We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well worth the money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Meridiana
Ranked #60 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“well worth the money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We found this hotel a superb location for exploring the environs, easy for bus trips, the trains and a very short walk (4 mins) into the centre of town.

The hotel although quite simple, was comfortable and clean, All the waiting staff at meal times were very friendly and were bothered about the customers. Simple though the meals were they were very pleasant after a days travel.

My only addition to the hotel would be to have a more comfortable sitting room area, this we thought was a let down. We paid extra for room with a bath and sea view, which looked over the lemon groves, over the town and over the sea, any shortfall was was made up by room 311.

The beds not brilliant, the pillows not brilliant, and the room again very simple, but for the money good!

Only Italian food served here by Italian people with Italian style, we loved it!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lemon grove, you may have to pay extra but its worth it. and the higher the floor t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kevin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    236
    80
    26
    19
See reviews for
88
319
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Dear Staff at La Meridiana,

Thank you so much for your wonderful service during my visit to Italy. I came in a group of 54, and La Meridiana was the best hotel we stayed at during our 2 weeks in Italy. The view from my room (222) was absolutely gorgeous: especially the pool and the fruit trees. The rooftop area was very fun. My friends and I spent a lot of time up there.

I mostly wanted to thank you for your outstanding dining room staff, especially Eduardo and Roberto. They were so attentive to all of our needs, and extremely fun and entertaining. I was sad when I had to say goodbye to them. Your staff was very caring on a personal level, and helped whenever we needed it. Thank you for the wonderful time and the amazing memories!

I have told all of my friends and family about your fabulous hotel and staff, and I will make sure they stay with you if they every go to Sorrento. If I ever come back to the country of Italy, I will definitely stay at La Meridiana.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ireallylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review also on behalf of my restaurant staff.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!
If you decide to visit again Sorrento, please contact us soon, it will be a pleasure to accomodate you again!
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLOUCESTER ENGLAND
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

An Excellent Hotel, with extremely friendly an efficient Staff, Comfortable Rooms (Ours had a lovely Balcony overlooking the Bay of Naples!).
We plan to return next year!
The location of the Hotel is excellent, within easy walking distance of the centre of Sorrento.
The Restaurant is very pleasant and well managed, with good food served by delightful Staff.

Room Tip: Get a Balcony Room, overlooking the Lemon Grove, with a gorgeous side view of the Bay of Naples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BARRETTDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for such an overwelcoming review!
We look foward to welcoming you again in our Hotel in the next future!
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here first week in June and judging by some of the previous reviews we were quite apprehensive.However we were pleasantly surprised by the overall outcome.
We emailed in advance asking for a room with a sunny balcony and we got just that.Overlooking the lemon groves the sun shone all afternoon on the balcony and you had a fantastic view of the sunsets. Our room was on the third floor side view and was quite roomy with lots of storage space.
The menu selection was quite varied but I feel it could have been served hotter as some of the dishes at times were lukewarm. One point we would like to mention is that if you like your breakfast early you may find there are large school trips in the dining room for a time and we noticed that certain items of food were not available until they had left,so if you want yoghurt for example ask for it and they will oblige.
Sorrento is a very bustling place but the hotel is central for all your travelling amenities ie.Port,train station and buses and you can save a lot of money by doing your own trips as we did.
The sun terrace offers fantastic views over the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius ,if you dont book a room with a balcony take advantage of this.

Room Tip: ask for a side view room with a large balcony,as you will overlook lemon groves and have a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedeeYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. It will be very helpful to those travellers who are planning to come to Sorrento and would choise our Hotel. Please let us know if you will consider coming in the near future, we will be overwhelmed to welcome you again.
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

i stayed at the la meridiana 17-24 may 2013,we arrived late(12.30am)on arrival we were asked if we would like a meal.....the rooms were basic but comfortable(could have done with a fridge),cleanliness was faultless,the staff could'nt do enough for you......the food was good,they even added a meal that we suggested people might like,which i thought was good....head waiter and his staff were exceptional,well done all of you.....sorrento is a lovely place to go,the town has some lovely shops("the drain")is a lovely place to go for your treats etc....i would definately go again and stay in the same hotel.....i have seen some of the negative comments,you dont get 5* things in a 3* hotel i'm afraid so dont put them down,as the saying goes you get what you pay for....i really enjoyed my stay...well done all of you for making it so.....

Room Tip: try and get a balcony if you can....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soniakc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in Sorrento and with us! We thank your for your valuable review and look forward to welcoming you again in next future!
The manager
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Me and my mother went to Sorrento for the first time we picked the La Meridiana mainly for the cheapness but we were pleasently surprised with the hotel the staff were very friendly and the room was very clean the food was great with plenty of choice it was near all the amenities that we wanted the hotel may be only 3 star but you do get 5 star service we were late landing but the staff in the dining room stayed to make sure we had a meal on arrival well done to you all we had a brill time made more better with the hotel and staff

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gailfrank5645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you very much for such a kind review. Thank you also on behalf of all my Staff, everyone is looking forward to welcoming you again soon!
The manager
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at hotel La Meridiana 3 - 13 May and enjoyed every minute of are holiday. However, rooms need refurbishing; curtains need washing etc. Food basic but ok. However, a small fridge would be really useful. On the sun terrace there are no sun brollies and this area could be made to look more attractive. Some rooms overlook a lemon grove which in the evening smell really nice. The main square is bustling with bars,restaurants and shops. You must take a walk down the old part known as the "drains" and get a free taste of "limoncello". We would go back to Sorrento again but would try a different hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mintywend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in Sorrento. We thank you for your kindest attention and take note of all your careful notes.
We really hope to welcoming you again once you will come back in Sorrento!
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carlton International Hotel
Carlton International Hotel
#57 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Girasole
Hotel Girasole
#61 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Meridiana

Property: Hotel La Meridiana
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 1/3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Meridiana 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Meridiana, located in a calm area right in the Sorrento city centre, offers a wonderful view of the Neapolitan gulf, from Capri to the Vesuvius. It is 5 minutes far from the bus and train station, walking, and 15 minutes from the port. Therefore, all the most visited sights can easily be reached: Capri, Pompei, Positano, Naples and Amalfi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Meridiana Sorrento
La Meridiana Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing