We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great second visit this year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Meridiana
Ranked #59 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Walton-le-Dale
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great second visit this year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed at the other end of town in July when it was simply too hot to do the long list of things we wanted to do. So came back in October and stayed here as friends had recommended it. It is in a fantastic location, very close to the train station and main square, Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast basic but adequate, cereal, fresh fruit, eggs, pastries and bread and preserves plus yogurt and cheese and meat. Does not always get replenished if you fancy a late breccy. There was a good choice at dinner, and we enjoyed everything we had. Soup and pastas, followed by meat and potatoes with vegetables, and chef's dessert or ice cream/fruit. We also had great table mates, which was a bonus. Wine very reasonable too. Room was spotless and beds very very comfortable. This coupled with the 'blackout' blind meant we had quite a few late breakfasts, but caught up on lots of sleep! Typical tiny shower in spotless bathroom, but lots of hot water. The roof terrace is lovely and worth a look, yes it is a bit unloved, but you can sit up there and enjoy the views, several guests also enjoyed a bottle of wine in the early evening watching the sun set. It is a fantastic base, take it for what it is, we have had much worse rooms in other parts of Italy for so much more money. Location and staff really are this hotels best assets. Definitely the best value for money we have had in Italy. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbados_Rum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We thank you so much for the precious time spent on commenting your stay with such an overwhelming review. We take pride to be your favourite best value for money hotel in Italy!
This makes us happy and let us continue to work with enthusiasm and satisfy all our customers.
I hope that you will be able to come back to our hotel in the near future so we can once again ensure you have a wonderful stay with us.
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    234
    80
    26
    19
See reviews for
88
316
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

just arrived back from staying at the la meridiana hotel in sorrento italy. myself and my wife thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, the hotel was a good choice by myself as the rooms were clean we had clean towels every day, the breakfast was good and the staff were exceptional. I would like to thank eduardo and rose in particular for there hard work , great sense of humour and nothing was to much trouble.With the hotel being in a central location it was easy to get around especially to the bus station and train station where we visited pompeii , herkalanium, the amalfi coast and aboat to the island of capri, all these place's were really great places to go to all worth a visit.back at the hotel we all shared different table's for breakfast and evening meal's and i would like to thank colin and trish from doncaster for making myself and my wife feel at ease and for being excellent company and colin i owe you a round of drink's goodluck to you both.it was a wonderful experience for my wife and myself many thanks to all of you and would definetly recommend this hotel to friend's . trevor and pauline.

Room Tip: pay for balcony room overlooking the lemon groves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We thank you so much also on behalf of my Staff for such an overwhelming review.
I am delighted to read your positive feedback following your stay with us. I am so happy to read your kind words about our Staff, food, location & services!
It will be very helpful to those travellers who are planning to come to Sorrento and would choise our Hotel.
Please let us know if you will consider coming this way in the near future, we will be overwhelmed to welcome you again!
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, Worcs.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Hotel La Meridiana in August - I've been meaning to write my review since then!.We've been to Sorrento many times but this was our first visit to La Meridiana. The location is excellent; right in the centre & an easy walk to the bus & train station. Also close to restaurants & bars. We had a room with a balcony facing the street. It was noisy at times, but Sorrento is a busy, lively town. The roof terrace gives an excellent view across the Bay of Naples to Mount Vesuvius. The hotel is opposite a wonderful little museum, Museo Correale di Terranova, set in an 18th century villa, and close to a lovely lemon grove. The food at La Meridiana was excellent. The only meal we didn't enjoy was the 'English' one at the Gala evening. The Italian food was so much better! The staff are lovely; very helpful & all speak excellent English. The hotel is clean, comfortable, child-friendly and well situated. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - Sorrento is one of my favorite places in the world and La Meridiana makes an excellent base for exploring. Our visit was made even better by the lovely people we shared a table with - Jean & Tony, Helen & Danielle. Hello to you all if you read this!

Room Tip: A balcony with a sea view is good, but possibly it might be quieter at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryBRedditch_Worcs_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We thank you so much for the precious time spent on commenting your stay with such an overwhelming review.
This makes us happy and let us continue to work with enthusiasm and satisfy all our customers.
I hope that you will be able to come back to our hotel in the near future so we can once again ensure you have a wonderful stay with us.
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

On first appearances the rooms looked fairly spartan and the chair was stained. The TV was small with only one decent channel (but we didn't come on holiday to watch TV so this wasn't a problem). The bed was comfortable, the bathroom good apart from a bit of mould in the shower cubicle, there were clean towels provided daily and beds well made every day. The hotel was extremely clean and the staff friendly. Dining was a pleasure, with guests sharing a table with the same people each evening and getting on well, and the food choice, quality and service was wonderful. One down side was the fact that the balcony overlooking the lemon grove was very noisy with traffic noise due to school and police station being in the same street. However the location for town was good. The bar was small and not manned so we weren't able to buy hot or cold drinks, which would have been good as there weren't tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms. However, we enjoyed our stay and felt at home at the hotel and would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for such an overwelcoming review!
We look foward to welcoming you again in our Hotel next year!
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

just returned from a fantastic week at the la meridiana everyone very triendly and helpful all spoke good english. rooms spacious and kept clean good central location restaurant service goowould definately go there again and recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caran10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We thank you for your very kind review.
We look forward to welcoming you soon as our guests again!
Best Regards
HOTEL LA MERIDIANA
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel week Commencing 11th October. The hotel is perfectly situated for main town square and access to train station. The room was cleaned daily to a high standard with fresh towels every day.
The food in my opinion was lovely and even my very fussy husband was happy with the menu, always finding something he would enjoy. All the staff in hotel were very friendly and helpful during our stay, a special mention to dining room staff Antonio Eduardo and Rose who always greeted us with smiles.
Sorrento is such a beautiful place to visit and we would definitely return to the La Meridiana

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvia904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We thank you so much also on behalf of my Staff for such an overwhelming review.
I am delighted to read your positive feedback following your stay with us. I am so happy to read your kind words about our Staff, food, location & services!
Please let us know if you will consider coming this way in the near future, we will be overwhelmed to welcome you again!
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was my second time at La Meridiana so I knew what to expect and you can see what that was by reading my previous review. I'll keep this review down to bullet point scores!!!

FOOD - 3/10
CLEANLINESS - 9/10 (However, our room wasn't cleaned until mid afternoon each day making it impossible to enjoy the room for an afternoon nap!!!)
LOCATION - 10/10
STAFF - 10/10
BALCONY - 7/10
NOISE - 3/10 (The hotel is on the main road so very noisy with airport pick up traffic and general rush hour traffic during week days, also I found they like to empty the bottle bins from the kitchen at 2am!)
SUN TERRACE - 8/10 (Excellent views but a tad shabby)

Would I stay here again - never say never but I would look to book elsewhere before settling for La Meridiana if I'm honest, saying that, anyone on a budget who wants a clean, centrally located hotel can't go wrong here!!!

Room Tip: Get a balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We are very glad that you came back to our Hotel twice, and thank you for your excellent review about our Staff & location.
Regarding the food, we are sorry you weren't satisfied, as our hotel is a friendly family-owned, three-star facility, as specified on brochures, but always open to meet any customer request. In case you wished to return, I strongly suggest you would explain your requests to our headwaiter, in order to fulfill them as possible.
La Meridiana is not located on the main road but it is in the centre of Sorrento, making traffic usual and expected.
Finally, I would like to clarify that bottle bins are not emptied from Hotel staff but from Sorrento city service employees, as our receptionist would have explained to you, had she been asked.
I hope I have provided an explanation for the aspects that you found unsatisfying, and strongly wish to have you back in our hotel in the future.
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#49 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton International Hotel
Carlton International Hotel
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#58 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.2 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Girasole
Hotel Girasole
#60 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Meridiana

Property: Hotel La Meridiana
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 1/3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Meridiana 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Meridiana, located in a calm area right in the Sorrento city centre, offers a wonderful view of the Neapolitan gulf, from Capri to the Vesuvius. It is 5 minutes far from the bus and train station, walking, and 15 minutes from the port. Therefore, all the most visited sights can easily be reached: Capri, Pompei, Positano, Naples and Amalfi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Meridiana Sorrento
La Meridiana Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing