was small but as its self catering what can you expect- if you want to cook when you are on holiday stay at home.

The main road is a bit of a trial- getting across the road is a bit hairy but not impossible and I have to say that drivers are quite mannerable to the pedestrian.

All in all if you can avoid the room number then you really would enjoy the Residence Miramare. Lounge by the pool or enjoy the view from the communal patio area (or from your own room if you are lucky to have that facility). Would I go back? Yes if it wasnt the same room.

Enjoy Sorrento, which is expensive and thronging with tourists in Aug.

There was a show at the main theatre- the songs of Sorrento- fi that is showing do go - its a Fabulous evening. One of the highlights for me. The Amalfi drive is also worth doing, very beautiful and the driver of the coach was great. Hairpin bends but all taken at a nice slow pace, so no scarey moments.

You can do Rome in a day, but to be honest I dont think I would recommend this unless you are ultra fit. We visited St Peters Square and saw the Sistine Chapel but it was all so quick, do an overnight stay if you can.

  • Liked — freindly staff, lovely view from the terrace, quite close to the centre
  • Disliked — room 102
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ninascotland28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
1.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Tonnarella
La Tonnarella
#62 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Miramare

Property: Hotel Residence Miramare
Address: Via Capo 60, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Residence Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Miramare Hotel
Residence Miramare Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing