We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Miramare
Ranked #70 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here as a family of 4 (2 children aged 7 and 8) in August 2012. We had a "family suite" which consisted of 2 bedrooms (one double and one twin) and a bathroom off the double room. The twin room also had a dining table, chairs and kitchenette (2 electric hobs, small fridge, microwave and sink). We found this to be an excellent base for the 9 nights we spent here.

The breakfasts were good (wide selection of breads, pastries, fruit, meat, cheese etc). Our room was fairly basic (I'm not sure the twin beds would have been terribly comfortable for much heavier children) but had everything we needed. Towels were changed every day and the rooms were cleaned daily whilst we were at breakfast.

We had a terrace overlooking Vesuvius - other rooms had excellent views across Sorrento itself. The pool was smallish but delightful. We never found it to be particularly busy. The staff were very helpful when answering all our questions.

The hotel is a very easy distance into town (10 minutes to walk in, 20ish back as it is uphill!) - although the hotel is right on a busy corner we found we had no problems crossing the road and walking safely to the nearest pavement. When we needed to get to the station (to travel to Pompei or Herculaneum) we used the excellent local bus service - the nearest bus stop was about 100 metres downhill. We could have caught the bus to/from Sorrento town centre had we chosen to.

There are several local supermarkets and a good little shop just a couple of hundred metres away selling cheap bottled water.

We would definitely stay here again and would definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Getting a suite with a sea view was well worth the extra we paid....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank britmumabroad186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    127
    53
    26
    9
See reviews for
114
164
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is not the most posh hotel I have ever stayed in, but what it lacks in style is more than made up for with the lovely staff, the big rooms, the gardens, the pool and the view. I make my breakfast and one other meal in the tiny kitchen in the wardrobe of my room and eat the other main meal in town - where there are some excellent restaurants, such as the Inn Bufalito, il Circolo Forestieri (the Foreigners' Club), and Zi'tonio's (on the Marina Grande). The much-talked about walk into town is wonderful - just be mindful that when going down it is you who should step into the road into the path of the oncoming traffic when passing those coming up! The view from the walk is of the Marina Grande and takes you past several of the more grand hotels (Bristol and Capodimonte). I am planning my third visit because Sorrento and the Miramare suit me!

Room Tip: 402 to 405 have terraces onto the gardens with a view over the bay and to Vesuvius. You can't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShayBoo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I would rate "Excellent" for that money. Some people said "Not 4* hotel". OK, they may need updating some furnitures, interia but if you want to stay "perfect hotel" you realy should expect to spend over 100euros per night.

Here is my review. I write very honestly.

*Room*
I updated to apartment(sea view balcony) from standard studio when I arrived hotel.
Well recommended!!
You`ll get a large balcony with table+4chairs, stunning sea view.
Small kitchen, all sort of table wears, Kettle, fridge freezer, microwave. (not washing kit)
Shower room comes with fresh towels, shampoo/body, soap, hair dryer.
Air con x2 (each room)
Cleaners come every morning to change towels, bins, bedding.

*Staff*
Every single staff are very friendly and willing to help. Especially big thanks to Gabrielle :)
You can get most of local infomation at reception.

*Breakfast*
Not the best but good enough.
Coffee, tea, orange/pineapple juice. Rolls, croissants, denish. Cheese, ham, salami. Museli, cornfreaks. Can mixed fruits, yoghurt.

*Bar*
Very limitted time only. (I don`t think it opens at night)
Very cheap. (ex; Beer 3euros, g,o,wine 2(?)euros)
Few snacks. Not room service.

*Location*
10-15mins by foot from centre.
There is bus as well. The bus runs every 20mins. But they strike a lot.
Small corner shop 5-7mins away, supermarket "conda" bit further down the hill on the right.(corner shop is expensive)

*From Naple airport*
Coach "Curreri" goes to straight from airport to Sorrent train station. 10euros. Buy ticket on the coach.
From Sorrent station, take bus(orange bus line A) at corner of Piazza T.Tasso. Buy ticket at Tabaco shop or bar. 1,20 euro.
But I waited buss ages. it may be worth to spend 20euro to get the hotel by taxi just for getting know the road.
Or by foot from the station takes 15-20mins. Walk on "Corso Italia" it changes to "Via Capo" up the twisty hill, you`ll see Miramare on the left at very very bear curve.

*little down side*
So many mosquitos out side!! Hope they `ll get some special lights or something for it...
I struggled to ignore the noise from next room :(
Visible mould on wall in the bath room.

Over all, I was very happy staying the hotel.
I hope it helps your stay :)

Room Tip: It is extra money but well worth to choose Apartment with sea view balcony. 401 to 405(I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank samii1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My friend, sister and I (all late twenties) decided on a mid-September Amalfi Coast trip. It was our first time in Italy and Sorrento gave us a fabulous introduction. This hotel was very convenient (about a fifteen minute scenic walk down into town), but beware of the winding curves of the road (at night, must be mindful of the speedracers). We shared a “seaview” suite and it was more than enough room to accommodate all three of us (the suite consisted of two separate rooms and ample closet space!). The rooms are simple but clean, warm, and cozy. The beds were not the most comfortable but not a deal-breaker. The pool was small but had a gorgeous view. While relaxing at the pool, we met a few interesting couples from the States and Australia and had some great laughs (there is also a sunbathing deck in addition to the pool area). As for breakfast, don’t expect much – but considering we showed-up to breakfast 15-30 minutes after it closed almost every day, we appreciated that the staff still made us cappuccinos and allowed us to relax with our croissants. Finally, the staff was friendly and helpful (for the most part) and we adored our time spent in Sorrento.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoriJay1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel was really nice,we had a room with a sea view which was beautiful,it was really very clean.The breakfast was good,the food was really fresh.
All the staff were friendly but Franco & Gabriella were the best,both were the most helpful & friendliest.The only negative thing about the hotel is that it is located on a bend on a busy road so you need to take care when trying to cross also it's a bit of a walk to the Piazza Tazzo,so bring good walking shoes.

Room Tip: If you can try and get a room with a balcony & a sea view it's so romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luigia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here with our adult son for 7 nights in July and had a comfortable and enjoyable time. We booked two rooms, one with a sea view. My son's single room was reasonably large but a little dark and overlooked the parking lot. However, it was clean and comfortable and he had no complaints. Our room was fairly large and the small balcony was OK, but the view was blocked by some large trees. Although it was technically a "sea view", it pushed the definition a bit since you really could only see little glimpses of the ocean through the trees. In retrospect I should have asked for something a little better but didn't - my advice would be to check with the desk to see what else is available if you are not completely satisfied. Overall the rooms and the hotel are nice and clean but dated, and I agree with many others that four stars is a little generous. The road is very busy and noisy but the rooms were exceptionally soundproof and my wife (who hates noise at night) slept great. One complaint about the room is that the safe is very small and cannot even fit an iPad, but is adequate for passports, etc. Ask for the key at the desk. A table cover on the large (kitchen?) table in our room was sticky with food residue and we had to remove it before we used the table to hold one of our suitcases.

The pool area is small but in good condition and clean, and very pleasant to cool off in after a hot day in town or sightseeing - there is limited seating around the pool but we seldom had a problem finding a spot. My only complaint is that the 6 o'clock closing time is too early - often we would get back to the hotel later than that and would have liked a quick dip to cool off and relax.

Although we sometimes like an option of a more substantial and hot breakfast, there was more than enough here to satisfy and we knew what to expect. I always enjoyed our morning meal and especially the strong coffee. One day the coffee ran low and the bartender made me a small personal pot! We also found it convenient in the morning to make a few simple sandwiches out of the cold cuts and wonderful rolls and take them with us as a convenient lunch when we went to the beach or sightseeing in Pompeii.

The hotel is convenient to town with a pleasant 15 minute walk with wonderful views, and a small store just a short way down the hill has bottled water, soft drinks, snacks etc. you can take back to your room. The staff was friendly and helpful, but do watch yourself getting across the road from the hotel - the previous reviewers aren't kidding about the dangers! Taxis are very expensive but we only needed them once when my wife had to ride back to the hotel from the train station (bad knee) after a day in Pompeii.

All in all I can recommend this hotel as good value but be sure to ask for a good view - that's why you're there!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors and make sure your sea view really has a view. The upper floors with big deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JCHoffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is a jewel in one of the most beautiful places in Italy. Everything and everyone connected with this hotel is superior. The location is perfect. It's just a short cab ride or a 15 minute walk to the center of town. Our room was spotlessly clean, the bathroom was new, the air conditioning more than adequate and the accomodations in the room were very comfortable. We had a beautiful balcony that afforded breathtaking views of the Bay of Naples. We were able to enjoy morning coffee looking at one of the most spectacular vistas possible.The location of the hotel offers sweeping views of the beauty surrounding it. The breakfasts were always deicious and plentiful. The pool and gardens surrounding this beautiful building were meticulously maintained. There are also little terraces here and there that are quiet and private where you can relax in the sun. The hotel staff could not have been more polite or more accomodating. They were extremely helpful in securing transportation and even handled our car rental. We felt like guests in an a old friend's home and not hotel patrons. this hotel just made our experience there all the more wonderful.

Room Tip: Any room would be outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritarvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,096 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Tonnarella
La Tonnarella
#59 of 100 in Sorrento
478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
471 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Property: Hotel Miramare
Address: Via Capo 60, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Miramare Hotel
Residence Miramare Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing